We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We spent 5 days in Granada in February. This is a beautiful hotel. The service is the best - the wait staff are so friendly and helpful. Breakfast every morning in the courtyard around the pool - great buffet. Try the pineapple - it is the sweetest I've ever had. Rooms are spacious, nice walk-in shower. Location in front of the square is great. While we were there, Granada was hosting an international poetry event. Every night the square was filled with entertainment. Loved sitting on the front "porch" of the pool watching all the activity.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italy4533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2013

I have been to Granada several times and have tried a variety of hotels. This is the best so far.
The service is excellent..staff professional and efficient..Mureil at the front desk was terrific and very resourceful..Carlos, the nice bartender..everyone was great!
The breakfast is delicious and the location is ideal. It can get a little noisy on the square but
I highly recommend the Plaza Colon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We have stayed here many times and each time has been perfect! Great service, food and lodging! Make sure to get a balcony room overlooking the square.

the pool area is lovely and breakfast by the pool (included) is made to order and delicious!

Room Tip: must get a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harstrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I was in Granada with 3 friends end of Feb. This was our first stop (Ometepe and San Juna del Sur were the next two). It was a perfect start to an amazing vacation. The hotel is beautiful and it is well worth it to get a room with a balcony facing the park. Like most places on our trip, we had an amazing breakfast each morning (it is a full meal) which you eat in the adorable courtyard by the pool. We didn't mind swimming while people ate breakfast but keep this in mind if you think this is an issue. The staff was extremely accommodating (especially Carlos!) They arranged transport, Mombacho volcano hike (Puma trail for the adventerous), and recommended restaurants.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a balcony facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindso369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My husband spent one night at Hotel Plaza Colony. Make sure to get a room with a balcony overlooking Central Park! The hotel is in the perfect location! We were able to walk everywhere and enjoyed our breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed here our last night in Granada(we started in Granada, went to San Juan, then back to Granada) and it was the night before the poetry festival, so lots happening and the hotel is a great location right on the square, so central to everything, but very peaceful and quiet inside.

Beautiful, historic hotel, with excellent service. complimentary drink when you arrive. Rooms are very nice and we stayed on the first floor and had our own little patio terrace with table/chairs,that was outside(so open sky), but within the hotel(not on the street), so very quiet and great little perk. The rooms are very comfortable and have nice decor, bedding, small fridge(stocked with mini bar, water and snacks), full cable, a/c, complimentary robes, nice tolieries and large shower.

The hotel also offers complimentary breakfast, but we also had an early flight to catch prior to breakfast, so were very impressed to find out the hotel offers "breakfast to go", so the night before we just let them know the time we were checking out and when we checked out, they had coffee, juice, yogurt, granola and fresh fruit all packed and ready to go:).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northshoregirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Just was in this town last week. I'm in Mexico right now with a beautiful girl who I will marry but that is another story that is just beginning.
From the hotel Colon overlooking central square you can take horse and buggy rides for $2 around town. The food I ate at some restaurant was deliceous. Chicken beef or fish was the menue with salad and rice. I got the beef and it was tender and especially nice! Normally beef down in central America is rather tuff. There are guys on ice cream bikes and children that follow you around. Not to steal but beg. Not so bad and they are very helpful at getting you around and some speak English. Beware of the adults dressed in tour outfits that follow you around helping carry your bags. They only want $2 or less for their help but it gets to be annoying after a bit. I liked the kids! They were like my friends after a bit.
Volcano's were neat to see. There is a boat trip through the islands that is a must. My diabetic amputee unstable on a walker father did the trip with me. The guys carried him to and from the boat practically. It was great and I bought a dozen mandrines for $0.80 and t shirts were $4 hats wee $2. I liked it there. Everybody seemed poor but happy. There isn't the tourist traps there like in Mexico or even Costa Rica now. I plan on going back!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank Murray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#12 of 45 in Granada
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#9 of 45 in Granada
684 reviews
0.3 mi away
Condo Hotel Xalteva
Condo Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#8 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £77 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing