We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Staff and Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff and Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

We had a great stay at Hotel Colon. We had a balcony room overlooking the central plaza. Nice pool area, fantastic cafe attached to hotel with really great food, coffee and wifi. A very pleasant and helpful concierge Virginia helped us figure out what to do and where to go and made a bunch of calls for us. They are very centrally located to everything in the city and it is a beautiful open, traditional space in all the community areas of the hotel. The bar overlooks the central plaza and is great for watching the evening activities unfold. The morning buffet breakfast was very good and had a chef making any huevos dish you wanted.

Great value and service - highly recommend.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    157
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
246
421
66
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

I've been going to Granada since the early 90's. The charm of this city has always drawn me back. However, the hotel options used to be very liimted. Then the Plaza Colon came along and changed everything! This place is beautifully designed, decorated, and furnished. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast by the pool is a highlight every time I stay here. Do yourself a favor and if you're visiting Granada, stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoffeeBuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

I'm sitting on my balcony recovering from an old habit that I thought had vanished years ago. Across the plaza sits a Grand Catholic Church and the bells just stopped tolling, insistently, to the faithful. My mind told me that I must hurry as I only had 5 minutes to get properly dressed and to Mass; it is true, old habits of 50 years ago still haunt.
Where am I you ask? In room 204 of the Hotel Colon in Granada, Nicaragua. It is early morning and true capitalists are setting up their stands, the horse and buggy drivers are all in line and the plaza is full of life. No television show could match the world I am witnessing, each person has their own story that I will never know. Yet, I have my own stories for the souls that pass by and they entertain me. Just this view of the plaza is worth the cost of the hotel; the finest hotel I have stayed at in a long time.

This hotel is tailored. Every detail is considered with care. The rooms are large and airy with huge doors leading out to the balcony where I write this review. The bed is huge and inviting, the floors are a dark wood and the room is furnished perfectly. Just now, two hot and tired backpackers are crossing the plaza, they are sparing and she just landed a blow, not yet realizing that in a love affair all blows are self-inflicted. They remind me of another gift of age. I can enjoy comfort as I earned it. If I am hot I turn on the very quiet air conditioner in my room and if I am hungry I can head down to my ample breakfast.
Visit Nicaragua, it is a beautiful country that is safe and inexpensive. When you visit be sure to travel to Granada and stay in Room 104 of Hotel Plaza Colon. You won’t be disappointed….I promise.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nighttrain-az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

This was my second stay at the Hotel Plaza Colon. After my first visit, I didn't consider staying anywhere else. Some of the staff remembered me and greeted me as if I was a returning family member. I have stayed at many hotels but this one is my favorite. If you are a person that is very social, then you will enjoy conversating with the staff, most of whom speak fluent English. Even the ones that did not speak fluent English greeted me and were very friendly. The rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast is excellent and the location is ideal for exploring Granada and the city center.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adolph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

The staff are truly helpful and pleasant. The concierge, Virginia, was extremely helpful in both restaurant recommendations as well as a travel guide. On that note, the recommendation of Carlos Medal through Servicio De Viajes Expreso was truly professional and extremely informative as we toured through Granada and the surrounding area. He speaks both Spanish and English, and aspires to begin learning French. I cannot recommend either one of these people enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bham80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
235 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

Granada’s activities and sights are perhaps better enjoyed by a hotel stay in the pure physical heart of the city - Parque Central. We chose the Hotel Plaza Colon based on reviews, location and photos and I was pleased that the positive comments about the hotel turned out to be accurate.

Most importantly, every staff member we interacted with had a gracious demeanor and promptly assisted us when needed. The hacienda style design of the property was adorned in polished wood decor. The central courtyard contained a small pool, especially refreshing after a hot day of sightseeing. Also surrounding the pool and courtyard area were sofas where we sat and had some drinks.

The standard room we stayed in had a comfortable bed and superb linens. The large clean bathroom had a spacious shower area with ample water pressure. Even the bathroom amenities were of a high quality. Our rate came with a breakfast buffet which offered fresh fruits, made-to-order eggs, cereals and local breakfast items (i.e. gallo pinto, plantains, meats, etc.).

We considered staying at the balcony rooms as they certainly afford you a nice of view of the bustling activity below. But instead of spending the extra cost (almost 50% more per night for the weekday rate), we just sat on the large veranda of the hotel and just as easily took in the sights (although we received periodic visits of hawkers attempting to sell their wares).

One thing to keep in mind about this location - while the prime location on the Parque Central is advantageous for exploring around town, people-watching and getting a local flavor - it is noisy. Furthermore, in the morning the local shops started up at nearly 6 am and so it can get noisy quite early. But if you are looking to stay in style, you will definitely enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bt_mpls_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay here, it was one of the nicest hotels we've stayed in. The staff are truly amazing, all spoke English very well, which we didn't need, but certainly appreciated. The breakfast that's included is fabulous, and we had the pool to ourselves. The showers are heavenly after travelling to so many places that didn't have warm water.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMD919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#1 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
4.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Property: Hotel Plaza Colon
Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing