We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Plaza Colon
Nearby Hotels
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dario(Granada)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Colonial(Granada)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Padrino Hotel(Granada)(Great Value!)
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada(Isletas de Granada)
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,132)
Filter reviews
1,132 results
Traveller rating
935
182
8
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
935
182
8
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge balconybalcony roombeautiful hotelbreakfast buffetmade to order eggsthe main squarecentral parkperfect locationpeople watchinghorse drawncourtyard poolcarriage ridewelcome drinkrental carcomfortable bedslight sleeperloved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
812 - 817 of 1,132 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My partner & I decided to go on a trip that was a little out of the "norm" for us so decided to travel to Granada, Nicaragua. After reviewing multiple hotel reviews on Tripadvisor, we opted to stay at the Hotel Plaza Colon and think that we made the absolute best choice. The entire staff, from reception to wait to maid, were extremely friendly and absolutely helpful. They always had a smile and greeted each day with either a friendly "hello!" or "hola. que tal?" The hotel is centrally located across the street from Parque Central and our room had a veranda with a great view of the park. Was great for an afternoon of relaxing and people watching (and trying to cool off from the heat). The room itself was super clean and very spacious. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who has an interest in visiting Granada! Great stay and great value.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $20 for the room with a balcony. It's nice to sit, relax and watch Nicaraguan life unfold before your eyes
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

In the last year we have stayed at the Colon twice. They are very responsive to e-mails before your trip, so you will have no worries! The staff, especially Victor and Nelson were outstanding! The hotel has a nice pool, but it is under renovation. The Colon actually notified me of this closure via e-mail before my trip and even offered a 20% discount! Although we were disappointed that the pool was closed, I was impressed they notified me and even offered the 20% discount! You will not see that kind of service in the states! Anyway, the pool re-opens towards the end of 9/11.

Although a little more expensive, get a room that overlooks the park, you will not regret it!
You have a huge balcony to yourself and can look out at all the activity. Breakfast was included and it was wonderful. I have attached photos for your viewing pleasure. Some maybe of the pool during our first visit one year ago.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the balcony rooms
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panther61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We were a party of 8 for a family vacation and stayed two nights at Plaza Colon in Granada. From the moment we stepped in the door, the service was terrific. The front desk, bellman, servers at breakfast, bartender, maids -- everyone had a smile on their face and was eager to assist us in any way. Breakfast was a great surprise - choose from a menu and the food was great - far surpassed our expectation. We had rooms with balconies over the central park which made for a fun place to relax and watch the goings on in the very busy park. The pool is small but very quaint in the beautiful courtyard. This hotel will not disappoint and is a real bargain.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atlantaluvstotvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My daughter and I just returned from a wonderful week in Nicaragua, the last three nights spent in Granada at the Plaza Colon. From our first minute of arrival, we were welcomed by a friendly staff who always did their best to ensure a pleasant stay. The rooms are clean and airconditioned with TV, and provided with free water, mini bar, bathroom amenities, robes and a safe. The only negative side to the room was that we had no viiew. The pool, though small, was clean and refreshing with lounge chairs and pool towels. The included breakfast was delicious and filling. We were offered breakfast early, since we had to leave at 4:20 am on the last day. To our surprise we were offered juice, coffee, toast and fruit to eat, either in the lobby or to carry with us. That was an unexpected surprise. There was free computer usage. The hotel had prearranged the tours we had chosen with Oro Travel, and they went off without a hitch. The location is perfect, right on the Central Plaza. Restaurants were nearby. We couldn't have picked a more perfect place. We hated to leave.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony room.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobalcorn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Location, location, location. This hotel is located in the main plaza area of the city. The staff is very professional and they will tend to your needs immediately. Our room had a large shared balcony that overlooked the plaza. The city is quiet at night so you don't get noise in your room. The room has lots of space and the bathrooms are modern and clean. Breakfast was included and the service was in the garden courtyard. I have been to Granada before, so we only spent one night here. If this is your first time spend at least two or more nights so you can explore the area around Granada.

Room Tip: Plaza view second floor
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creeping_Death_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews