We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We just returned from 3 nights at the Hotel Plaza Colon. When you stepped through the courtyard it was a little oasis. The staff and the breakfast were exceptional. The fireworks on the square were quite loud on Christmas, so we were happy to have a room with an indoor balcony.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thewitzbklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    157
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
246
421
66
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at Hotel Plaza Colon for 3 nights over Christmas and our stay was quite pleasant. The staff was always super helpful. They had a chorus group on Christmas Eve and served cookies and eggnog of course with the famous Flor de Cana Ron. The pool is small but great for a dip after walking or touring around. The hotel also organized transportation from the airport with Favio, Servico de Viajes Expreso. Best rates, better than regular taxi, $35 from the airport. We also organized a day tour with them to Pueblos Blancos and the volcano and to our next destination.
Granada is a must see in Nicaragua and the folks at Hotel Plaza Colon made it great.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelalot68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

2nd visit in 3 years and would love to visit again and stay longer. The amenities and beauty are only surpassed by the friendly staff . Always going above and beyond to meet our needs and wants. The room, the pool, the courtyard with the wine-bottle Christmas tree and entire property are stunningly gorgeous and centrally located in Granada. A short walk from anywhere you'd like to go if you have to leave this property. Oh, and the Macua was delicious.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannietw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Plaza Colon was our best introduction to Nicaragua! Our room was on the second floor over looking the plaza. The room was spacious with a balcony with rocking chairs (great for people watching!). The hotel arranged a private tour of the islands - great scenery, beautiful homes and monkeys!

The location is right across the catedral, close to good restaurants and shopping. This is where we first experienced the gracious and friendly nature of the Nicaraguan people. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us and make us comfortable from moving tables for us to giving us tips on how to eat some of the local fruit.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Archana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

My wife and I have stayed here on four different occasions over the past several years, following a week in Chinandega where our arrangements in Chinandega did not include a private room or bath, no hot water, nor air conditioning, so you could understand why we were instantly spoiled at the Plaza Colon. Here we feel clean, cool and relaxed and the staff does everything it can to make our stay enjoyable. The point is that such amenities and elegance in hotels in this country are few and far between. This stay was for three nights and we had a balcony room overlooking the park. It is always a pleasure to watch the morning activities unfold in the park from our balcony in the morning and the park being put to bed at night. We were there during the week following La Purisima, but still there are usually fireworks, parades and other celebrations at this time of the year. The breakfast is great with traditional Nica food like Gallo Pinto in addition to standard breakfast fare. I had never eaten passion fruit before....they are akin to what we called "may-pops" in Georgia, USA but we never ate them because we either threw them at each other or stomped them to make the pop. I asked the eggs-to-order cook if they would be having Nacatamals the next morning and said they would not. We were surprised the next morning to be served Nacatamales. Maria Isabel Canton is always a pleasure to speak with and Virginia set up our return taxi ride to the airport in Managua along with a prepared breakfast to go since we had to leave a 5 a.m. Carlos, Victor and all the staff are most gracious and helpful. The rooms and baths are spacious and very comfortable. It is a great location to navigate from to any point in Granada. Great for English speaking travelers. I see the Hotel Plaza Colon is ranked #3 in Granada. It may not be the highest ranked, but it certainly should be ranked the "Finest" hotel in Granada.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms overlooking the park are great for people watching as well as observing and learning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed three nights, and I loved the place. Awesome breakfast, and the swimming pool is stunning. The location is unbeatable, since it is in front of the main square. Very big rooms. The receptionist and employees are super well trained and they know how to treat guests.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pepsimax25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I spent three nights here, as my first stop in Nicaragua. The location is wonderful, right next to the main square, and a very easy place from which to navigate. The staff is very friendly and helpful, I espeically enjoyed talking with the breakfast staff. They all spoke English, but appreciated and/or humored my attempt to converse in Spanish! (sidenote: I would reccomend brushing up on your Spanish before travelling to Nicaragua. While not completely neccesary, it certainly made travel easier and more comfortable). The bed in the room is very comfortable, and the use of a small fridge was a nice benefit. The bathroom and sitting area out back were also clean and large. The bar in the hotel is reasonably priced and the views from the terrace cannot be beat. My only complaint about the hotel is that we had a room on the first level and it got very loud at breakfast time. You could hear all of the dishes being set up and cleared, as well as hearing others come and go. It wasn't enough to make me not want to visit here again, but if you had the option to stay upstairs, I think your sleep quality would be better.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#2 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
4.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Property: Hotel Plaza Colon
Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing