We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our experience with the hotel was amazing! Aside from the fact that the hotel was so beautiful, the staff was just fantastic. Everything we asked for, they had a ready answer and they really tried their best to fulfill our requests. They were always smiling and friendly, ready to help. The breakfast buffet spread was just spectacular. There were many choices and they were all sumptuous especially the Nacatamales. I will go back to Nicaragua for that! We were billeted at Room 102, which was right across the pool - very convenient for my kids and I. Weather was hot so we spent most of our time in the pool which the staff kept clean everyday. Our room was just beautiful. We were just raving about the decors and furniture, which was true to Granada's colonial style. We felt we hit a jackpot upon seeing it for the first time. We also liked the fact that the hotel is eco-conscious. Small notes were everywhere in the room on how we can contribute simply by not having to have towels and sheets changed everyday if not necessary.

The hotel also has a program for less-privileged students of a nearby public school. The hotel's guest relations rep, Virginia, helped us facilitate our school supplies donations with the school. This program of the hotel is one important factor why we chose to stay in this this hotel.

If and when we go back to Granada, we will definitely stay here again. We have been recommending it to our friends since we've gone home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lenix406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Loved, loved, loved this hotel! Huge modern rooms that were immaculate. We were on the second floor so we had our own balcony. The staff was so friendly and the food was delicious. The pool was a life saver in that crazy Nicaraguan heat. The hotel was centrally located to everything there is to see in Granada. Definitely worth it!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coppertop667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location of this hotel on the main square can not be beat. I really enjoyed the balcony overlooking the main square. The rooms were also very spacious and nice. The staff were awesome and answered all of my numerous questions, in particular Victor was very helpful. The breakfast they had was amazing, I got to try something new every day. I think my only complaint and it is not anything the hotel can do anything about, but there are a lot of birds that next in the trees in the main plaza and like clock work every day a half hour before sunrise they start making a lot of noise. Just a word of caution if you are a light sleeper like I am.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madtaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here at the end of April 2014 for 2 nights. We loved it. We had a ground floor room in the back left corner and whilst smallish and slightly dark, it was beautifully finished and very clean. The rest of the hotel was lovely though -great pool and loungers (you need it as Granada is very hot), lots of other seating areas and a cool bar/reception. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. The best thing was the location though, being right on the main square and a short walk to the best bars/places to eat. Staff were exceptionally friendly and they helped organise tours and a taxi from Managua to the hotel on a Friday evening (very safe). I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this.

Room Tip: We didn't look at them but a first floor room is probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MILROYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were able to book a night here at the last minute on our way down to Ometepe Island. It lived up to our expectations of being a charming, nice colonial hotel right in central park. There is a beautiful pool, but keep in mind that a courtyard pool in a colonial city only has about 1 hour of full sun each day. Breakfast was a delicious buffet, but I will say it was Easter Sunday, so perhaps the spread isn't usually so grand. I would be surprised if it's that nice every day, though. Like almost every nice place in Central America, kids are not the target audience but are completely welcome. The room was huge and I was able to get a cot and a crib...although they did charge me around 25$ for the cot. Overall, great place!

Room Tip: It's on central park, people. Choose pool/interior facing if you don't want street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julielizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This lovely hotel is in the centre of Granada on the square and overlooking the large impressive cathedral. Our room was huge and we had a large balcony where we could watch the comings and goings in the Plaza. My only complaint would be the size of the bathroom which was tiny. The swimming pool is well maintained and spotlessly clean. Breakfast is served by the pool and was excellent. The hotel has a bar but no restaurant but there are many good quality ones within easy walking distance. Felt very safe walking around Granada at night.
We loved it here and the staff were helpful and friendly and the majority spoke excellent English. Granada is a busy colourful city and this hotel is charming.

Room Tip: We had a room in the front which we didn't find noisy once the doors were closed. it was lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our first two nights in a Granada, we stayed two nights in a very nice, highly-rated hotel a bit further from the centre. For the next two nights, we stayed at Hotel Plaza Colón. We preferred Hotel Plaza Colón by a significant margin.

This hotel is certainly punching above its weight.

The staff were superb — really helpful. They remembered our names, helped with arranging a tour, rental car exchange, directions, etc. (Carlos and Nelson, and the front desk staff esp.)

Great location on the Central Park, but we were not disturbed by the city noise.

We had a rental car and there was free parking right behind the hotel.

The pool is not large but nicely maintained and pleasant for a dip.

Buffet breakfast (included) is served from 7:00 until 10:00 am and gets high marks for variety and quality and service.

We liked the room: nice linens, great AC (which we didn't have to use all the time because of the ceiling fan and thick walls), pleasant furnishing, clean, well-stocked bathroom with lots of hot water, minibar with reasonable prices, two free bottles of water and purified drinking water for refills available in the business centre and bar.

All these points combine to create a very special hotel with a tranquil and welcoming ambience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#9 of 45 in Granada
667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#4 of 45 in Granada
719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#8 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £85 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing