We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully restored, but ......”
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Wonderfully restored, but ......”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The hotel is an old building adjoining the main square of Granada & a lot has been spent on its restoration. A beautiful building with a courtyard containing a pool. Large bedrooms, shower only bathroom. Good breakfast, butno other meals available, apart from cafe on street terrace (closes 7pm) & bar snacks. The big downside is noise from the street. Because it is an old building the windows are not double glazed and so the noise begins at c5am & continues until c11pm.
Otherwise I couldn't recommend it any higher, but you do check into expensive hotels to be able to sleep at night too!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank global-traveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICGranada, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Colon, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Global Traveller,

Thank you very much for your review! We understand where you’re coming from and I would like to take the opportunity and elaborate a bit more about some of the aspects you mention.

Hotel Plaza Colón was built in an old colonial house that was completely refurbished to its original architectural style; the owners were very meticulous in preserving all these characteristics as they are very proud of -and are committed to protecting- the architectural heritage of our city.

Given this, and taking into account our location -right in front of the main square, across the Cathedral- there are some rooms that are noisy throughout the year due to the birds singing in the park (5AM & 6PM) and might present a problem to light sleepers; these rooms are also the ones that have the big balconies.

There are also times of the year like the Poetry Festival Week in February (when you stayed with us), the month of August, the first week of December (the Purísima), Christmas Eve and New Years; when there are many cultural and religious activities and celebrations; these times the noise might end later, as you mentioned, around 11PM.

For all our guests who would like to have the view but also a good night's sleep, we always have ear plugs available as a courtesy, if you need them just let Virginia or any other staff member know and we will provide you with them.

For those of you who would rather have a good night's sleep above anything else, I recommend the rooms on the inside of the Hotel, around the pool. These rooms have the same amenities as the balcony rooms minus the view and remain quiet regardless of what is going on the Plaza.

We believe the more information you have while making your decision, the better the outcome of your experience. So when booking with us, let us know all your questions and requests, we are always happy to provide information and accommodate you!

Warm regards,

Maria Isabel Canton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    159
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
255
426
70
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
rochester
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Wow! Staying at the Plaza Colon Hotel in Granada, Nicaragua was terrific. The location is excellent on the main square and the hotel is a beautiful example of local architecture. It is clean.The air conditioning and fan in the room work well, as does the hot water in the shower. It is lovely to stay in a room fronting the plaza with a large balcony overlooking the slice of life in the park. The birds are rather noisy early in the morning and at dusk, but the interest in the square far outweighs the inconvenience. Quieter rooms front on the inside patio.The staff is friendly, accommodating, and informative. In particular, Virginia Alvarado, the manager of guest relations recommends tours, restaurants and anything else you want to know always with a bright smile. Carlos, the bellhop, was helpful in assisting us to find a misplaced item.
There is a nicely appointed pool in the inner courtyard to cool off whenever you need; the breakfast presents a variety of foods from freshly cooked eggs and toasts to fruit and yogurt served by the staff , or buffet style when the hotel is full. A cafe next door provides food all day until about 7 p.m.You can walk to quite a number of restaurants and bars.The hotel can arrange for airport transfers and day trips to the many interesting sights and activities in the area including the volcanoes, Las Isletas, Masaya market, Laguna de Apoyo and even further afield to the coastal beaches. We used Favio Castillo's transport service with the driver/guide Carlos, whom we recommend highly. The hotel uses them and recommends them.
Run, don't walk to stay at this hotel for all your needs in Nicaragua. It can be your base for all your activities. We stayed for a week and loved every moment, always feeling safe.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabasavta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed here for our last 4 nights in Nicaragua and loved it! The location is ideal as it is situated on the central plaza. We requested a room on the ground floor immediately adjacent to the pool, which is where we liked to spend the hot afternoons. I'm also sure that our room was more quiet than the rooms with balconies overlooking the square. if you want to people watch you can sit on the large deck at the entrance to the hotel or a number of restaurants with outdoor seating in the area.

Our room was accessed through 2 tall, large double doors which felt very grand. On the opposite side of the room were 2 more double doors that opened up onto a small patio. The other rooms beside us also had their own small patios but we never saw anyone else us them. The room was clean with comfortable beds and nice linens. There was also a spacious shower with very good water pressure. We also appreciated the small minbar in the room as we used it to keep cool some other items that we had purchased. The staff were also very helpful and friendly and organized a private air-conditioned ride for us to the airport in Managua at a better price than was offered at by other transport services nearby. For anyone who enjoys a cocktail, Hotel Plaza Colon made the best Macau's of all the ones we tried in Nicaragua. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rain-Proof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed here twice in our 10 day vacation. this place was fantastic - beautiful, clean, gorgeous decorations and rooms, lots of room and the best location in town - right centrally with a view of the central park. The service and staff and breakfast included was impeccable and impressive. The pool was nice and the bigger rooms with balcony are so worth it but slightly noisier as they face the central park. I asked my husband to guess how much we were paying a night for this fantastic place and he thought that we would pay 350 or more a night in the USA - but for the incredible friendliness, wonderful rooms, great service, amazing food, included water, fantastic breakfast selection...awesome location centrally...we were surprised that we paid so little....in nicaragua. would not stay anywhere else and would definitely come back here if we are ever in nicaragua. Was difficult to get a room but worth booking for sure and waiting for availability or booking early. The concierge service for tours was excellent. Highly recommend kayaking iselets, the bat caves and volcan massaya, and hiking the cloud forest volcan mombacho- the puma was easy and done in 2hours....just a fantastic trip - welcome drinks and free water, air con, great hot water with good shower pressure. can't say enough good things about this place.

Room Tip: the balcony rooms have great balconies which are so worth it but a bit noisier, the non-balcony roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curiousqueries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, or
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Excellent location, beautiful hotel, very large comportable rooms with high ceilings and lots of wood. Small pool. Staff were very helpful and accomodating. Bartender joined in singing some Spanish song one of my fellow travelers learned in grade school.A breakfast buffet was served around the pool and was quite pleasant.
And next door to the hotel is a marvelous coffee shop, called Lily's. I had the largest cappachino I have ever had in my life. It came in a soup bowl and was beautiful.
The hotel is situated on the main plaza and within walking distance from everything. There are horse and buggies in front if you want to take a ride. Inside the hotel is quiet and elegant.
Staff in the business center was very helpful.

Room Tip: We had no problem with noise but some rooms face the plaza and I think could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsilver4608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed 2 times - 2 nights each time (about 4 days apart). First we were in a room downstairs (102 I think) and the second time upstairs in 201. We tied to get a balcony room but none were available. While we were their the first time we tried to make a reservation for the second stay and they were full. Talked to the resevation manager (Jo An - not Joan) and he was able to 'move things around' and find us a room. Also, want to point this out (talk about service) - I was having trouble with wi-fi. I was trying to send an e-mail to Jo An and later found him in the busines center. Anyway, in the meantime Carlos the bell boy realized that I was having a problem with the wi fi and he gets the IT lady to the room to set up the router in the room itself so I can get a better signal. Since I had already accomplished what I wanted I did not need it. To me this is what you call going the extra mile. He was also helpful with a restaurant recomendation and having them provide free transport. He also arranged a taxi for a friend that was staying at another hotel.

Then there was Virginia (guest relations). I went to arrange airport transportation, she knew that I was a returning customer, knew the name and room number. Plus she left a welcome note in the room with some choclates.

Many of the staff greeted us by name the second time around and the "welcome back" was very common. This Hotel sure knows how to train the staff. The only thing that baffles me was the first time around we had two queen beds - they only made up one bed after the first night. The other bed, towels, bathroom were all taken care of - just not the second bed and all the extra pillows of both beds were on the second bed???? - did not bother us, so did not say anything.

The hotel was clean and comfortable, plenty of hot water and nice shower with good water pressure. The location is great - right next to the park (square). Breakfast was good with made to order eggs, bacon, fruit, etc. Did not get a chance to take a dip in the pool but looked clean and relaxing.

We were in four different hotels during this trip and this Hotel was by far the best.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingwood1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICGranada, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Colon, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Amal & Nelum,

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. I will pass on your appreciation to the rest of our team, feedback like yours makes all the effort well worth it!

I have taken notes about one of the beds in your first room (103) not being properly serviced, my sincere apologies for that, I will take the necessary steps to prevent this from happening again.

As for the internet, we are in the process of placing minirouters in our rooms to offer better WiFi signal for our guests.

Here at the Hotel Plaza Colón we strive everyday to provide the best service and accommodations. We have learned over time -soon it will be 7 years-, that there is always something we can learn to do better and some aspects of our service/facilities that we can improve. Your feedback is always welcome and appreciated!

Hopefully we will see you again someday in Granada! In the meantime, we wish you the best!

Warm regards,

Maria Isabel Canton
General Manager (the IT lady with a cane)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

After 3 other hotels in Managua and Granada, I can say with certainty this hotel tries harder and far exceeds every other place. The service is with a smile, at once helpful and relevant. I have been here 2 weeks and have one more to go. On such an extended stay you want a/c that works as it should every day, hot water every day, breakfast made to order every day and wi-fi in your room that works every day. When you go to sleep in a bed that is not comfortable or pillows right out of the boarding houses of the last century you wake up and see the smaller then some pools in our own homes, the breakfast that may be a bit limited, etc. But when it is as comfortable as it is at Plaza Colon, you see fresh omelettes being made to order, Carlos the bellman asking if you need anything and meaning it, Victor or Roberto at the front desk ready and able to to assist you, Virginia in guest services happy to recommend a restaurant, a place to visit or more. Finally, the great lady of the hotel, obviously the back-bone of the service to the guest first feeling you have is Maria, the general manager -- forever smiling, helpful and very informative about all things good and that is still a stretch in Granada. She is involved in the community, with kids, improving lives to raise the pride and success of the city's youth. Though she never offered, when asked Maria was full of resources on where I could help out. A local school that needed backpacks, helping me wrangle up 100 Happy meals from McD's when I couldn't articulate it well enough in my own Spanglish. Whether it is for a night, a week or a month -- you are throwing away money and missing an opportunity to meet authentic locals and place to call home while in Nicaragua.

Room Tip: I recommend you stay on the side with rooms 109 to 106 -- no outside street noise and a quaint outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeLudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 43 in Granada
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
4.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#2 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Property: Hotel Plaza Colon
Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#8 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing