We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Club - Some of us like it loud.”
Review of Hotel El Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Club
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Englewood, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“El Club - Some of us like it loud.”
Reviewed 25 January 2010

I enjoyed El Club Hotel. It is in central area of Granada, and has a good atmosphere, bar and food. My room was clean and the air conditioner did come in handy. Like everyone says, you might want to reconsider staying someplace else, from Thursday till Monday, if you are not going there to party. That's true. The music, during the parties, is turned way up, and stays on until 1 or 2 AM. I stayed there (January, 2010) for the parties and was not disappointed. It is around the corner from the Bearded Monkey Hostel, which also has a fun bar scene. It is a few blocks from the main square (Kelly's Bar) and has a lot of dining options in the neighborhood. Hotels on the quiet side that I would recommend (for people that want to sleep) might be Casa Vivaldi or Hotel Granada. I used both of their pools, and thought that the people at both of these places were very friendly, as well. There are a lot of very inexpensive rooms for rent (starting at about $10 / night). During my stay, I saw a few of them, and they were not that bad. For a fun bar scene try Casa Bohemia, a few blocks away. Though generally a safe City, use common sense wandering the City at night. Travel in groups, and use of cabs might be recommended.

Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank GetaDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    53
    22
    12
    13
See reviews for
10
49
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

I just made a road trip from El Salvador to Costa Rica. The first night I had to stop at this beatiful colonial city. Most hotels were full and I needed a place just to lay my head and depart early next morning.

Things that I didn't like.

1) My bed had a whole in the mattress.
2) They offered to prepair breakfast for me, my wife and parents early, but no one was even awake at 6 am.
3) The hotel is just behind a bar in the same building, so when you wake up next morning you find cigarrete butts laying on the floor, beer spiled, etc.

And the worst off all was that somebody stabbed to tyres from my car that was just outside the hotel. The had no parking available. The man at the front desk suggested that I should look for somebody to look at my vehicle during the night. There was a vigilant at the corner of the street, he didn't offer his services but apparently he was pissed of because I didn't hire him and he is my first suspect of the crime. I said it so to the police. I was delayed 6 hours in my trip trying to find somebody to repair my tyres the last day of the year.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuco78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucien2803, Owner at Hotel El Club, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Since August 2010 Hotel El Club has a new management.
The disco parties do not take place anymore in Hotel El Club.
The reception staff speaks Spanish, English, Dutch, German and French.
Breakfast is served as from 07.00 a.m., on request we can serve this earlier.
Cars can be parked in the 24/7 guarded parking space at the Fire Brigade in Granada for USD 2.00 per night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Reservations and reception never mentioned the INSANELY loud club 20 feet from the rooms. The walls are trembling as I write this at 3am. No way to sleep and no excuse for not warning us before checking in or accepting our reservation.

Plus, the rooms are a bit run down, security is minimal, the TVs feature mostly static, and the rooms are TINY - bathroom separated by swinging doors, not a real door.

I stayed here in 2004 and 2007 when it was run by a trendy Dutch couple. Looks like the wife took off and the husband is running the place into the ground. The Jello wrestling contest he sponsored tonight is, apparently, what an Expat mid-life crisis look like. (Note: even the contest was poorly run - he managed to screw up women wrestling each other, come on!)

Come here for the nightlife, do not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank testtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Staying at El CLub was a great experience. The owner went out of his way to help us have a great trip!!!! Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights they have a big party at the bar there and it was a kickin' party!!! The rest of the nights it is very quiet and calm and the bar is not open mon-wed. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zdfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

When you see their website everything looks great, but when you get there is horrible. Room had no windows, a/c was not working, so could you imagine a room with no windows and a/c not working properly...... horrible.
Staff was not really nice, price is ok but for that price, you can get a nicer place.
They have a club with music until 2 in the morning, which is ok if you want to party, but if you are hoping to sleep, forget about it.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turistaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2009

The place is ok to go party, to have a drink but not to stay, rooms are really small, doesn't have windows, a/c didn't work properly and the staff was not as nice as in other places.
You have to pay cash or they'll charge you 5% more, using credit card, something that i never saw before.

  • Liked — bar
  • Disliked — small rooms, no windows
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mistery_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2009

We made some changes to our travel plans and have decided to go over to Granada a day earlier. The hotel that we were booked into for our stay while in Granada was full so I called El Club and they had a room for us.

We had El Club arrange airport pickup and it only cost US$30 for the trip for the 2 of us! I have checked a few places and they all charged $60. The taxi was not air-conditioned but it was no problem really. For the return trip, we booked the taxi through El Club again eventhough at this time we were already staying at another hotel.

When we got there, we were pleasantly happy with the place. It's beautifully done and clean. I love the bar and the beautiful courtyard at the reception.

The receptionist is very friendly and nice. We got there before it was time to check-in but the receptionist called house-keeping and within 10 minutes we were ushered to our room. The welcome drink was a very lovely touch to the already great reception we received.

We stayed in a standard room which is big enough for us 2. The bathroom is a little small but clean. If we were staying for more nights, I would choose the bigger rooms.

The room rate includes dinner and breakfast. Dinner is a 3-course fix meal of salad, main course and coffee and for breakfast, you can pick anything from the breakfast menu which we feel is of great value. The wait staff here are very nice and helpful. We got excellent service at the restaurant, bar and hotel.

For New Year's eve, they had a great party. For a cover charge of US$10/person, you get unlimited bar drinks from 10pm - midnight. The bar staff were working endlessly to fill up everyone's drinks and we had a fantastic time here.

I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone who would love to have a good time in a nice friendly setting.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Life_on_the_Move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 43 in Granada
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Pergola
Hotel La Pergola
#26 of 43 in Granada
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Mar Dulce
Hotel La Mar Dulce
#33 of 43 in Granada
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 43 in Granada
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#16 of 43 in Granada
415 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 43 in Granada
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Club

Property: Hotel El Club
Address: Calle La Libertad and Avenida Barricada, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Club 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel el Club is a unique hotel with an original composition of a casual style, comfort and coziness in an authentic colonial building from 1869. Centrally located near the center of Granada and easily accessible by car, our hotel is a good operating base for many interesting places nearby to visit. The pleasant atmosphere of our hotel invites you to a wonderful and relaxing stay. Visit us for an experience and a stay like never before. The staff of Hotel el Club gives you and your guests a hearty welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing