We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish and Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Club
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Stylish and Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

This hip hotel was very comfortable and centrally located. I was there on a Monday and Tuesday night. I found it through the 2006 Lonely Planet guide, and the room price ($23) was about half what was listed. The room was a perfect size for a solo traveler with good lighting and nice tile work. Staff were accommodating. Beautiful courtyards for lounging around. Very basic breakfast. It is a few dollars more than other budget options in the area with twice the comfort. Check out the restaurant two doors down that grills beef and chicken which you can eat on a sidewalk table.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank levnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    49
    21
    11
    13
See reviews for
10
45
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2010

I enjoyed El Club Hotel. It is in central area of Granada, and has a good atmosphere, bar and food. My room was clean and the air conditioner did come in handy. Like everyone says, you might want to reconsider staying someplace else, from Thursday till Monday, if you are not going there to party. That's true. The music, during the parties, is turned way up, and stays on until 1 or 2 AM. I stayed there (January, 2010) for the parties and was not disappointed. It is around the corner from the Bearded Monkey Hostel, which also has a fun bar scene. It is a few blocks from the main square (Kelly's Bar) and has a lot of dining options in the neighborhood. Hotels on the quiet side that I would recommend (for people that want to sleep) might be Casa Vivaldi or Hotel Granada. I used both of their pools, and thought that the people at both of these places were very friendly, as well. There are a lot of very inexpensive rooms for rent (starting at about $10 / night). During my stay, I saw a few of them, and they were not that bad. For a fun bar scene try Casa Bohemia, a few blocks away. Though generally a safe City, use common sense wandering the City at night. Travel in groups, and use of cabs might be recommended.

Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank GetaDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2010

I just made a road trip from El Salvador to Costa Rica. The first night I had to stop at this beatiful colonial city. Most hotels were full and I needed a place just to lay my head and depart early next morning.

Things that I didn't like.

1) My bed had a whole in the mattress.
2) They offered to prepair breakfast for me, my wife and parents early, but no one was even awake at 6 am.
3) The hotel is just behind a bar in the same building, so when you wake up next morning you find cigarrete butts laying on the floor, beer spiled, etc.

And the worst off all was that somebody stabbed to tyres from my car that was just outside the hotel. The had no parking available. The man at the front desk suggested that I should look for somebody to look at my vehicle during the night. There was a vigilant at the corner of the street, he didn't offer his services but apparently he was pissed of because I didn't hire him and he is my first suspect of the crime. I said it so to the police. I was delayed 6 hours in my trip trying to find somebody to repair my tyres the last day of the year.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuco78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucien2803, Owner at Hotel El Club, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Since August 2010 Hotel El Club has a new management.
The disco parties do not take place anymore in Hotel El Club.
The reception staff speaks Spanish, English, Dutch, German and French.
Breakfast is served as from 07.00 a.m., on request we can serve this earlier.
Cars can be parked in the 24/7 guarded parking space at the Fire Brigade in Granada for USD 2.00 per night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

Reservations and reception never mentioned the INSANELY loud club 20 feet from the rooms. The walls are trembling as I write this at 3am. No way to sleep and no excuse for not warning us before checking in or accepting our reservation.

Plus, the rooms are a bit run down, security is minimal, the TVs feature mostly static, and the rooms are TINY - bathroom separated by swinging doors, not a real door.

I stayed here in 2004 and 2007 when it was run by a trendy Dutch couple. Looks like the wife took off and the husband is running the place into the ground. The Jello wrestling contest he sponsored tonight is, apparently, what an Expat mid-life crisis look like. (Note: even the contest was poorly run - he managed to screw up women wrestling each other, come on!)

Come here for the nightlife, do not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank testtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

Staying at El CLub was a great experience. The owner went out of his way to help us have a great trip!!!! Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights they have a big party at the bar there and it was a kickin' party!!! The rest of the nights it is very quiet and calm and the bar is not open mon-wed. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zdfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2009

When you see their website everything looks great, but when you get there is horrible. Room had no windows, a/c was not working, so could you imagine a room with no windows and a/c not working properly...... horrible.
Staff was not really nice, price is ok but for that price, you can get a nicer place.
They have a club with music until 2 in the morning, which is ok if you want to party, but if you are hoping to sleep, forget about it.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turistaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2009

The place is ok to go party, to have a drink but not to stay, rooms are really small, doesn't have windows, a/c didn't work properly and the staff was not as nice as in other places.
You have to pay cash or they'll charge you 5% more, using credit card, something that i never saw before.

  • Liked — bar
  • Disliked — small rooms, no windows
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mistery_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#16 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#26 of 43 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Fortaleza Granada Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Alto
Hotel Casa de Alto
#38 of 43 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Club

Property: Hotel El Club
Address: Calle La Libertad and Avenida Barricada, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Club 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel el Club is a unique hotel with an original composition of a casual style, comfort and coziness in an authentic colonial building from 1869. Centrally located near the center of Granada and easily accessible by car, our hotel is a good operating base for many interesting places nearby to visit. The pleasant atmosphere of our hotel invites you to a wonderful and relaxing stay. Visit us for an experience and a stay like never before. The staff of Hotel el Club gives you and your guests a hearty welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing