We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel with Great Location”
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Great hotel in the middle of town with a delicious breakfast. Can't say enough good things about this place. Extremely helpful staff, all English speaking.
We had a room with a balcony overlooking the pool...I think it was room 217....highly recommend this room if you aren't staying in one of the fancy rooms overlooking the park.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiimchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

773 - 779 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2011

My girlfriend and i stayed in the hotel during the poetry convention in Granada. so the city was quite full with people. the hotel is very nice, the staff all spoke English and very well. the check-in was fast and they helped us to our room, with the bags and the bellboy showed us how everything worked and how to use the free WiFi in the rooms. the room was very comfortable with A/C. we didn't have a room over looking the park across the street but it was also good. the hotel has a very nice pool, and a very quite and relaxing garden inside(around the rooms). the staff was very friendly and helpful, they booked us a tour to see some of the islands around Granada. the breakfast was very good (and included in the room price) a full service. the location was central, well it couldn't get anymore central and was great for walking all over the city. when i go back to Grananda i will be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

From the day I booked this hotel 6 months ago, the staff was warm, welcoming and forthcoming with important information to make our stay in Granada one we'll long remember. They answered all questions, gave touring advice, got us English-speaking guides, and even made arrangements for airport pickup and transportation onward to our next destination. The hotel is situated in the most central spot in town and we booked 3 large rooms overlooking the square. It was a joy to sit there during down moments and watch all the weekend activity. There are comments about the noise around the square making it difficult for sleeping. Because of that advice, we brought white noise machines and had no trouble sleeping at all. There are also many rooms that do face the square for a more quiet stay. The breakfast was wonderful in a lovely spot near the pool which, by the way, came in very handy to cool down after a long, hot day of touring. Our family of ten loved the charming town of Granada and we all highly recommend the Hotel Plaza Colon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 201traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Assuming you are not on a tight budget, I can't imagine staying anywhere else. The staff was lovely, breakfast was fantastic and we had a gorgeous terrace overlooking the main square. This hotel far exceeded our expectations. Extraordinary value!

Only downside of being on the square on the weekend is the street noise late at night and early in the morning. Tough if you're a light sleeper...

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

First class operation all the way. This is a hotel that can sell itself based on its location at Parque Central and its amazing architecture. What truly sets it apart is the service provided by its courteous and knowledgeable staff. We were particularly impressed with Carlos, who worked the bell job with more enthusiasm and pride than I have ever seen in a bell man. He provided us with contacts and set up really good tours of Granada and the isletas. Victoria also was very helpful at the front desk.

The rooms were beautiful and super clean. We slept incredibly well during our two night stay. Breakfasts were amazing and we found ourselves just wanting to spend time in the beautiful, quiet courtyard sipping coffee during our mornings.

This is my third time staying in Granada, and this is by far the best hotel I have had the pleasure of staying at. Wonderful. When we come back to Granada, it will forever be at the Hotel Plaza Colon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaydenBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Service was outstanding from the moment we checked in. The staff immediately helped my wife with our backpacks as I parked the our car in the private parking lot around the corner. We had welcome cocktails at the bar down downstairs. The complimentary breakfast poolside each morning was fantastic! Absolutely no complaints about this operation. 1st class. On a value note, there is no need to pay the extra for the balconey rooms. The rocking chairs are nice and relaxing, but the view is basically overlooking the park into the treetops. You can site below at the bar or the cafe with the exact same view more or less and save some cash. The pool area is fantastic for reading and relaxing.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Very nice hotel on the Plaza. The staff couldn't be more helpful. Serves breakfast only.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPME112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#8 of 45 in Granada
667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#4 of 45 in Granada
719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#8 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £85 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing