We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel in the center of the oldest city of America. Vidal Tellez.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alhambra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Managua, Nicaragua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel in the center of the oldest city of America. Vidal Tellez.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Very good service from the employees who are always trying to meet any need you have, watching for your comfort. This site is kind of idyllic refuge, not only for pleasant rest but also to become in contact with many aspects of a Hispanic colonial city, the majesty of its architecture and the many options to enjoy. From the center of the city (the hotel) you can choose from many activities possible: carriage trip around the city, museums, colonial architecture, nightlife in La Calzada street, boat trip to Las Isletas, and much more.

It was a charming weekend for me and my family and we threat to come back sooner than later.-

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vidal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    73
    29
    10
    8
See reviews for
21
55
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
224 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here after a week in some of the poorest sections of the country. A beautiful open air hotel with very nice rooms - ours overlooked a side street and was so large, the bathroom was the size of a normally sized hotel room. The small pool inside one of the lobbies was inviting and refreshing, and we could eat and drink on the relaxing front porch, which overlooks a beautiful park, part of which is filled with vendors during the daytime.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billq-newburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Pleasant place to stay at and great artifacts about the lobby area. Centrally situated. Quiet large room and bathroom. I was happy and content the two night spent here. Restaurant was poor and had to go out to eat. Nice to sit on the verandah overlooking the Square and activity. Lots of outside restaurants to chose from and somewhat touristy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

This Hotel Is Simply Amazing !! It is the best if not one of the best hotels in the City of Granada. The hotel is located directly in the middle of most of the cities attractions including "La Calle de La Calzada" (A great place to eat and drink and filled with both tourist and locals alike), "La Catedral" (The Local Colonial Cathedral) and close to many other attractions.

The hotel is an open floor plan with typical colonial open gardens in the middle of the hotel with the rooms having their own cool air conditioners. The rooms are ample and I am sure different sizes are available depending on your party size.

The hotel is situated in the middle of multiple internet cafes with bilingual and multilingual owners and shop keepers which provide free wifi for customers. The wifi bit is not entirely necessary since the hotel has its own wifi network and its own internet cafe with phone booths to make calls back home at very very low rates. The hotel also has a business center within the internet cafe which will allow for fast internet, printing and faxing.

I was happy to have all those at my disposal since my trip was about 60% business and 40% leisure. I used the booths to make calls regularly allowing me to communicate daily back home easily and multiple times a day for a dollar or so.

The staff is friendly and there is a restaurant in the hotel in case you do not want to venture out at night (although the area is tourist central and is generally full of little stands selling hand made gifts till about 7-8 pm every night) . The area around the hotel is touristy, which is more than likely why nearly every hotel in Granada is within a 3 block radius of the Alhambra Hotel.

Overall I loved my stay in the city and I was always comfortable, safe and connected at the Hotel.It also does not hurt that since the hotel is so famous every single person in the city including cabs and carriages know where the hotel is and how highly regarded it is.

P.S. - since its so highly regarded in the community you will be probably charged a bit more for taxi and carriage rides since they are aware of the prices of a nights stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be about the same in regards to coolness of the airs in each room... I would p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joec1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Centrally located on the main square with easy walking access to many resaurants, bars and places of interest. Nice colonial style building with big open spaces and public areas. Small inside pool and garden area. Rooms seem to vary and ours had a "view" of a tiny courtyard and walls all around. Some have balconies overlooking the square or street. Rooms are well-equipped with decent bathroom and facilities. Breakfast can be eaten outside on the front terrace which is nice as long as you dont mind the odd passing street vendor.

Room Tip: Many rooms are "inside" with poor, or no, view. But they might be quieter than those with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VandP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoodsport
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Located on the square with the horse drawn carages lined up in front. Price of one person for 4 nights $280.00 US. Eatting out side was a nice experience and the staff would inform the sellers of goods to keep moving. Some of the sellers are fine but it can get out of hand real fast and beggers for money. The staff was very courtious and pleasent. Smoking outside, that would include cigars, was acceptable.

Room Tip: Granada is difficult to get a hotel for long periods of time during Febuary as the Poetry festable t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buck_Soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Pretty Hotel with lovely terrace for breakfast and peoplewatching. on Granadas main square.
Unfortnately they dont serve dinner there at night and the snacks are limited.
I was given a small room on the third floor and after complaining had a much larger one.
Indoor pool is tiny.
The hotel is fine for a short visit and is a good base for exploring Granada.

Room Tip: ask if you dont get something decent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosslyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#10 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#16 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra

Property: Hotel Alhambra
Address: Costado oeste del parque central | West side of central park, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alhambra 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing