We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Sherman!”
Review of Casa San Martin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa San Martin
Ranked #28 of 67 Granada B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Thank you Sherman!”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

While walking around town looking for a reasonably priced, clean hostel to stay in for 2 nights, we found this hotel. A/C, breakfast, wifi and a very secure room with 2 large and comfy beds all for $20 pp. Sherman runs this hotel and he was so helpful and kind! Also very funny. He was always bang on with directions and recommendations. I would highly recommend this place to anyone staying in Granada. Spotless, safe and you can't go wrong with free breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuattroBurros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    17
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
26
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

One of the best hotels I have stayed in Nicaragua. The Personal is very friendly the service is great and the owner is very warm, they all make you feel like your are in your own home but relaxing like in a resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElDuendeMerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Wow what a beautiful place, the history this building has seen is infused into it, and the Director Ejectivo Javier Shanchez has made this old family hasenda into a quaint 200 year old Hotel, with everything. This was my first time in central america and there was some apprehention, but that went out the window when finally got here. Best time that I've had in ages, everybody looked after Me like I was 'Family' and Yes I'm talking about you Shermon.
This is the 'Best' location for getting to and from everything, and when it's time to party, your in the middle of it already, just step out the front door and walk 30 feet or less.
Thanks again for the wonderfull stay in your Beautiful Casa, the woodwork alone will bring me back for more, and maybe some of that Rum of yours, Flor de cana...
A special thanks to Javier for his friendship and hospitality, and his employees for theirs.
I'll be back soon to Casa San Martin,another home for me.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 053weejohnny530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I stayed there two nights and Casa San Martin is an excellent place to stay in every way. Centrally located, very nice furniture, and exceptional friendliness and hospitality from the entire staff, especially the front desk manager, Sherman, who is a nice person and very helpfull in the plan of our trip!
I highly recommend Casa San Martin.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank joachin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I stayed there for five nights and Casa San Martin is an excellent place to stay in every way. From the comfortable beds, traditional Granada furniture, central location, and exceptional friendliness and hospitality from the entire staff, especially the front desk manager, Sherman, I highly recommend Casa San Martin.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

It is a nice and comfortable hotel. When i stayed there i could see the clean and beautiful rooms it has. It is very visited for people that come from europe and The United States of America. Its location is excellent because it is located on calzada street where you can see the nightlife many people live. I hope you travel to Granade and visit it to have an unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: it is better to reserve the rooms in the upper part of a hotel in order not to hear the noise of a a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juan z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Hotel Casa San Martin was nice, clean, comfortable and centrally located. Owner and staff were very friendly and accommodating, I got a bad cold while traveling and Sherman even climbed a Eucalyptus tree to make tea and delivered it to my room with some local honey. It not only made me feel better but I truly can say he went the extra mile to make us comfortable! The room was tastefully restored, authentic Granada home. Staff were very informative about great places to visit and eat. Sherman even transported us to the bus station when we left Granada, saving us the effort and expense of getting a taxi during a torrential downpour! We really enjoyed our stay. We'll definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maminica11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#14 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Club
Hotel El Club
#29 of 44 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Almirante
Hotel El Almirante
#13 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Martin

Property: Casa San Martin
Address: La Calzada, Granada's Cathedral 100mts E, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa San Martin 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Martin is an authentic and beautiful colonial house, built in the beginning of the 20 th century, completely restored as a private home in the year 2000 and opened as a small hotel with 8 rooms all equipped with air condition, cable tv, and private bathroom with hot water. Located in Calle La Calzada the best location in the city of Granada, Casa San Martin is close to the best restaurants, museums, churches, the central park and lake Nicaragua. We also offer tours around the city and in the rest of Nicaragua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa San Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing