We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing friendly staff defines the experience”
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 November 2010

yes the location is perfect and the rooms are clean. but what makes this place special are the staff, who (seemingly) enjoy their jobs and love visitors. a great vibe.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sculty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2010

Wonderful hotel, great location. Staff was helpful and friendly. I was quickly upgraded (without asking) to a better room when the lock on my door didn't work properly. The internet (both wifi and in the business center) didn't work one of the days I was there, but I don't think it was just the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Hotel Plaza Colon was clean with nice large bathrooms. The ambiance was wonderful -lots of plants and the beautiful courtyard with a pool and tables for breakfast and lounging. Beds were alittle hard - but that was ok with me. Staff was very friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy1456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

My Wife and I recently spent three nights at the Hotel Plaza Colon during our vacation to Nicaragua and I must say that I could not have been more pleased. The hotel is housed in a beautifully restored Spanish Colonial House overlooking Plaza Colon. My wife and I loved sitting on our balcony and sipping coffee in the morning as the city awakened in front of us. I was slightly concerned that the central location would be loud at night, but it really quiets down after about 8:30p and we didn't have any problems sleeping. The best part, though, was the wonderfully accommodating staff that went out of their way to make our vacation enjoyable. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmcgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We have stayed in Granada several times at different hotels, and Hotel Plaza Colon is our favorite. Very friendly and helpful staff, immaculate rooms with lots of charm, nice pool, delicious breakfast included, ideal location right on the square. Air conditioning and hot water (not always available in Nicaraguan hotels). North American standards with Nicaraguan style and charm.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicaSpouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We have traveled to over 70 countries, the Plaza Colon easily makes our top 5 list worldwide. We give this hotel 6 stars! We chose Plaza Colon in Granada because of the relatively close proximity to the international airport, about 45 minutes, and to avoid staying in the Managua area which isn't very nice. The Plaza Colon also had a Dollar rental car desk so we were able to pickup a rental vehicle leaving Granada. This was extremely efficient and convenient.

Joan, who handled our reservation, was quite prompt and efficient through email, answered any questions, arranged airport transfer and referred us to the Dollar rental agent at Plaza Colon for direct rental car reservations.

We arrived the hotel late at night and the staff checked us in and got us settled quickly. The hotel is very beautiful, well maintained and in a great location on the central plaza with a view of the cathedral. We had room 205, as reserved, wonderful large room with two queen beds, minibar, and massive deck overlooking plaza/cathredal. The beds were very comfortable with many pillows and a/c worked great. There were about 6 other rooms with the same view and large decks. I would highly recommend requesting one of these rooms, they are the best in the hotel. Manuel, Carlos and the rest of the staff were outstanding and provided exceptional service. Anything we needed was provided quickly and with a beaming smile. They helped with restaurant recommendations, area sights, etc. The breakfast, which is included in the price, was excellent. Plaza Colon is a 1st class hotel to international standards. We just can't say enough great things about this hotel. We do hope to return soon, if for no other reason but to just stay at this wonderful hotel and just chill out. We thank all the staff at Plaza Colon for our very memorable stay and wish them all well and hope to see them soon. Many thanks again.

Mary Ann and Ron

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Passthescotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

The Hotel was beautifully decorated, the rooms were sparkling clean, a/c great, hotel staff was so friendly and helpful, directing us to reputable services and interesting things to do in Granada. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gizzdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#9 of 45 in Granada
667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#4 of 45 in Granada
719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#8 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £85 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing