We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling comfortable and warm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Hotel Patio del Malinche is a very good place to enjoy Granada feeling comfortable and warm. It's a very nice place where the owners and the staff take care of each detail. I felt like I was in home because of the friendly, helpful and quiet atmosphere. The rooms are very nice, in a rustic and simple style which makes you feel you have everything you need. There are also two quiet and nice courtyards to spend the afternoons relaxing and swimming in the pool.

Therefore, I really recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were visiting a friend in Granada . We always stay here as Ramon and Lidia give such a great welcome. The rooms are very comfortable. The hotel is very clean . It has a great atmosphere . The breakfast is good and we recommend the malinche cocktail.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Hotel Patio del Malinche is a superb place to stay in every aspect. There are the friendly, helpful Catalan owners who are happy to share with you their knowledge of Granada and its beautiful hinterland. By all means let them recommend restaurants and sights. They ensure you both a restful and exciting visit. The entire staff complements them with their smiles and efficiency.

The property itself is a gem, with a pretty garden, a pool to float in, a pleasant little bar, nooks to sit in to read, a comfortable bed to sleep in, WiFi, etc. All is very clean. The breakfast is outstanding. And, there is no street noise.

You are in the midst of all that Granada's safe historic district has to offer--much more than just fine eateries and beautiful colonial architecture. There is the vast lake and its lush tropical isles, cloud-forested volcanoes, one extinct with a swimmable crater lake, bucolic countryside, etc. best of all are the Nicaraguan people or "Nicas." Plan to fall in love with these kind folk.

Enough said. It is a no-brainer. When in Granada you must stay at Hotel Patio del Malinche. There is another added-plus. The very fair price.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank zhabarana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The two-star review (below) is annoying and unkind. We stayed here a few days later, and found it so charming. It's a beautifully-renovated hacienda, so, of course, the rooms are not hotel huge. No need. And bugs? This is the season for small insects to come off the lake, so, be reasonable -- just shut your windows and put on your room a/c. The staff is remarkably friendly and helpful and many speak excellent English. It's also wonderful to have the owners, Ramon & Lida (originally from Barcelona) on the property in their office much of the time. My husband had a medical problem and Ramon called his own doctor to the hotel and Ramon insisted on going to the pharmacy himself for the medicine. That is outstanding service and pure simple kindness.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoailona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Overall the hotel is ok. It's about 2.5 blocks from central park, which is fine. The rooms are very small and, in my case, there were many little tiny bugs flying everywhere. If you're a tall person, the beds may be too short (my husband's 6'2" and his feet hung off the bed by about 4").The shower looked kinda dirty to me so I showered in flip-flops. Breakfast was average to below-average. The wifi didn't reach my room so, in order to use the internet, I had to sit in the common area. On a brighter note though, the staff are very courteous and extremely helpful. I left the hotel after only one night but maybe I'm too high maintenance...

Room Tip: Stay at the Hotel Plaza Colon..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nohemy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We spent four nights at Hotel Patio del Malinche. Service was exceptional and the hotel was spotlessly clean. We prearranged transportation from Managua, and the hotel arranged transportation via personal driver, taxi, or shuttle bus for all of our travel needs. Breakfast was delicious and evening drinks at the bar were a perfect way to end the day.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbqErica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times. The location is close enough to all the activities yet far enough away so as to be peaceful. The rooms are inviting and very clean. Breakfast is included, it's prepared fresh and is delicious. There is a bar available as well. All the staff are friendly and make our stay enjoyable. The owners Ramon and Lidia are on the premises and we enjoy talking with them. Extremely inviting atmosphere. Will definitely stay there again. Highly recommend. :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,057 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#9 of 45 in Granada
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#4 of 45 in Granada
719 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patio del Malinche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio del Malinche

Address: Calle Caimito | de Alcaldia 2 1/2c. al lago, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Granada
#5 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#5 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £58 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patio del Malinche 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a place in the world, a house is a place in one's heart. El Patio del Malinche is more than just another hotel, it's a dream come true. Our interest to live in a different culture and to get to know new horizons took us to the ancient town of Granada. The sun-dried bricks of Granada's old walls and the hospitality of its people bewitched us. By restoring an old colonial house we relived a life of peace and serenity created by its inside patios full of history. We hope our guests will be able to revive and share with us the atmosphere of other times. We will be delighted to share our house, where life pours from every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Patio del Malinche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Del Malinche Granada
Patio Del Malinche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing