We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,144)
Filter reviews
1,144 results
Traveller rating
946
183
8
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
946
183
8
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large balcony balcony room breakfast buffet beautiful hotel the main square made to order eggs central park perfect location people watching horse drawn courtyard pool carriage ride welcome drink rental car comfortable beds loved this hotel light sleeper
Filter
Updating list...
824 - 829 of 1,144 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My daughter and I just returned from a wonderful week in Nicaragua, the last three nights spent in Granada at the Plaza Colon. From our first minute of arrival, we were welcomed by a friendly staff who always did their best to ensure a pleasant stay. The rooms are clean and airconditioned with TV, and provided with free water, mini bar, bathroom amenities, robes and a safe. The only negative side to the room was that we had no viiew. The pool, though small, was clean and refreshing with lounge chairs and pool towels. The included breakfast was delicious and filling. We were offered breakfast early, since we had to leave at 4:20 am on the last day. To our surprise we were offered juice, coffee, toast and fruit to eat, either in the lobby or to carry with us. That was an unexpected surprise. There was free computer usage. The hotel had prearranged the tours we had chosen with Oro Travel, and they went off without a hitch. The location is perfect, right on the Central Plaza. Restaurants were nearby. We couldn't have picked a more perfect place. We hated to leave.

Room tip: Try to get a balcony room.
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobalcorn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Location, location, location. This hotel is located in the main plaza area of the city. The staff is very professional and they will tend to your needs immediately. Our room had a large shared balcony that overlooked the plaza. The city is quiet at night so you don't get noise in your room. The room has lots of space and the bathrooms are modern and clean. Breakfast was included and the service was in the garden courtyard. I have been to Granada before, so we only spent one night here. If this is your first time spend at least two or more nights so you can explore the area around Granada.

Room tip: Plaza view second floor
Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creeping_Death_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

we stayed here at the end of our trip to nicaragua and loved it. the building is beautiful and the location was perfect - in the center of the city. the service was excellent and everyone was very helpful. we had an upstairs room with a large terrace that overlooked the center square which was great for relaxing and people watching in the evenings. the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was small but very nice. we'd definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephhatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

On our family trip in July we had 20 family members stay at hotel Granada for 4 nights. Everyone loved the hotels location and beauty, but best of all was the staff! The staff at the Colon are amazing and will make certain that your trip is safe, comfortable, and memorable!!!

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristinachechemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 days and really enjoyed it. Our room was on the ground floor so was next to the pool. The pool is never that busy and it's really nice to come back for a swim after being out and about.
The hotel only does breakfast (by the pool) the food is good and it is a buffet affair with somebody to make eggs.
The staff were great, there only seemed to be about 2 of them but they were very helpful. Most of the people staying are on a tour but we weren't so they seemed to enjoy arranging our plans! We could have course gone to the many travel agents in town but this was much easier.
As the hotel is situated on the main square it's nice to sit outside with a drink and watch the world go by.
We would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews