We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really hot water, really cold aircon - perfection!”
Review of Casa San Martin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa San Martin
Ranked #28 of 67 Granada B&B and Inns
Central America
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really hot water, really cold aircon - perfection!”
Reviewed 14 March 2009

We'd been planning on staying somewhere cheap, but I was desperate for a hot shower, so we decided to go with Casa San Martin. The price was $45 including breakfast for a twin, but we bargained it down to $40 a night for 3 nights. I'm so glad we stayed here! The hot water was really scalding and plentiful and the strong yet quiet aircon provided a welcome respite from the Granada heat.

The rooms have cable tv, which has Spanish, English, French and what seemed to be a German channel too. The hotel is fantastically located, a stone's throw from the main plaza and right on restaurant-full La Calzada. The staff were incredibly friendly and kind.

The only disadvantage to this hotel is that most of the rooms are on the street edge and have giant doors (that don't open) rather than windows. So the rooms are slightly dark, though they are big. Also, the noise from the street is pretty loud, with motorbikes whizzing past along with all the other noises of a city.

A really enjoyable stay, I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralAmericana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    17
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
26
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2008

Casa San Martin is located on one of the most enjoyable streets in Granada. It is also one short block from the main square.

The hotel's courtyard is beautiful and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is also very convenient that Eco-Trips tour company is located in the lobby. (Their services are also terrific.)

The rooms are okay and kept clean. The drawback is the street and kitchen noise. Sleeping in can be a challenge.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the noise
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TealFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easthampton, ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2008

A beautiful colonial home made into a hotel. Friendly and hepful staff that were a joy to see each day. The location could not be any better! Walk out of the front door and there are bars and restaurants with outdoor seating at your feet. A great value...clean, friendly, beautiful, and air conditioned!

  • Liked — Location and staff!
  • Disliked — Nothing. It was great.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami,fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2007

casa san martin was the best hotel in my opinion in all of granada the staff is friendly the continental breakfast is delicous i love almost everything about it the room at the top is wonderful it has cable t.v.{all of the rooms have cable}the view from the balcony is wonderful you can see the catedral from it and the patio is also wonderful but the best thing is the location it is right next to the central park and it is great for kids to cars only go through another route and dont pass the front it is a beatiful hotel i hope you enjoy it like i did.

-Roger


p.s. ask for sherman

  • Liked — staff food
  • Disliked — insects in garden
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nicapirata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2006

Stayed at Casa San Martin for one night in Granada during an extensive trip through various Nicaragua locations. Before leaving Canada, we had booked 4 rooms online and got confirmation for the same. However, when we arrived... they advised that only 3 rooms were available. As this was a Friday night and all other decent hotels were booked up by then, our party had to squeeze into 3 rooms instead.

My husband and I stayed in a small room with 2 single beds on the second floor with access through the small window to the upper terrace. (As the prior reviewer mentioned.) The small terrace is lovely and the room quaint. However, the bathroom sink pipe leaked onto the floor every time you used the sink. By early the next morning, the room was overwhelmed with a very disgusting smell due to this problem. As we were leaving that day, we didn't complain.

This hotel is an old house conversion and lovely with character. Location is excellent. However, we had a chance to go walk through Casa San Fransisco - where we originally were going to book but changed our minds - and will definititely be staying there next time. The courtyard at Casa San Fransisco is enchanting and the small pool a definite bonus.

Kudos to Sherman at Casa San Martin for your hospitality and making us laugh.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Leaking bathroom sink resulting in bad smell in room.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SpiritBear50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2006

We liked this hotel so much we stayed for a week. We ate breakfast each morning on the tiny flower-bedecked balcony accessed through our window. The ambience is colonial and the staff are helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — the terrace, privacy, small hotel, elegant colonial furnishings
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — the terrace rooms are upstairs.
  • Stayed December 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank permafrostp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#13 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Club
Hotel El Club
#29 of 44 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Almirante
Hotel El Almirante
#14 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Martin

Property: Casa San Martin
Address: La Calzada, Granada's Cathedral 100mts E, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa San Martin 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Martin is an authentic and beautiful colonial house, built in the beginning of the 20 th century, completely restored as a private home in the year 2000 and opened as a small hotel with 8 rooms all equipped with air condition, cable tv, and private bathroom with hot water. Located in Calle La Calzada the best location in the city of Granada, Casa San Martin is close to the best restaurants, museums, churches, the central park and lake Nicaragua. We also offer tours around the city and in the rest of Nicaragua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Casa San Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing