We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but noisy”
Review of Casa San Martin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa San Martin
Ranked #35 of 72 Granada B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 December 2011

The location on the Calle de Calzada is very convenient to the touristy areas of Granada. We stayed here for 2 nights and had a downstairs room on the outside - unfortunately this room was very noisy from traffic and pedstrians passing by - there is only a rustic wooden door between you and the street. The upstairs room are accessed via a very steep and narrow staircase so it can be tricky to get a large suitcase up there. The upstairs terrace is very quaint and has a nice view of the cathedral spire. The breakfast (eggs, gallo pinto, fruit) served in the courtyard was pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trubrit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

In July 2011 we stayed at several Nicaraguan hotels, including two in Granada. Casa San Martin by far had the best rooms and bathrooms. Nice beds, linens, super hot water, free wifi, and a hot breakfast all for just ~$50 a night.
The hotel is also right in the middle of downtown, behind the Cathedral and beside lots of restaurants. This was convenient, but also noisy--until about 10:30/11pm you could hear live bands playing in the street, trucks going by blaring loudspeakers, kids in the street playing drums, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrlunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stay in the hotel for tree days and since we entered and "sharman" show us the place we feelt like in home, the location was great 2 blocks from central park, the rooms where ok for 45 usd. The hotel has a good internet speed and the service was very good. We can trully recomend this place and we'll back soon as posible.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimOswalt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Granada is the tourist centre of Nicaragua and for good reason. This hotel is right in the middle of the old town near the main square and restaurants, and the interior of the hotel is very much in keeping with the area.

Staff are a little bit like an old great uncle - sometimes a bit grumpy, but have a good heart and want you to have a good time.

The main lounge area look great, and has a bunch of wonderful large wicker rocking chairs around a coffee table - it almost seems to function as a place to hang out for an hour or two and chat to other people. The only downside is that you start sitting in the rocking chairs, and then within a few minutes, you suddenly find yourself falling asleep !

The rooms vary in size and comfort - the ones on the ground floor seem larger. We stayed in a room upstairs - smaller room, but it came with the bonus of an outdoor terrace with a view of the cathedral - great for sitting outside late in the evening while having a drink

The hotel is not 5 star in comforts, but if you want somewhere traditional in style, this will do very nicely.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmbma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Hotel Casa San Martin was the best hotel in my opinion in all of Granada the staff is friendly the continental breakfast is delicious i love almost everything about it the room at the top is wonderful it has cable TV.{all of the rooms have cable}the view from the balcony is wonderful you can see the cathedral from it and the patio is also wonderful but the best thing is the location it is right next to the central park and it is great for kids to cars only go through another route and don’t pass the front it is a beautiful hotel i hope you enjoy it like I did.
I liked this hotel so much that I stayed for a week. I ate breakfast each morning on the tiny flower-bedecked balcony accessed through my window. The ambience is colonial and the staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddie67inMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Sherman welcomed us warmly for our 3-nights stay at Casa San Martin last December.
We had a nice room with access to the roof balcony and a view of the cathedral. There is a beautiful garden on ground floor.
The hotel is a minute's walk away from the Central Park, right on the main nightlife strip of Granada. There are bars, restaurants, and shops all in the blocks around the hotel. The noise-level, however, is kept down -- we had no trouble sleeping. The hotel is safe and clean. The staff is friendly, and the breakfast is healthy.
We recommend Casa San Martin. Thank you Sherman! :-)

Daniel + Stephanie

PS: When you go to central park, make sure to try Granada's "national dish" Vigarron con Yuca!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koala205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Our stay at Hotel San Martin in Granada, Nicaragua was nothing short of exceptional. The room was spotless and including hot water, cold A/C, ceiling fan, and cable T.V. Although we didn't need it, the hotel is equipped with an electrical generator just in case the power goes out. Conveniently located on one of Granada's main streets called La Calsada which is lined with shops, fruit juice bars, and restaurants serving al fresco dining. The hotel is also within walking distance to most of Granada's touristy sites such as museums, parks, churches, and the lake. The hotel also offers site seeing tours from right in their own lobby to destinations like Ometepe Island, different Volcano tours, canopy tours, Isleta's and much more. Finally, the staff is very friendly and always willing to serve you with a smile, which gives the hotel a bit of bed & breakfast feel and is a great BANG for the BUCK! We highly recommend Hotel Casa San Martin! We will most definitely come back to this hotel if we ever decide to return to Granada, Nicaragua. Oh... don't worry, when you come back late at night to the hotel... the night staff will be waiting for you in case you need something.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiamiAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#16 of 45 in Granada
187 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#26 of 45 in Granada
45 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,057 reviews
0 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
346 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#32 of 45 in Granada
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Martin

Address: La Calzada, Granada's Cathedral 100mts E, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: £29 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa San Martin 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Martin is an authentic and beautiful colonial house, built in the beginning of the 20 th century, completely restored as a private home in the year 2000 and opened as a small hotel with 8 rooms all equipped with air condition, cable tv, and private bathroom with hot water. Located in Calle La Calzada the best location in the city of Granada, Casa San Martin is close to the best restaurants, museums, churches, the central park and lake Nicaragua. We also offer tours around the city and in the rest of Nicaragua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Casa San Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing