We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with lovely pool.”
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Great a/c. Beautiful rooms. Great staff. Heart of the city. Good breakfast. Hard beds. They forgot to buy the boxspring so woke each morning with an aching back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pokey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,042)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Plaza Colon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

795 - 801 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a week. We had an amazing time. The hotel itself is the nicest in the city of Grenada hands down, amazinglying mainatined- only about 20 some rooms and there are 5 people cleaning the hotel at all times so it is always clean and in tip top shape. The rooms themselves are like an oasis when you come back from exploring the city or a long day of hiking, they have quite air conditioners and comfromtable beds. Then every morning you wake up to breakfast by the pool which is severed with a smile a every day a different fresh fruit juice. The best [part of the hotel though is the staff who are amazingly friendly and helpful. They arranged priavte tours for us almost everyday to do extacly what we wanted to do and made helpful suggestions of what to do. We always had great tour guides from them and they really made an effort to make our stay special. I can not wait to get a chance to go back

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seamonster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

The hotel is pretty and superbly maintained. My room was comfortable in size, beautiful furniture, and everything was in working conditions. Not a big hotel ambiance but a guest house. Nice small pool to cool off after walking around town. No noise observed during my night stay. Upper rooms are probably better in terms of noise control. Hotel staff very helpful but they lack of knowledge to set up tours. You are better off walking across the park next to the cathedral to set your own tours with agencies. Overall, great location, friendly staff, superb rooms and great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raquelina10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Beautifully restored colonial hotel in the heart of Granada. Great location across from central plaza - yet a peaceful oasis in the midst of the bustling town center. Very clean, spacious and well equipped rooms with nice outdoor common areas. The staff was exceptional. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Subject: Hotel Plaza Colon
Location: Granada, Nicaragua, Central America
Title: Beautiful & Charming Hotel
ID#: 68456471

Hotel Plaza Colon is a beautiful hotel. The employees are lovely and helpful. They have deluxe rooms overlooking the plaza with huge balconies to sit out on and watch the flow of life in the plaza. The rate for the deluxe room is $106.00/night including taxes and breakfast.
Breakfast is fine but not fancy....eggs with pinto gallo (traditional rice w/ red beans) toast, fresh fruit and fresh juice. The deluxe rooms are huge and have beautiful wood. There is also a sparkling clean swimming pool. It is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patagonia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Hotel Plaza Colon was amazing. The staff was very attentive and helpful in suggesting restaurants, giving directions and providing coordination of tours in Granada. My husband and I loved our room; it was very spacious, well decorated and clean. The courtyard was beautiful in the evenings with the lights and the pool. The only thing that did not blow me away was the breakfast. Some days they did buffet style, with limited choices, and others days you could order what you wanted. It was not that the food was bad, but rather the lack of choices during breakfast buffet. Other than that, I can’t wait to come back with friends!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsmart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

I stayed at Hotel Plaza Colon for three at the end of May 2010. What a wonderful place......Location, location,location.The day staff was very helpful and friendly, the free breakfast was ok, but it's free. the coffee was excellent.What a lovely room I had a room
with a veranda. This is a place i'll stay in again

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZGIRL1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
705 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 45 in Granada
323 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#8 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £70 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing