We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in Granada”
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I, along with our thirteen year old nephew, stayed at the Hotel Plaza Colon for three nights from 1/23-1/26. We stayed in the suite, which I don't think has had much written about it. This was our first trip with our nephew, so the suite was perfect for us. It consists of three rooms and two bathrooms: two very similar bedrooms, both with a queen sized bed and each with its own bathroom, as well as a large living room with wet bar and refrigerator. There is also a large balcony overlooking the town plaza. The suite was spacious and extremely comfortable.

The employees of this hotel are wonderful: helpful, friendly, professional, and knowledgeable. Our nephew had a stomach bug for 24 hours and they could not have been more helpful and kind to us. They are also great about arranging tours, making restaurant recommendations, etc. One comment: we were very disappointed in the one restaurant we tried that was NOT on the list recommended by our hotel, and we feel we learned the hard way to stick to their recommendations, all of which were perfect.

Breakfast was amazing: made to order eggs plus a beautiful variety of hot dishes: oatmeal, bacon, sausage, potatoes, gallo pinto, tamales, guava french toast, etc. etc. Fresh fruit, juices, breads - it was really really nice.

There is a bar and a cafe on the main level. We visited both and enjoyed both. The pool and courtyard are beautiful and we swam every day.

We have stayed at other hotels in Grenada in the past and we found the Plaza Colon to have the best location and the nicest breakfast.

Comments about noise were surprising to me because the pool and courtyard side seemed very quiet and I did not find the plaza side to be loud at all - and I am a light sleeper. Honestly, no one should travel without earplugs or a white noise machine (we take both everywhere) but we didn't need them here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pattya557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Went there on our anniversary trip. Loved everything about it. Room was very nice. Loved the balcony overlooking Parque Central. All of the staff was very professional and helpful. Virginia and Carlos in particular made our trip so very easy. Breakfast was always very good good. Would be our first choice of hotels when we go back.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balcony overlooking Parque Central are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madman597782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My wife and I were with a group so I can't comment on the price. I can comment on the service which was very good. The reception staff spoke English and the breakfast staff spoke enough English so that guests could communicate effectively. The hotel is situated directly across from the central plaza and you can walk to anything. The rooms surround a nice outdoor courtyard with a large swimming pool in the middle. The rooms were comfortable and specious and included an outdoor area, some better than others depending on the location. The buffet breakfast, which included omelettes prepared by a chef, was good and eating breakfast around the pool in late January was especially nice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor facing the park have great balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Only opened in 2006, this grand hotel has an ideal location on the bustling square opposite the cathedral. Granada is a lovely colonial city which is far livelier and spruced up than its "rival" Leon. It feels like a parador with its 27 rooms round a central pool, where an excellent breakfast is served. The staff were first-class and spoke English, rooms large and well appointed, the beds vast and pillows divine. This was far and away the best hotel that we found in Central America. It does not have a restaurant but opposite down La Calzada is a street of open-air restaurants, cheap buzzy and delightful. Almost the best feature was the original Christmas tree of empty bottles on a tree-shaped frame illuminated from within, hilarious. Almost deserves 5 stars

Room Tip: balcony to view local life
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunstanrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband & I stay here 2-3 times per year when visiting family in Nicaragua. Biggest disappointment on this stay was pool was closed due to glass in the pool from a rowdy wedding party the night before. We cut our stay of 4-5 nights short after the one night due to no pool usuage for the next several days. I hope the owners charged the wedding party the loss incurred as at breakfast several guests spoke of their disappointment too over pool closure. I would suggest calling ahead to ensure pool fixed before committing to staying there.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bmwsalesgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICGranada, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Please receive my sincere apologies for the pool being closed for one and a half days after the wedding party happened (January 11th). Hotel Plaza Colón does not usually host big production events, and even though with this particular wedding we did our very best effort to prevent anything from getting in the pool the night of the party (the pool was completely covered with a stage), we underestimated how much fun our guests were going to have that night!

Once we realized there was glass in the pool, we proceeded to empty it as our guests' safety is paramount for us. We hope you will give us the opportunity to host you again. Whenever we host these types of events in the future, we will make sure to block a couple of days after the event to do the required damage control without affecting other guests' experience with us, lesson learned!

Warm regards from Granada!

Maria Isabel Canton
General Manager
Hotel Plaza Colón

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The location of this hotel is spectacular. It is opposite a beautiful cathedral and right in from of Central Park which is a hub of activity. Staff could not have been nicer...especially those that served breakfast...could not do enough. Nice little coffee shop right in front of the hotel. A nice size balcony that you could sit and watch the park while having a cocktail in the evening or a cup of delicious coffee in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms that surround the pool are lovely, however can be noisy at times
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had a short one night stay at the Plaza Colon in Granada. I would recommend getting a balcony room so that you may observe the busy plaza throughout the day. I enjoyed relaxing on the balcony with a glass of wine and watching all the vendors pack up at the end of the night. We could also hear the members of the Granada Catedral singing during mass at 6pm. The room was spacious and well appointed. Unfortunately we had to leave so early in the morning that we could not enjoy their breakfast. However, they did pack us a breakfast box to go including yoghurt, fruit, juice and coffee. Everyone in the hotel was very friendly and helpful. Although the plaza can be a bit noisy during the day, it got very quiet in the evening. If you don't enjoy seeing all the skinny horses pulling the carriages, then you may want to skip the balcony room. Apart from that it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdg1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#4 of 45 in Granada
713 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 45 in Granada
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#8 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £87 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing