We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style, New World.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Once again my wifw and I arrived on July 16, 2013 fromthe outside it looks like a very small old hotel, I am glad my wife saw it. We went inside and the front desk lady was so attentive from the minute we walked in, she showed us suite #2 and we love it. The room was a bigger than average size with a/c, ceiling fan and a safe (not needed). The restroom was small but well designed.

We enjoyed the hotel (they do not have a restaurant) including thr swimming pool. Brekfast was a big bowl of fresh fruits and good nicaraguan coffee. We will come back to this property since one day was not enough to enjoy it.

Take care of yourself......

Room Tip: Suige #2 and #3 are locatedonthe first floor just about 5 steps from the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmoyo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

Quiet location just off the main areas with rooms set back from the street overlooking a small courtyard area with small pool and bar - a big plus to cool off at during the hottest months. Rooms are a bit on the small side but well-appointed and clean with necessary a/c. If your adjoining room has noisy types you'll know as the dividing walls are not the thickest. Staff all friendly and helpful and breakfasts good. Home-made lemonade and cocktails recommended. All round a very good affordable option for a few nights in this characterful city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Everything here was perfect. We visited in May and so were very glad to have a/c and a fan in our room. The breakfast was the highlight of the stay here - a huge plate of the freshest fruit, coffee, eggs, etc. We loved it!

The pool was great and everyone we interacted with on the staff was really nice and helpful. We would definitely recommend staying here and would stay there again in a second if we find ourselves back in Nicaragua.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed in June during the humid rainy season so we really loved the AC to cool down after being out in the sun and humidity. This hotel has a great, natural appeal and a beautiful courtyard with a pool and a bar in the back. It is located just one block from the main drag of restaurants and two blocks form the central park and you can walk to nearly any location of interest. Otherwise, the hotel will call you a cab to your destination. The decor is understated, clean and simple, and very tasteful - I loved sitting out in the courtyard and listening to the trotting horses pulling carriages out in front of the hotel or swinging in the hammock.
The most amazing thing was the breakfast. The fruit platter is enormous and delicious, with fruits that we've never seen before and the other breakfast options were tasty too. Great coffee, good drinks at the bar to sample the local rum. Note that if you purchase any drinks, when you check out they prefer that you pay your bar tab with cash, but you can pay the hotel bill with your credit card. We try not to carry a lot of cash with us on vacation, so we had to run to the ATM (which charged us $5 per non-chase withdrawal), so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

PROS:
Clean rooms hot water AC and western toilet
Grounds beautiful
Nice small pool with beach chairs
Good breakfast
Good friendly staff
CONS
no water pressure in shower
Small ants in bathroom but expected
No other bugs
No parking on grounds but lot around the corner

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tricat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This hotel was booked for us through our tour company, Nicaragua Adventures. The room was pleasent. The hotel is quiet and centrally located. The pool and courtyard were quite relaxing. The saff were very helpful and spoke English. This is a very nice spot to stay in Granada.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lea032809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Our first night in Nicaragua was in Granada. The staff at Patio del Malinche had a car waiting for us at Managua airport for (~$40 for the hour ride to Granada).

Rooms: Clean beds, no musty smells. Bathrooms also were spotless. There was AC in our room that worked quite well. A relief from the heat. The only hiccup was the shower. It was a trickle, no pressure and no hot water. Thankfully, hot water was not needed as it was extremely humid and hot in June.

Property: Refreshing pool. Clean facilities, even the general bathroom. Breakfast/ eating area has ceiling fans to discourage flies and other insects from disrupting your meal.

Breakfast: Delicious. We ordered the Malinche (gallo y pinto with eggs and toast) and the fruit platter to split. Everything was fresh and tasty. The fruit platter had more than five different types of fruit (passion, watermelon, banana, pineapple, etc).

Staff: Extremely helpful and courteous. We didn't have plans for the following night's stay in Ometepe, so the staff helped us search on Tripadvisor for hotels and called them for us. Also, helped us arrange transportation from Granada to San Jorge (port for the ferry).

Overall: Clean, central to the town square (two blocks walking), no frills, with wonderful staff. For ~$75 a night, it was the nicest establishment we stayed at during our trek in Nicaragua.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to face into the courtyard/ pool area. Ask for one on the second floor if you a glimp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRhude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#4 of 45 in Granada
714 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patio del Malinche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio del Malinche

Address: Calle Caimito | de Alcaldia 2 1/2c. al lago, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Granada
#5 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £68 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patio del Malinche 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a place in the world, a house is a place in one's heart. El Patio del Malinche is more than just another hotel, it's a dream come true. Our interest to live in a different culture and to get to know new horizons took us to the ancient town of Granada. The sun-dried bricks of Granada's old walls and the hospitality of its people bewitched us. By restoring an old colonial house we relived a life of peace and serenity created by its inside patios full of history. We hope our guests will be able to revive and share with us the atmosphere of other times. We will be delighted to share our house, where life pours from every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Patio del Malinche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Del Malinche Granada
Patio Del Malinche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing