We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STILL MY FAVORITE HOTEL IN GRANADA”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alhambra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
147 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“STILL MY FAVORITE HOTEL IN GRANADA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

This is my fourth visit to the Alhambra. The bed bug problem is fixed!! The hotel is moderately priced and lovely. The central courtyard is elegant , large and beautiful. Excellent art and antiques in the lobby. The rooms are large,plain, and adequate. The bathrooms are excellent
with beautiful tile. work and large showers. The hot water and air conditioning work well.

The pool is small but beautiful. If the pool is a priority I would choose another hotel. The location
on the main square is five star. The restaurant is good. They have the best fruit plate in town.
They staff is very friendly. The rates are very reasonable. This hotel is a great value. The newer
rooms are on the 3rd floor.

I love this hotel. It has a warm and old colonial feel to it.

Room Tip: Newer rooms are on the 3rd floor. The front rooms are smaller but have balconies overlooking the sq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    76
    29
    10
    8
See reviews for
21
57
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

On no account should anyone stay here. We stayed in Room 205 facing the park in a room which proved to be heavily infested with bed bugs. The high level of infestation did not happen overnight, nor were the staff surprised when the problem was explained & we asked to be moved. Another guest in another room found a bed bug attached to his body in the night. The room we vacated was re-let the same day! Don't be fooled by the grand foyer. Room cleaning is apathetic - confirmned by a quick check under the bed where dirt & food had been swept. The water from the water dispenser was foul. Do not risk staying here as I doubt if this difficult problem will be addressed & is unlikely to be confined to a couple of rooms.
Marilyn Staib, UK

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPB florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

I was actually looking for some other places which were recommended on TripAdvisor, but everything was hard to find, the streets are so busy with people, and good parking is scarce.
So I stumbled on Alhambra and parked directly in front, so I felt secure with the vehicle.
There are 2 other nice looking hotels on either side of this one, so you could park here and investigate both others if you wish. The price at Alhambra was quite reasonable and everyone was nice.

I stayed here 2 nights at the beginning and end of my short trip, so I had 2 different rooms.
Both were nice, comfortable and clean. The first room was furnished in a US-comparable design, the second more of the bizarre haphazardly eclectic style which I've seen a lot in central america. The open air interior of the hotel is very nice, with patios, balconys, courtyards and lush landscaping. The restaurant is a covered balcony facing the main central square of the city, quite a lively tourist trap. The other main tourist area is a 3 or 4 block strip on the opposite side of the square, with lots of bars and restaurants.

The food in the restaurant was good (get the chicken al vino). I had 2 nice meals with 2 drinks for under $20.00, and 2 breakfasts. The WIFI worked well both times, both in the rooms and the restaurant. I would be happy to go back, but would probably try one of the places next door just for variety, the prices seem comparable.

Room Tip: get and interior room to avoid the exterior noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronbonbfhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

The hotel is nothing special and the restaurant is only fair. However it does have a terrace overlooking the park that makes a change of view. Prices are very reasonable and the food was quite good.

Room Tip: Sorry, I did not sleep there but thought the cafe "Cafe Deliet" was worth a mention due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drushton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritishColumbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

“We ate here one night and it was the worst food we have ever had - so much so we couldn’t even eat most of it. There were 4 of us with all different dishes and not one was any good. Not fresh and bland no flavor and the dishes looked bad too. The prices were not worth even having a drink compared to many places we had been. Thankfully everywhere else we went had great food. Stay away ! “

Room Tip: We did not stay at this hotel - so I cannot comment on the hotel rooms but the bathroom we were able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Right on the main square, close to all the main sights, spacious rooms (mine was at the back of the hotel and quiet) and a nice terrace where you can sit for breakfast or with a drink and watch the activity in the sqaure.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel (not fronting the sqaure) are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merzig
Level Contributor
162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The hotel Alhambra was the only hotel in Nicaragua we stayed in so we cannot compare it with other hotels. We liked it a lot, not just because of the market place right in front of the entrance. The hotel has got charm. The lobby, the rooms, the interior, simply everything with its colonial style. Breakfast is good, typical Tico style or western style, you can choose.We tried the restaurant once and were very pleased with the service and the food as well.The staff doesn´t speak English very well so you better try Spanish, but they are very friendly. Only thing that was not so good is that there are a lot of beggers, mostly children, who try to get some money or food while you are trying to have dinner or breakfast on the terrace. Giving them what they want (and certainly need) doesn´t keep them from going on begging, so the staff has to send them away in an extremely rude tone. That was quite sad to watch but you can´t help those things in such a poor country.If you can take this, the Alhambra should be your choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hasile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#17 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Bocona
Hotel La Bocona
#29 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra

Property: Hotel Alhambra
Address: Costado oeste del parque central | West side of central park, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alhambra 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing