We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restored Hacienda”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2009

Hotel Patio del Malinche is all the wonderful things the other reviews have already mentioned. We enjoyed the pool every afternoon, breakfasts were wonderful with a nice choice, internet, hot water, air conditioning, rooms were spotless, helpful and friendly staff, really nice location, safes in the room. Some folks mention the rooms were small, consider it's a restored hacienda. We enjoyed 4 wonderful nights. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glasslipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2009

The other reviews are spot on...this place was great. My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in December, and it was the highlight of our trip. It may not be as "grand" as some of the larger hotels situated along the square, but that made it even better!

Rooms were simple, but extremely clean. The hotel and entire property was well mainted, and the courtyard setting was so tranquil and relaxing. The location was perfect, in a quiet area, not far from the square. Also close to the cute little cobblestone street area full of bars and restaurants (I forget the name).

The staff was great...extremely accommodating...and really made you feel welcome. Breakfasts were also very good. I highly recommend a stay at Patio del Malinche!!

PS - Dinner at El Zaguan is a must!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gringa430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2009

This was probably mine and my boyfriend's favorite hotel ever for many reasons.
1) Cleanest pool ever. Even cleaner than pools at resort hotels that I have been to - I don't think I ever saw even a leaf in the pool. It's not the biggest pool, but for 5 days, we had it all to ourselves except for perhaps 20 mins. one day.
2) Attentive Staff. The hotel is family-owned by Spaniards from Barcelona (who speak English). They go above & beyond to help you plan your activities, and provide competitively priced services. Each day, we would go to them to ask for their opinion of our plans, and they would offer alternatives, explain the cost of everything to us, and each time offer us services from people they knew & trusted. The two times that we attempted to go around town and find tours that would offer the same services, we discovered that the prices were higher or equivalent, but, had we chosen to go with a tour group, we would be stuck in a large group & waiting on other people.
3) Great Breakfast. We woke up every morning looking forward to our breakfast on the patio. There is no buffet, but the hotel offers fresh fruit juice and coffee along with a choice of 3 breakfast options, I believe? (not sure how many because I always got the same one).
4) Serene Environment. After our long day excursions, we always looked forward to coming back to the hotel and either jumping in the pool, kicking it back on the rocking chairs or hammock, or ordering cocktails from the bar. (on a side note, ask for Ramon's Mexican Lemonade which is non-alcoholic and out of this world.) Although the hotel was completely booked most of our stay there, it was always very quiet & tranquil and never felt crowded.
5) Hot Water. This is a PERK in Nicaragua. Do not expect it at most hotels. Its not necessary, except after sleeping with the A/C on or when its chilly very early in the morning.
6) Free Wi-Fi & free computer access.

The only downside I can think of was the lack of shampoo/conditioner in the bathrooms. We didn't come with any because we're used to having it provided free of charge at the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ticarica81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

When I was looking for the place to spend our first night on our Nicaraguan holiday I came upon the hotel website for Patio del Malinche. I noticed there was a Catalan language option which piqued my interest and assumed the owners had a connection to Catalunya. I booked our room there and every step of the process was efficient and nice, as was the price. Nicaragua makes it difficult to find places as there are no road or street signs so after a bit of driving around Granada we found the hotel. The atmosphere is so pleasant with the indoor/outdoor spaces and the room was clean, comfortable and pretty. We had an after dinner drink on the terrace after dinner at a nearby restaurant and were joined by hundreds of little gecko on the walls which we always love. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and the only sad part of our visit was we only planned one night there.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Molly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

I'll keep this one short...

The Good
-welcoming, hospitable, knowledgeable staff
-beautiful restored home/hotel with Nicaraguan/Spanish charm
-great breakfast included
-excellent location

The Not-So-Good (and I'm really trying here)
-small rooms, tiny bathrooms
-not a lot of area to 'lounge' around the pool
-very expensive laundry!

You can't really go wrong staying at del Malinche! Have fun!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mangotree42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

We have traveled to perhaps a dozen countries in the last few years, and this is the one hotel where we felt most at home. Lidia and Ramon (the owners--from Barcelona) really make you feel like family. The rooms are smallish, but very comfortable with excellent showers and plenty of hot water (not something you can take for granted in Nicaragua). There is wireless Internet in the rooms and in the patio next to the pool. Breakfasts are excellent, with plenty of coffee refills, and beer is available at a modest charge 24/7! As an earlier reviewer noted, the owners' black labrador Pedro also makes you feel right at home. Perhaps the best part of Patio del Malinche is that the staff does everything they can to ensure you see the best that charming Granada has to offer. They really care that you get the best value for your cordobas as you dine out, or hire a driver to take you around the neighborhood. Ramon even spent 1/2 hour with us explaining the best things to see and do in San Juan del Sur, our next stop in our Nicaragua stay. We cannot say enough good things about Patio del Malinche--if your travels take you to Granada (and why shouldn't they?), look no further than Patio del Malinche. Gracias, Lidia y Pedro! Lo pasamos muy bien con vosotros y esperamos volver pronto! A y J de Michigan.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank waisguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

One of the best parts of our Central America trip, we stayed here for a few nights over a busy season, during Christmas. The room was spotless, with a working TV, hot water (hard to find) and facing a courtyard with a small but beautiful pool that gets sun in the afternoon. The complimentary breakfast (different selections to choose from) was wonderful as was the wait service, bar, and front desk.

Specifically I'd like to thank Isaura, who not only helped us with the orignal reservation, but saved us a huge headache by contacting the local port to see if normally scheduled service was running to our next destination, Ometepe. She found it wasn't, due to Christmas, and was able to negotiate a inexpensive taxi to Rivas where we took a faster and much cheaper ferry to reach our destination. Those are the experiences that make this hotel stand out amongst many others.

They also have a wealth of local information, brochures and everyone speaks very good English, along with other languages.

The price was higher than some other hotels we found, but the expense was worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank weissguy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,057 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#9 of 45 in Granada
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#4 of 45 in Granada
719 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patio del Malinche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio del Malinche

Address: Calle Caimito | de Alcaldia 2 1/2c. al lago, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Granada
#5 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#5 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £58 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patio del Malinche 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a place in the world, a house is a place in one's heart. El Patio del Malinche is more than just another hotel, it's a dream come true. Our interest to live in a different culture and to get to know new horizons took us to the ancient town of Granada. The sun-dried bricks of Granada's old walls and the hospitality of its people bewitched us. By restoring an old colonial house we relived a life of peace and serenity created by its inside patios full of history. We hope our guests will be able to revive and share with us the atmosphere of other times. We will be delighted to share our house, where life pours from every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Patio del Malinche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Del Malinche Granada
Patio Del Malinche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing