We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Choice!”
Review of Hotel El Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Club
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 12 December 2011

The pictures of this hotel on the internet do not convey what this hotel is really all about. Not only are the rooms small, some do not have a window in them, so it feels like you are imprisoned. Our bathroom was not clean and most of the furniture was falling apart. The breakfast was okay but the waitress was curt and her posturing told us that she did not like her job. We were so disappointed that although we had paid for 2 nights, we forfeited our second night and found another very nice hotel for roughly the same price.

Room Tip: The down stair rooms looked a little better, but the hotel lacks warmth that is so abundant in other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Truth56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

This is a great place for a budget traveler. I paid about $30 per night. Good staff, nice breakfasts, quiet and centrally located. TV remote was broken and they could have added more blankets for room but those were only minor drawbacks. The pool in the hotel also isn{t a jacuzzi, its more like a small pool - not heated. Recommended if you want bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Voost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

New owners who went above and beyond to help me out. Very reasonable rate for nice, clean room with tasty breakfast. Additionally, great location and very convenient. I HIGHLY recommend Hotel El Club.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

After looking through 6 or 7 hostels for a private room, which were expensive and looked liked a cell, we finally found this hotel which wasn´t expensive and has great rooms (though small) and a big jacusi under a canopy of trees.
The owners are from Holand and real nice. One of the best placed we stayed during our trip.
Noga and Sagi from Israel

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noga p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I have stayed at this charming hotel 4 times now and it just keeps getting better. My last visit was in the midst of the owners adding rooms and a jacuzzi to the central garden of the hotel and reception area. It has transformed the place immensely. The hotel has a warm and inviting feel to it, and the owners even further this by making you feel as if it is your home too. I would recommend this hotel to any traveler looking for a clean, safe and charming hotel. The rooms while modest, are very clean, decorated well, with a comfortable bed and hot shower, and the staff goes out of their way to help any way they can. Give them a try, I am sure you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLTICO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Have just returned from a three week stay ,in Nicaragua. I spent my last four nights at El Club hotel. This is a great place to stay close to the central square . The rooms are good, clean,well designed and excellent value .Lucien , Charlotte and Cor, the Dutch owners could not be more friendly and helpful . Overall a very good experience.


Do not worry about the negative comments on this site, they predate
the new owners. The night club has now moved to a new site so although the hotel has a nice bar it's quite.

If you are visiting Nicaragua and I can recommend you do, don't miss Granada .


Steve, Jersey, Channel Islands

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilkojersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I stayed at Hotel El Club for a week at the end of September as it was my first time in Nicaragua. The service and hospitality were excellent and refreshing as the owners really go the extra mile to make sure everybody is happy and taken care of. I stayed in the Standard room which is fairly small but the bed was nice and the hotwater worked well and the AC cold. The hotel has Wi-Fi and the hotel lobby and bar area is a nice place to meet and talk to people as it is very tranquil with multiple high speed ceiling fans keeping the area not too warm. For value, $25 during the low season was my reason to check it out. It is close to the central park area and the Cadenza and i felt safe at night when I went out. They do provide a free breakfast and have a full kitchen and bar. I would recommend and will be staying there for another week the week of October 9. Also their Hotel El Disco Club which is located in a shopping center about a kilometer away is very good and I enjoyed the time on Friday night as they had a live Salsa band. Typically they play more European Techno but this was a special occassion and drinks were free unti Midnight.

Room Tip: I enjoy the upstairs rooms because their is less noise. Even though the disco has relocated, someti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesP990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa La Merced
Casa La Merced
#27 of 45 in Granada
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Mar Dulce
Hotel La Mar Dulce
#33 of 45 in Granada
106 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#26 of 45 in Granada
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Fortaleza Granada Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
#25 of 45 in Granada
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paraiso Granada Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Club

Address: Calle La Libertad and Avenida Barricada, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £31 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Club 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel el Club is a unique hotel with an original composition of a casual style, comfort and coziness in an authentic colonial building from 1869. Centrally located near the center of Granada and easily accessible by car, our hotel is a good operating base for many interesting places nearby to visit. The pleasant atmosphere of our hotel invites you to a wonderful and relaxing stay. Visit us for an experience and a stay like never before. The staff of Hotel el Club gives you and your guests a hearty welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing