We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Lovely Place ~ Great New Year's Eve Party.”
Review of Hotel El Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Club
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Lovely Place ~ Great New Year's Eve Party.”
Reviewed 6 February 2009

We made some changes to our travel plans and have decided to go over to Granada a day earlier. The hotel that we were booked into for our stay while in Granada was full so I called El Club and they had a room for us.

We had El Club arrange airport pickup and it only cost US$30 for the trip for the 2 of us! I have checked a few places and they all charged $60. The taxi was not air-conditioned but it was no problem really. For the return trip, we booked the taxi through El Club again eventhough at this time we were already staying at another hotel.

When we got there, we were pleasantly happy with the place. It's beautifully done and clean. I love the bar and the beautiful courtyard at the reception.

The receptionist is very friendly and nice. We got there before it was time to check-in but the receptionist called house-keeping and within 10 minutes we were ushered to our room. The welcome drink was a very lovely touch to the already great reception we received.

We stayed in a standard room which is big enough for us 2. The bathroom is a little small but clean. If we were staying for more nights, I would choose the bigger rooms.

The room rate includes dinner and breakfast. Dinner is a 3-course fix meal of salad, main course and coffee and for breakfast, you can pick anything from the breakfast menu which we feel is of great value. The wait staff here are very nice and helpful. We got excellent service at the restaurant, bar and hotel.

For New Year's eve, they had a great party. For a cover charge of US$10/person, you get unlimited bar drinks from 10pm - midnight. The bar staff were working endlessly to fill up everyone's drinks and we had a fantastic time here.

I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone who would love to have a good time in a nice friendly setting.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Life_on_the_Move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    53
    22
    13
    13
See reviews for
10
49
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaco, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2008

I am staying now for 3 years in Hotel El Club in Granada Nicaragua and every time I am surprised about the friendliness of the owners and staff.
This design hotel with night entertainment is fun and the best play to stay as it is never boring.
Mid week or during the weekend there is something going on. The food is of high quality, you can say exceptional good, take the broccoli soup ......!
The rooms are small but efficient and the colonial style makes it 100%. Since a few month they have an all in package and this is easy even in billing. I forget almost Granada town which is a beautiful colonial architecture city, very very beautiful.
Gerardo Dirks

  • Liked — Friendliness and entertainment
  • Disliked — Would be nice if they had more rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Happygerardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2008

I'm writing this from the great bar at El Club. I've been here for 3 nights and have enjoyed my stay. The staff is especially friendly. It's a great value for the money, especially since both breakfeast and dinner are included, and the food is very good.

I hear there are pretty good parties here on the weekend, but unfortunantely i have to head home today (Thursday) so won't be able to write much of a review of the party scene here.

Rooms are clean with cable tv A/C, and hot shower. The standard room would probably be a bit small for a couple but is great for a solo traveler like myself. If you're a couple you might want to go for the suite.

Wireless internet works great from the bar/lounge/restuarant areas but doesn't work from the rooms, but no big deal. El Club is walking distance to most anything you'll need in Granada.

I plan on coming back every 3 months to El Club (I live in CR and have to make my visa run). I would certainly recommend El Club to anyone living in CR that needs to do the same.

Overall, great experience, glad I came, and I'll be back soon. Thanks El Club staff --

Tim (Timoteo) from CR

  • Liked — wireless internet, great staff, convenience, great food included in the price
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dimepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2008

After checking out several hotels in Granada we came at El Club. The manager invited us for a drink at their bar and after this welcome cocktail the receptionist showed us our room. Lovely decorated and clean.
The food was included in the price and we never expected this high quality. Absolutely worth to reward with a star. The staff is extremely nice, profesional and always smiling. Clearly happy to work at El Club.
We had a great time and advice to check out their special offers.
Friday night was a Mexican Party. The bar was crowded with travelers and local people, the best Margaritas I've ever tasted. International DJ's and a mix of latin beats and popular music. Back in my room in the second patio reduced the music and was not disturbing (because of the Margaritas)

  • Liked — Food, drinks and staff
  • Disliked — Leaving and back to work
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lauraroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2008

What a sham! Booked this for three nights directly with the property based on web site. Note: This was NOT a prepaid, travel package. Couldn't believe it when we got there: We had a small, dark room with no windows, or chairs! The bed was built into the wall, so we had to crawl over each other to get in and out. The bathroom was so small we had to sit sideways on the commode. AC did not work well. Loud, racous parfties. When we asked for another room, the alternatives weren't any better. The worst of it though is that, unknown to us, the day we checked in they processed the charge for the entire 3 night reservation! (Note, this was not a prepaid package requiring advance notices, etc. This was simply a reservation for 3 evenings. We travel a lot and are used to giving our credit card for security, but not being charged before we checked out!!!!) We left at 9 a.m. on the 2nd morning, fully willing to pay for the two nights we had stayed and were absolutely amazed when they said they had already processed our charge and couldn't change it! Couldn't get a manager to talk to us and efforts to reach owners have been fruitless. We're disputing through our credit card company, but our advice is DON'T GO THERE!

  • Liked — The Food
  • Disliked — The accomodations.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tmgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2007

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! Come for a drink, but stay anywhere but here! We went to Granada for New Years and made the mistake of staying in this dump. The owners were throwing a huge party and did not let us know when we booked nor when we checked in. There were people urinating outside of our room (indoors!) and drunks everywhere. The least they could have done was let us know, or offer an invite to the party(!?) On top of it, the rooms were dark (not a window in site) and stuffy! Brutal!

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powerstills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, DK
Level 5 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2007

We stayed at El Club for two nights and were generally quite happy with it. It's true, as many other people have pointed out, that there are parties going on until late on weekends, but the rooms are in the far back of the building, and the noise level isn't really worse than at the average backpacker beach bungalow hangout. (Pretty much the same crowd, anyway.) The house is really nice and the rooms are nicely done, though very small.
While we stayed there, there were extremely heavy rains and thunderstorms, and water from the roof leaked into our 2nd floor room. It seems there were similar problems in a lot of rooms, but the staff got us another and better room on the ground floor without keeping us waiting for more than 15 minutes. Overall, the staff is very friendly and the place is good - if you don't mind the partying. But if you're looking for a quiet place or somewhere suitable for children, stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — Beautiful building, friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dane77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Pergola
Hotel La Pergola
#26 of 43 in Granada
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Mar Dulce
Hotel La Mar Dulce
#33 of 43 in Granada
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#17 of 43 in Granada
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Fortaleza Granada Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#28 of 43 in Granada
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa La Merced
Casa La Merced
#25 of 43 in Granada
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Club

Property: Hotel El Club
Address: Calle La Libertad and Avenida Barricada, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Club 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel el Club is a unique hotel with an original composition of a casual style, comfort and coziness in an authentic colonial building from 1869. Centrally located near the center of Granada and easily accessible by car, our hotel is a good operating base for many interesting places nearby to visit. The pleasant atmosphere of our hotel invites you to a wonderful and relaxing stay. Visit us for an experience and a stay like never before. The staff of Hotel el Club gives you and your guests a hearty welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing