We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service in Central America”
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 August 2008

Normally I would write "a charming old building on the edge of the city square, nicely renovated as a boutique hotel 3.5 stars or 4 stars".

Except this place deserves five stars. Why, not because of the building (although it is charming) or the fact that it was by far the cleanest hotel I have seen in Central America (much cleaner than the five star western chain hotels in Costa Rica for example).

It is the service. This place made everything so easy. The normal problems just did not exist. I had paid in Cash (with a special cash rate) and when I had problems with my bank they refunded my cash and allowed me to pay on credit card without any extra fee. They gave me my breakfast before I checked in because I was leaving before breakfast the next day. All in all the staff were amazing.

Add that to a charming building with clean modern rooms and a great location and you have a winner.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nljtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Plaza Colon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

871 - 877 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2008

We have stayed in plenty of hotels around Nicaragua, and Plaza Colon was simply one of the best hotels in the country and the best of Granada. Its superb location, comfortable rooms and great people make it a obligatory stay in town. The fine details and craftsmanship of its design reflect the high quality of the place, and of the stay. One appreciates staying in well mantained place, with an environment that replicates very well the feeling of culture an tradition one seeks outside its doors.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank machoraton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

HOTEL REVIEW# 151

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences and I encourage you to view hotels I have stayed at and their respective reviews (by clicking on my name).

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: We paid $30 USD for a taxi from Managua airport to Granada (45 mins).

LOCATION: Excellent. In the heart of the town and in the main square.

TYPE OF ROOM: 

Standard Double.

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Beds were comfortable but not exceptional. Sheets were short of luxurious but were fine. Pillows were thin enough to be comfortable but not down.

LIGHTING: Adequate lighting in bedroom and bathroom.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Bathroom was not beautiful and had a formica counter top. The shower had very strong pressure but a terrible nozzle that sprayed water out too wide to be enjoyable. Water could be made hot if desired.

TOILETRIES: Nothing special, probably best to bring your own.

CLEANLINESS: Room is very clean.

A/C: Quickly and quietly would get the room cool.

STYLE OF ROOM: Standard hotel looking room, nothing special. There is very little natural light in the room since there were tiny windows and they couldn’t be opened unless you opened the doors that contained the windows.

COMMON AREA: Nice courtyard with a decent small pool.

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: Our room was next to a disco that played loud music most of the night. All morning light could be blocked with the shutter over the tiny windows.

FOOD: Breakfast is terrible. Cold precooked eggs, bad coffee, and a choice of corn flakes and decent granola with warm milk. Rice and beans were also provided.

TV/INTERNET: TV was of good size and had many English stations. There is wireless (not working at the time) and wired internet provided at no cost and is of average speed.

SERVICE: Staff were always very friendly and helpful.

SUMMARY: I checked out the Malinche which I thought had a nicer common area but people say the rooms are smaller. Gran Francisco also looked around just as nice. Casa San Francisco gets great TripAdvisor reviews but it was definitely the least impressive. I think that the Plaza Colon is a good place to stay but they lack the details to make it an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

First, let me say, Hotel Plaza Colon, thank you for a great stay we had with you a few weeks ago. Your hotel helped us have wonderful memories of Nicaragua.

Traveling with 3 young kids (12, 10, 7) can sometimes be difficult, but not at Plaza Colon.
1. They let all 5 of us use a single room, unlike many other hotels that required 2 rooms. It was one overlooking the Plaza, with a gorgeous balcony.
2. The facilities were lovely - what a nice swimming pool for the kids in the inside patio.
3. Can't say enough about the helpful staff - They were ready whenever we needed anything - laundry: they had it done for us same day for a reasonable price; van to San Jorge to get to Ometepe: a quick call and they had it arranged.
4. Breakfast was big and filling -- the standard breakfast you get everywhere around Nicaragua, eggs, Gallo y pinto, fruit (delicious fresh of all types), bread....
5. The business center is airconditioned and has internet access free. Hope you don't need it, but it's there and handy.

Only one thing -- and I would not call this a criticism as I face the same thing everywhere -- for the jet lagged morning person who needs a 4 or 5 a.m. cup of coffee, you will have a hard time in Granada. I had to take a walk down into the working streets where ladies start selling it from little thermoses they carry for about 25 cordobas (5 cents?). It is presweetened and already has milk, which I guess is there custom, but boy, it is caffeine when you need it. But, try to have exact change. If the hotel had one of those little coffee pots with some coffee, I'd have been in heaven. But, by 7 am, the hotel has their breakfast and coffee ready for everyone, so no biggy for the normal tourist.

Again, thank you Hotel Plaza Colon!
Roberto

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bermudacalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

Not much new to report other than what everyone else is saying. We stayed 3 nights at the Gran Francia, 2 nights at the Alhambra and 3 nights at the Plaza Colon. While all three are very nice hotels (hard to go wrong in Granada, what a great town) the Plaza Colon was the tops of the three places we stayed.

The breakfast gets a B-, but everything else was A++, especially the service. Definitely spring for a room with a huge balcony over looking the central park.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jdroberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

The location of the hotel was excellent, right on the main plaza. Our room was comfortable, modern and very clean. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed using the courtyard pool and we liked that the price included breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MaryChicago_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hey_spaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
705 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 45 in Granada
323 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#8 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £70 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing