We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in the Center of it All”
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Hotel Plaza Colon is a beautiful hotel right in the heart of everything in Granada. This hotel is an amazingly peaceful and serene place to stay. They are both family friendly as well as a great place to stay for a romantic get away. The inner courtyard is stunning and offers quiet tucked away seating as well as pool side tables and lounging. The hotel also offers free WiFi and in room internet access.

Friendly Welcoming Staff - Check!
Very Well Kept Amenities - Check!
Beautiful Luxurious Rooms - Check!
Stunning Courtyard & Garden - Check!
In House Dining & Bar - Check!
Pool & Patio - Check!
WiFi & Internet - Check!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2011

We loved our room with the balcony overlooking Parque Colon. I would not consider staying anywhere else in Granada.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shark2th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Javier at the front desk. He was very helpful and courteous. He shared his experience of Granada and recommended places to visit. I couldn't ask for anything more from someone at the front desk of any hotel. The following morning we met with the manger, Maria Isabel. She was also onpoint and made sure we were comfortable and our expectations were being met. Excellent. The rest of the staff was not far behind. Everyone at Hotel Colon made this a very pleasurable experience. I would recommend everyone who visits Granada to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfreek_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

The hotel is in a great location, across from the main plaza in Granada. We rented one of the rooms with a balcony. It was a separate hotel room although it is part of a larger suite with another separate hotel room with a shared living area. It also has a shared balcony area for both hotel rooms. The main issue we encountered with this room is that we were locked out a few times by different guests during our stay. The people renting the other hotel room closed the door to the living area which locked us out. The main door has to stay open since our key didn't open that door. We mentioned it to the other guests, they didn't realize that they were supposed to leave the main door open. They assumed their key would open both doors. It would have been nice if the front desk told the guests about this. We weren't told either, we asked the bell boy about it when he showed us the room. The bathroom had a nice shower with plenty of hot water. Wi-fi didn't work in our room, however, it worked fine in the lobby, breakfast and pool areas. Breakfast was included, the first three days we ordered from a menu that changed daily. Then there was a nice breakfast buffet daily for the next few days due to the number of tours staying there.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtwgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Great hotel in the middle of town with a delicious breakfast. Can't say enough good things about this place. Extremely helpful staff, all English speaking.
We had a room with a balcony overlooking the pool...I think it was room 217....highly recommend this room if you aren't staying in one of the fancy rooms overlooking the park.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiimchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

My girlfriend and i stayed in the hotel during the poetry convention in Granada. so the city was quite full with people. the hotel is very nice, the staff all spoke English and very well. the check-in was fast and they helped us to our room, with the bags and the bellboy showed us how everything worked and how to use the free WiFi in the rooms. the room was very comfortable with A/C. we didn't have a room over looking the park across the street but it was also good. the hotel has a very nice pool, and a very quite and relaxing garden inside(around the rooms). the staff was very friendly and helpful, they booked us a tour to see some of the islands around Granada. the breakfast was very good (and included in the room price) a full service. the location was central, well it couldn't get anymore central and was great for walking all over the city. when i go back to Grananda i will be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

From the day I booked this hotel 6 months ago, the staff was warm, welcoming and forthcoming with important information to make our stay in Granada one we'll long remember. They answered all questions, gave touring advice, got us English-speaking guides, and even made arrangements for airport pickup and transportation onward to our next destination. The hotel is situated in the most central spot in town and we booked 3 large rooms overlooking the square. It was a joy to sit there during down moments and watch all the weekend activity. There are comments about the noise around the square making it difficult for sleeping. Because of that advice, we brought white noise machines and had no trouble sleeping at all. There are also many rooms that do face the square for a more quiet stay. The breakfast was wonderful in a lovely spot near the pool which, by the way, came in very handy to cool down after a long, hot day of touring. Our family of ten loved the charming town of Granada and we all highly recommend the Hotel Plaza Colon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 201traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#4 of 45 in Granada
715 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 45 in Granada
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#8 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £86 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing