We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alhambra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

This hotel was chosen by us based on the location right smack in the city's center. It was neat to leave the room and head out for dinner on foot, and pass by the vendors in the center courtyard selling different wares; t-shirts, jewelry, pottery, etc.

As far as luxury goes, it was nothing spectacular compared to US standards, but it was clean, comfortable and reminded me of a mid-range American hotel. The staff at the desk spoke English well, which was awesome for us and our minimal Spanish!

I would recommend this hotel for travelers who are not looking at being adventurous and would like a nice, quiet night's rest in Granada.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carleegirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    76
    29
    10
    8
See reviews for
21
57
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

Pros: Nice looking hotel
Cons: Poor service, wrecking crew with sledgehammers for three days from 1-4 each day forced us to leave during that time, intermittent water when adjacent hotel was fine, broken A/C, many staff not pleased to see customers, breakfast so-so 2nd cup of coffee extra. All while the hotel manager frequently was lounging in a lobby chair.
I would recommend the Hotel Colon where our friends stayed or an even better choice in my opinion would be El Corazon a clean, beautiful non-profit near city center that trains locals in hospitality services.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DranoelChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

We spent four nights at this hotel, which is ideally situated on the main town square. Our room was standard, on the third floor, but some of our travelling companions had nicer, more spacious rooms than ours. The lobby was lovely, full of interesting artifacts. There is a small indoor swimming pool. The breakfast was good, and freshly made. The waiting staff were very attentive, as were the reception staff and housekeeping staff. A lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montysmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

I stayed here in April 2010.

The hotel is very nice and clean. The room was also large and had a king size bed and AC.

The lobby is nicely decorated as well.

It also has a small pool which was handy to cool off in.

The location is great and it is right across the Parque Central.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toesinthesand1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Alhambra with a group of college students, on a trip to Nicaragua to do pro-bono medical work. Everything was going fine until one night I was sitting in my room, and I hear a popping noise from out side. At first I figured it was just fireworks, a common occurrence in Nicaragua. However, I noticed that every time I heard a pop, the lights in the room dimmed. I go out side and walk over to the source of the sound to discover an ELECTRICAL FIRE ON THE ROOF. A transformer was shorting out on the roof, and there was a reasonably threatening sided fire on the bamboo roof. I ran down stairs from the third floor and up to the front desk. "Hay un fuego!" I blurted, forgetting that the man at the front desk spoke perfect English. Three girls came running down the stairs. They urgently told the same story. By this time, everyone is sort of freaking out; word is spreading that the building is on fire.

Now here is where it gets interesting. The workers at the hotel, and rather than try to evacuate the hotel, which has ZERO fire alarms, tries to hush-hush the whole ordeal. The owner comes and tells us that we need to make the girls who told about the fire to stop overreacting, and that it's no big deal that the ROOF OF THE BUILDING IS ON FIRE. By this time, the fire department had come and put out the fire. The wife of the head doctor in our group confronted the owner and asked about the safety of the hotel, and asked why they didn't evacuate, but rather tried to do the opposite. The owner LAUGHED IN HER FACE, MADE FUN OF HER FOR BEING A WOMAN, AND SAID IN SPANISH (ASSUMING THAT NO ONE WOULD UNDERSTAND) THAT SHE NEED TO TAKE A SHOT.

This whole even exposed the facade that is Hotel Alhambra. In reality, they are just like any other corrupt local in Granada. In reality, all they want is your money. The only difference is that at the Hotel Alhambra, they would rather see you die then risk spoiling their reputation.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cheesylobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managua
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

The extension to the now sixty rooms is complete, no more banging. The owner Juan Pasos has paid great attention to details and the combination of personal service and world class amenities has moved this ever popular hotel up a notch.

About touring locally. a must is the boat trip to the isletas, but take a boat from isese opposite the marina, it looks a bit run down but is half the price of the marina opposite.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefgeraldManagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
182 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

Stayed here for two nights during a tour in Nicaragua and Costa Rica.
Cuba Libre welcome drink at arrival !
Very nice hotel with a marvelous location directly on the main square of Granada. Colonial style.
Friendly staff, large rooms, well equipped and clean.
Had one diner on the terrace, good food and wine !
Nicaragua was well worth the visit !

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eMBieAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#16 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Bocona
Hotel La Bocona
#28 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra

Property: Hotel Alhambra
Address: Costado oeste del parque central | West side of central park, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alhambra 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing