We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
86 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

I have no complaints about Hotel Plaza Colon. Very good location right on the main square. It is not a luxury hotel but it was clean, bed was comfortable, and hot water worked. I don't remember the wifi internet working if they were supposed to have it. Staff was helpful in arranging taxi back to airport. Good experience overall.

Didn't have a balcony room -- had a room facing the back/side and it was fine with a little bit of natural light from a high window, but no real view outside. The main square isn't really all the picturesque in my opinion anyway -- lots of souvenir stalls, etc., so I don't think a view of it is essential.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STLvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    154
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
241
419
66
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bayville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

I have just returned from my first trip to Nicaragua, San Juan del sur, Ometepe and Granada. My home for 3 nights in Granada was the Hotel Plaza Leon - and what a home it was! We had a balcony room on the second floor, overlooking the park. The room was ENORMOUS and comfortable. The balcony was equally large, and provided what has to be the best hotel views in the city - the Cathedral, and the acitvities on Parque Central. The Hotel is stunning - understated elegance, well appointed rooms and public areas, and a refreshing pool. The included breakfast, served by the pool between 7 and 10 am, was delicious. The staff- I cant say enough about how great they all are. Two standouts, Freddy (my tocayo - go Mets!) and Carlos, are absolute gems. The location is perfect, right in front of the Park. Even though I was there over a weekend, the nights were quiet, and sleep came easily in the comfortable beds, and lightproof rooms. There is no question where I will be staying on my next trip to Granada.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fm11709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times over a period of three weeks during our last vacation. This hotel is clean, safe and the staff are great. The rooms are large and the location is excellent. I would not hesitate recommending this hotel to anyone.

The staff found out that whilst we were there it was my sons birthdat and they even got a surprise birthday cake and sung Happy Birthday! What a treat.

Thankyou all at Plaza Colon.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank v11rah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

We just got back from Granada, and were 100% happy with the Hotel Plaza Colon. The staff (especially Freddy at the front desk) were incredibly helpful and friendly, and the rooms were spacious, clean, and well appointed. Everyone from the cleaning staff to the front desk staff to the people working at the cafe was smiling and cheerful at all times. Although the park can get loud and a bit crazy at times, the hotel always felt like a nice oasis - especially with the brand new air conditioning units that kept the room at a comfortable 19 degrees celsius. The pool area was beautiful, and never crowded. Also, the free breakfast was very solid - especially the gallo pinto. Mmmm. As others have mentioned, make sure you ask for a room that faces the Central Park...the balconies on that side are much nicer and make for better people-watching.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbarrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

This was my first trip to Nicaragua and it could not have started any better than arriving at the Hotel Plaza Colon. The staff were very friendly and helpful...their english was WAY better than my spanish...and therefore they very patient too! The rooms were big and clean. The pool in the courtyard was a great oasis from the heat. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. It was a great stay and I'd recommend it to everyone!

Chris from Toronto

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CGpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

We recently stayed in the Plaza Colon and enjoyed the experience. We arrived in the midst of some trouble caused by a taxi strike and the hotel staff went out of their way to make us feel secure and allowed us to change our booking without charge. We came back to Granada at the end of our holiday in Nicaragua when the situation was more stable and had a good time staying at the Plaza Colon.

The hotel has a fantastic location (right on the main square) and in my view is nicer than the other hotels in that part of town. The quality of the rooms is good (flat screen tv, good AC, hardwood floors etc.). The hotel staff are extremely friendly and helped us organise various tours and activities.

Granada is a lovely city and this hotel is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJBNKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

This hotel is excellent in all ways. Decided to go to Granada for our birthdays vacation and get married at the same time. This was the icing on the cake. The wedding party was very small, but the staff, and especially Srta.Maria Isabel, the manager, went out of their way to arrange everything and make our stay so romantic and memorable. The ceremony was held at dusk around the courtyard pool which they had decorated with candles and white flowers. Srta.Maria Isabel had arranged a hairdresser, lawyer to perform the ceremony, wedding cake, buffet, champagne, wine, photographer, and musicians. A great vacation and a wonderful place to get married.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atlanta_GAMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#1 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.3 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Property: Hotel Plaza Colon
Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing