We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel - highly recommended”
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 February 2010

My new husband and I stayed at the Plaza Colon for a week as part of our honeymoon, and we loved it. You couldn’t not beat its location – right on the main square. The bell boys were friendly and helpful (the receptionist staff less so). The room was amazing, from this site we knew to ask for a balcony room, and we did not regret it – it was wonderful sitting out there and watching the hustle and bustle. The swimming pool is beautiful, and most of the time no-one else used it.

Granada is a wonderful place to spend time, we were there a week and could have spent longer – there is the beach, the museums, the churches, La Isletas, nearby volcanoes, the market, and it is a wonderful place to sit and watch the world go by.

I agree about the previous comments about the showers, but it is a small negative point when there are so many other reasons to recommend it.

We were there over Christmas and it was a wonderful experience – the local celebrations as well as the fantastic concert the hotel put on for guests. I felt very grateful to be part of something so special.

Go to Granada, and stay at Plaza Colon – you won’t regret either decision!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmazed68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,049)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

825 - 831 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2010

As far as Granada's high-end hotels go, this is the best. Given the choice between the Plaza Colon and the Dario, the Plaza Colon is tops in most categories, particularly for the romantic quality of the hotel and its outstanding staff, such as the bell-boy, Nelson. A balcony room is a must. The balcony, shared or private, overlooking the square "makes" this hotel. The courtyard and pool are beautiful and the breakfasts are as good as one would expect from any 5 star hotel. And despite the power outages, which are frequent in Granada, this hotel is the first place in town to have its own back-up power running.

If there is room for improvement for the Plaza Colon, it begins with the lack of hot water in the showers regardless of time of day. The front desk should also be able to change large Cordoba notes into small bills and provide currency exchange services at the same rates as those provided by licensed exchange agents on the street (better than the banks or ATMs). It would also be helpful for the hotel to provide arriving guests with a guide to the better restaurants and bars in town and where to find the best local vendor foods such as vigaron, nacatamales and cosquillos. A hotel of this level shouldn't lack hot water or an active, rather than passive, concierge service.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradymsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We stayed 2 nights at this Hotel upon our arrival to Nicaragua. The ambiance, rooms, staff, location, and breakfast were all really great! However, there is one potential caveat: Although we loved the very fact, some travelers might want to be advised that there is a cultural center next door which also hosts concerts and parties (including music bands). So, if you are staying in one of the rooms facing the side street, be prepared for some occasional Latin music at night while staying there :) - My wife and I considered it being part of the ambiance and were serenaded nicely into our sleep...

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank JoeMitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

The hotel is on the square and within walking distance to restaurants and tour company offices. The rooms with balconies give you a wonderful vantage point from which to observe the daily activities of the town. We were there right before the Christmas holiday and it was very noisy with parades, vendors and fireworks. I'm not sure how it would be in another time of year. The staff were very helpful and spoke English very well.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hughesnetWesternMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

We stopped in at the Hotel Plaza Colon without a reservation in late December and managed to get a room for six nights. Though the highly lauded front balcony rooms were all booked, we liked our spacious, clean, second-floor room a lot. It included a comfortable king bed, excellent air conditioning, a fan, dresser, safe, small refrigerator, huge closet, desk, plasma TV with myriad cable channels, good lighting and plenty of hot water. The hotel provided two free bottles of drinking water daily. There was a smell, kind of like sewer gas, in the bathroom, but it went away when we ran the fan. The room had no windows, which was fine with us and helped with the quiet ambiance. Usually we only use a room to sleep in, but Granada's heat brought us back to the hotel each afternoon for an hour or two and we especially appreciated the room's spaciousness and comfort at that time.

An extra bonus is membership in the PURE Fitness Center while a guest. The center is about a 10-minute walk from the hotel. We never had time to use the center but we did check it out -- exercise equipment, fitness and Yoga classes, massage, etc. We would definitely had used the facility if our schedule had permitted this.

Breakfast is included in the room rate and is served buffet style in the courtyard by the immaculate swimming pool. During our stay, they offered rice and beans, scrambled eggs, pancakes, ham, coffee and tea, two kinds of fresh fruit juice, a variety of fresh fruits (watermelon, pineapple, papaya), granola, cereals and yogurt. Unappealing white dinner rolls, which could be toasted, were also available.

The hotel's location is excellent -- right on the main square, facing the cathedral. It has a wine bar but no restaurant. There are myriad places to eat nearby.

The staff spoke excellent English, were always friendly and upbeat and provided outstanding service. Kudos to Donald, Carlos and Freddy for all their help throughout our stay. In addition, a Christmas party was held for guests early in the evening on Dec. 24. This included refreshments and entertainment and was very much appreciated. A big "thank you" to whomever arranged the event.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

We loved this hotel. Since we were travelling with our sons (ages 14 and 11), we stayed in a suite - which was essentially 2 rooms connected by a large sitting area. The rooms each had a balcony overlooking the park. The rooms were perfect - comfortable and lovely. The hotel pool was inviting after a day of walking around the city or visiting las isletas. Breakfasts were also good. The staff was incredibly accomodating and helpful. But the absolute best part was sitting on the balcony each afternoon watching the fascinating street theater which is the parque central. All in all a terrific place.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emannobro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2009

Before booking our stay at the Hotel Plaza Colon, I researched every hotel in Granada. I like to be very thorough. After reading reviews and speaking to some locals that I know, we ended up here. It was absolutely a fantastic stay from start to finish. First, when booking, I was a little frightened about giving my credit card info before the stay through email/fax. No worries there - everything is on the up and up with this hotel. I specifically requested a park view balcony room and would not recommend anything else. Whatever the (small) extra charge is, it is worth every penny. Through my initial interactions with the hotel, I requested that they arrange my transportation to the hotel from MGA. That was the best decision we could have made! They booked us through Paxeos and we were met as soon as we got off the plane with a representative holding a sign with our name. They guided us through customs, getting our luggage, and got us right into a vehicle with our driver. We were in and out in less than 10 minutes. Also, having not been to this airport before, it is not like your American airport with large stations for shuttles or other things. So, definitely have the hotel arrange this for you!

Upon arrival, our bags were immediately unloaded for us and taken to our room which was ready. The room was spacious and opened directly onto the Parque. This was the most exquisite view and you really got a sense for the culture from just sitting out on the balcony and relaxing. The balcony is shared with the room next to you, and you also share a sitting area with them. So, if you are getting two rooms, you would have an amazing suite! The bed was very comfortable and everything was very clean. Two bottles of complementary water were included with the room.

Quality of sheets and towels was about what I expected for Nicaragua. We had no issues with bugs or any issues with theft. The staff greeted us and they were so friendly and eager to help throughout our stay.

For breakfast, it is included. We walked downstairs and saw a buffet of fresh fruit, cereal & milk, orange juice, and coffee and thought - hmmm, not much of a breakfast. BUT, once we sat down, a waiter came over and offered us a choice of American breakfast (eggs/meat/toast), Nica breakfast (eggs/biscuit/beans), or pancakes. I had the Nica and my husband had the pancakes and both were phenomenal!!!! Really great breakfast and you eat outside in the courtyard which is lovely.

We ate at El Zaguan for dinner (as it seems many tourists do). My husband had the Nica platter with the most amazing steak. Seriously, we go to very nice steak restaurants all the time and this was cheap, tender, delicious steak. I was very impressed. I had the tortilla soup which was delicious. The restaurant is cheap for American standards and it was fun. However, the waitstaff struggles with English, so know some Spanish to go there. Try a Tona, it's the local beer!

I asked the hotel if they knew anything about massage and they told me they could have a lady come to my room. $25 for 60 minutes. No problem! She was about 15 minutes late and it was a much different massage style than I am used to, but for the price, it was a nice thing to do before touring the city.

Go to the Hotel Alhambra and ask for Orvin. He runs tours of various things and he took us on an amazing tour of Las Isletas. I didn't think it was going to be that exciting, but a monkey jumped in our boat, we saw all these beautiful houses, and he had tons of stories about all of them. It was $25 per person for about 2 hours, including transportation from the hotel to the docks and the boat ride.

Also, definitely do the carriage ride in front of the hotel - don't let them talk you into spending more than $20 however. You are considered "rich" if you stay in this hotel (it is the nicest and one of the newest ones in Granada) so they will up their prices...

Finally, the wine bar downstairs. This is a really nice touch as you can sit downstairs outside and have a glass of wine and a snack/dessert or you can get wine to bring up to your room. Either way, don't miss taking a timeout to relax and do some people watching!!!!

We had no problems with hot water or power outages. If these are common, we didn't know. We had satellite TV and free wireless internet as well.

We had nothing bad to say about this hotel and would definitely return in the future. Keep in mind you are in Granada so nothing is really "luxury" per se, but this was really a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicoleandKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#6 of 45 in Granada
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
708 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#7 of 45 in Granada
323 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#8 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £73 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing