We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We spent two nights at the Hotel Patio del Malinche in Granada and were pleased with all aspects of our stay. The hotel is lovely - the pool in the back courtyard was beautiful and appealing as was the breakfast we shared by the pool when the front courtyard was filled with other guests. Our room was comfortable and very clean and there was constant hot water (something we came to value as we traveled through Central America). Ramon and Lidia (the owners) were charming and welcoming and pitched in with their outstanding staff team to make sure that everything was perfect. The hotel is conveniently located just a few blocks off a main street with a wealth of dining and other activities - but it is far enough away to be quiet and calm. We would definitely stay here when we return to Granada!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2013

We were booked into the lovely Hotel Ptio del Malinche by our tour operator, and we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was located a conventient 3 blocks from the main square and a block away from the main tourist bar/restaurant stroll. The hotel lobby entrance is welcoming. Lovely courtyard areas feature a garden and a small swimming pool. The room was very clean and comfortable and was cleaned promptly each day when we left to explore the city. The hotel did offer WiFi which was somewhat inadequate during daylight hours, when there are likely more guest and employees gobbling bandwidth. The breakfasts served by the courtyard garden were very good - lovely fresh fruits and fresh juices, tasty local coffee, and four breakfast selections. This is a lovely hotel and we are pleased to recommend it.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the second floor, and no elevator. If you have difficult climbing stairs reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

If someday I return in Granada I'd definitely stay in Patio del Malinche again. Irene and all other staffs were really helpful and lovely. Everything there was perfect. The service is almost five stars. The hotel is very very beautiful and calm. You'll find there internet access, fresh and good breakfast and cosy rooms. It is behind the main street of Granada, so you can go to all cool places of the city walking. The pool area is very beautiful. I really recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Delightful small hotel run by the family. Nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are nice as is bathroom. Only criticism would be that windows could do with blackout curtains as the (very) early morning sun shines through - fixed this by lowering the external blinds along the walkway, but maybe this shouldn't have been necessary. Great breakfast. Close to everything in the main city centre but far enough away to be quiet. Nice little pool in the courtyard area. Rooms with a/c and TV. Free WiFi (as in most of Central America).

Room Tip: Upstairs, Room 17 has views directly across the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiggerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed at this Hotel in January 2013 and were very pleased with everything, starting with the first interaction we had with the staff. Isaura was extremely helpful in helping arrange for transportation for our arrival. We arrived at the Hotel fairly early in the day (before 11 am) and were checked into our room immediately which was such a nice surprise. The rooms were nicely appointed, very clean and quiet. Loved the Hotels ambiance- it's comfortable without being pretentious and very well appointed. I can't say enough good things about the staff at the Hotel- true hospitality and kindness at every turn. Last but not least, the breakfast was fantastic and the room rates were very reasonable, considering the value. My only regret is that we only got to stay one night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

While visiting Nicaragua you definitely want to go to Granada and this is where you will want to stay. This place is clean, quiet and located very central to the tours, markets and attractions. We took a tour of the 365 little islands in a launch and then were brought back to our hotel in a surrey with a tour of the city along the way.
You are only a couple blocks from restaurants and the main pedestrian avenue that is bustling with purveyors of native crafts and goods as well as entertainment.
Get out of Managua as soon as possible and spend your extra time here!

Room Tip: I only was in #17 which had two twins because we were two men to a room. I am sure they have all co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

This hotel makes you want to be there for an extended stay like people used to do a century ago. The front courtyard has plenty of cozy, comfortable places to sit and visit without disturbing anyone. The back courtyard has all the rooms, the pool, and a couple of small sitting areas on the grass near the pool. The staff were friendly and nice. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was convenient for exploring the town. The breakfast was fine, although a little small. The only downside was that my downstairs room had too much noise from the foot traffic of my neighbors in the room upstairs.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room to avoid hearing the foot noise of your upstairs neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dansktex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Condo Hotel Xalteva
Condo Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#9 of 45 in Granada
684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#12 of 45 in Granada
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patio del Malinche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio del Malinche

Address: Calle Caimito | de Alcaldia 2 1/2c. al lago, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Granada
#5 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £55 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patio del Malinche 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a place in the world, a house is a place in one's heart. El Patio del Malinche is more than just another hotel, it's a dream come true. Our interest to live in a different culture and to get to know new horizons took us to the ancient town of Granada. The sun-dried bricks of Granada's old walls and the hospitality of its people bewitched us. By restoring an old colonial house we relived a life of peace and serenity created by its inside patios full of history. We hope our guests will be able to revive and share with us the atmosphere of other times. We will be delighted to share our house, where life pours from every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Patio del Malinche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Del Malinche Granada
Patio Del Malinche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing