We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Plaza Colon
Nearby Hotels
US$87
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Patio del Malinche(Granada)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$118
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Granada(Granada)
US$105
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casa Barcelona(Granada)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$77
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Padrino Hotel(Granada)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,128)
Filter reviews
1,128 results
Traveller rating
933
180
8
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
933
180
8
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge balconybalcony roombeautiful hotelbreakfast buffetmade to order eggsthe main squarecentral parkperfect locationpeople watchinghorse drawncourtyard poolcarriage ridewelcome drinkrental carcomfortable bedslight sleeperloved this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 1,128 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I, along with our thirteen year old nephew, stayed at the Hotel Plaza Colon for three nights from 1/23-1/26. We stayed in the suite, which I don't think has had much written about it. This was our first trip with our nephew, so the suite was perfect for us. It consists of three rooms and two bathrooms: two very similar bedrooms, both with a queen sized bed and each with its own bathroom, as well as a large living room with wet bar and refrigerator. There is also a large balcony overlooking the town plaza. The suite was spacious and extremely comfortable.

The employees of this hotel are wonderful: helpful, friendly, professional, and knowledgeable. Our nephew had a stomach bug for 24 hours and they could not have been more helpful and kind to us. They are also great about arranging tours, making restaurant recommendations, etc. One comment: we were very disappointed in the one restaurant we tried that was NOT on the list recommended by our hotel, and we feel we learned the hard way to stick to their recommendations, all of which were perfect.

Breakfast was amazing: made to order eggs plus a beautiful variety of hot dishes: oatmeal, bacon, sausage, potatoes, gallo pinto, tamales, guava french toast, etc. etc. Fresh fruit, juices, breads - it was really really nice.

There is a bar and a cafe on the main level. We visited both and enjoyed both. The pool and courtyard are beautiful and we swam every day.

We have stayed at other hotels in Grenada in the past and we found the Plaza Colon to have the best location and the nicest breakfast.

Comments about noise were surprising to me because the pool and courtyard side seemed very quiet and I did not find the plaza side to be loud at all - and I am a light sleeper. Honestly, no one should travel without earplugs or a white noise machine (we take both everywhere) but we didn't need them here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pattya557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Went there on our anniversary trip. Loved everything about it. Room was very nice. Loved the balcony overlooking Parque Central. All of the staff was very professional and helpful. Virginia and Carlos in particular made our trip so very easy. Breakfast was always very good good. Would be our first choice of hotels when we go back.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balcony overlooking Parque Central are very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madman597782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My wife and I were with a group so I can't comment on the price. I can comment on the service which was very good. The reception staff spoke English and the breakfast staff spoke enough English so that guests could communicate effectively. The hotel is situated directly across from the central plaza and you can walk to anything. The rooms surround a nice outdoor courtyard with a large swimming pool in the middle. The rooms were comfortable and specious and included an outdoor area, some better than others depending on the location. The buffet breakfast, which included omelettes prepared by a chef, was good and eating breakfast around the pool in late January was especially nice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor facing the park have great balconies.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Only opened in 2006, this grand hotel has an ideal location on the bustling square opposite the cathedral. Granada is a lovely colonial city which is far livelier and spruced up than its "rival" Leon. It feels like a parador with its 27 rooms round a central pool, where an excellent breakfast is served. The staff were first-class and spoke English, rooms large and well appointed, the beds vast and pillows divine. This was far and away the best hotel that we found in Central America. It does not have a restaurant but opposite down La Calzada is a street of open-air restaurants, cheap buzzy and delightful. Almost the best feature was the original Christmas tree of empty bottles on a tree-shaped frame illuminated from within, hilarious. Almost deserves 5 stars

Room Tip: balcony to view local life
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunstanrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband & I stay here 2-3 times per year when visiting family in Nicaragua. Biggest disappointment on this stay was pool was closed due to glass in the pool from a rowdy wedding party the night before. We cut our stay of 4-5 nights short after the one night due to no pool usuage for the next several days. I hope the owners charged the wedding party the loss incurred as at breakfast several guests spoke of their disappointment too over pool closure. I would suggest calling ahead to ensure pool fixed before committing to staying there.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bmwsalesgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICGranada, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Please receive my sincere apologies for the pool being closed for one and a half days after the wedding party happened (January 11th). Hotel Plaza Colón does not usually host big production events, and even though with this particular wedding we did our very best effort to prevent anything from getting in the pool the night of the party (the pool was completely covered with a stage), we underestimated how much fun our guests were going to have that night!

Once we realized there was glass in the pool, we proceeded to empty it as our guests' safety is paramount for us. We hope you will give us the opportunity to host you again. Whenever we host these types of events in the future, we will make sure to block a couple of days after the event to do the required damage control without affecting other guests' experience with us, lesson learned!

Warm regards from Granada!

Maria Isabel Canton
General Manager
Hotel Plaza Colón

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews