We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst ever”
Review of Hotel Alhambra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 18 April 2012

“We ate here one night and it was the worst food we have ever had - so much so we couldn’t even eat most of it. There were 4 of us with all different dishes and not one was any good. Not fresh and bland no flavor and the dishes looked bad too. The prices were not worth even having a drink compared to many places we had been. Thankfully everywhere else we went had great food. Stay away ! “

Room Tip: We did not stay at this hotel - so I cannot comment on the hotel rooms but the bathroom we were able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeatherVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

Right on the main square, close to all the main sights, spacious rooms (mine was at the back of the hotel and quiet) and a nice terrace where you can sit for breakfast or with a drink and watch the activity in the sqaure.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel (not fronting the sqaure) are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LDB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The hotel Alhambra was the only hotel in Nicaragua we stayed in so we cannot compare it with other hotels. We liked it a lot, not just because of the market place right in front of the entrance. The hotel has got charm. The lobby, the rooms, the interior, simply everything with its colonial style. Breakfast is good, typical Tico style or western style, you can choose.We tried the restaurant once and were very pleased with the service and the food as well.The staff doesn´t speak English very well so you better try Spanish, but they are very friendly. Only thing that was not so good is that there are a lot of beggers, mostly children, who try to get some money or food while you are trying to have dinner or breakfast on the terrace. Giving them what they want (and certainly need) doesn´t keep them from going on begging, so the staff has to send them away in an extremely rude tone. That was quite sad to watch but you can´t help those things in such a poor country.If you can take this, the Alhambra should be your choice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hasile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

worth a journey, in a well maintained colonial building with many nice details and very compfy rooms. Pool in the patio, during the day mostly in the shade to refresh form a day full of Granada´s impressions. Friedly staff, a/c internet café in the house.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Armindai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Only stayed one night, our last night in Nicaragua. The location is superb. The lobby is elegant. The rocking chairs facing the park are a great place to meet people & people watch. The room was adequate, nothing special, clean & functional but not luxurious. As with all the hotels where we stayed, there is a shower but no bath tub, & no blow dryer in the room. There was TV (never watched) & A/C (noisy unit), a safe, & adequate space to hang clothes. The beds were comfortable. The staff we interacted with were all very pleasant, especially the porter who checked us in who had the gracious welcoming style of Mr. Roark ("Fantasy Island"). Maybe 50% spoke English. In the morning we overslept & needed a quick breakfast, & the restaurant threw together delicious omelets in record time. Courteous service. Overall I'd gladly stay here any time & give it a high grade. We paid $75 for our room (2 beds, interior on 1st floor).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tolarjev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We were very disappointed with this hotel especially after paying the high price. The room that we stayed in was dirty, and noisy. We had planned to stay a week but moved out after the first night of not sleeping because the bed was not comfortable, there was a noisy pump outside that came on frequently and everytime the air conditioning came on it beeped. We moved to a smaller, more comfortable quite hotel.

Room Tip: Check trip advisor for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juanita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I had never been to Nicaragua before, and after staying at Hotel Alhambra and experiencing Granada I so want to go back and see more. The hotel is beautiful. It has been restored and maintained to perfection. The staff are friendly and helpful. It is centrally located on Central Park so you can basically walk to anything that you might want to see in the city. The pool is located inside within a garden area and at night the staff light beautiful candles everywhere to great you when come in. This is a beautiful gem in one of the oldest cities in Central America. If this was in New York, Chicago, Toronto or Montreal it would be over $250 a night, but for less than $100 a night, it ranks as one of the nicest places I have stayed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinasimpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 45 in Granada
154 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 45 in Granada
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#10 of 45 in Granada
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
661 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#4 of 45 in Granada
715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra

Address: Costado oeste del parque central | West side of central park, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alhambra 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing