We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, safe, charming & comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kekoldi Granada
Ranked #9 of 69 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2011

we found this to be a perfect place for us to stay, the perfect distance from the central square to have quiet and feel safe parking our car. if you're a light sleeper you are at the mercy of the courtesy of other guests, as the windows to each room face luscious courtyards. the shared areas for breakfast and lounging are lovely, with shady hammock and chirping birds. Breakfast is mediocre (no gallo tinto) but adequate, and this place well makes up for the value with luxuries such as in room a/c, clean towels changed daily, hot water showers round-the-clock, and decent pillows.

Room Tip: Let them know if you are a light sleeper, that you need a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecovixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed at the Kekoldi in 2007 and thoroughly enjoyed it, so it was easy to choose our hotel when we returned this summer. Again, we weren't disappointed.

The Kekoldi is single storey, and built around a central courtyard and garden area. The rooms are well furnished, have good beds, and a/c. Original modern art on the walls is a nice classy touch. Bathrooms are fine, showers hot.

Breakfast is provided in a little covered area at the back of the hotel garden. Whilst breakfast is included (inc rice and beans) an charge is levied for extras like eggs. I'd say charging for eggs is a little trivial, but it's a minor niggle really.

The hotel staff are friendly. English is spoken if your Spanish is limited.

The hotel is about 3 blocks (5 minutes walk, tops) from the Parque Central/plaza, so pretty central in terms of the city's sights and amenities - although Granada is small enough to be walkable anyway and feels pretty safe, too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This hotel is a few blocks from the main square, but we found it a nice two to three block walk to all the activities. Friendly staff and very clean. Price was also great value. We were in a small room the first night, but we asked for a bigger room and got it. Breakfast is included, but not great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

As my first time travelling solo i was a bit worried about quite a few things. From even before i left home i had a good felling about this place- email corresponance was immediate and wheni arrived late at night the staff were so si friendly. The hotel itseñf has these beautiful gardens, great breakfasts, a fantastic friendly team, the can organise the best tours in nica for you, the bed was super comfortable and they had wifi...plus its incredible valye for money being how close it is to parque central...great hotel- def enjoyed my stay

Room Tip: Def recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dtrain2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Very nice hotel rooms need a coat off paint but clean, Very pleasant and helpful staff. Would come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ians5541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed at this hotel 4 years ago, which was really nice and clean. However, we stayed this year and the place has not been well kept. There were ants on the walls and tiny spider- like- bugs on top of the sheets. When we let the staff know of the problem their solution was that they were going to spray more Raid in the room.
The sheets in one of the rooms we stayed were dirty (I feel like they don't change sheets in between customers stay----my opinion)
Whenever we needed extra towels, the staff seemed bother by it.
In one of the rooms the AC did not work and I had to wake up every hour to turn it on.
As far as other services such as exchanging currency the staff was courteous and friendly
The breakfast was excellent with Gallo Pinto every morning.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beba2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granadakekoldi, Owner at Hotel Kekoldi Granada, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2011

We really appreciate all our client´s suggestions and complaints since we use them to improve our services, however there are situations out of our reach. In the tropics ants and other insects are attracted when food rests or any type of cookies etc are left openly in the room. That has happened here. The Raid was the most practical and quick solution, nevertheless it was not the only thing we did to solve the problem. We use to fumígate all our hotel every three moths in order to keep the cleanliness and hygiene. The next day we called the company which usually comes every three month (they came just two weeks ago) in order to control the problem.

The proper function of A/C depends very much on how it is used. It will work fine if doors and windows are shut and not if guests leave the door always open like they did.

Our sheets are always changed when our customers check out and in between every second day or even every day depending on the usage. If people put food or feet on the sheets of course we cannot guarantee the cleanliness after having cleaned up and left the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

If you like your hotels on the charming and simple side - as I do - then you'll love Hotel Kekoldi. With two single beds, our room was tiny - but so perfect that I refused to move into more spacious premises that were offered the day after we arrived. Why leave room #11, with its own little garden out front, situated beside a sitting area that features two hammocks? It was THE perfect location to enjoy a cool evening beer. Breakfast was delicious (gallo pinto, bread, fruit, yogurt and some cereal if desired) and the highlight was fresh starfruit picked impromptu by an employee who shimmied up the tree when we wondered if the fruit was ripe.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanniestiglic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 45 in Granada
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
708 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 45 in Granada
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,049 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 45 in Granada
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kekoldi Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kekoldi Granada

Address: Calle El Consulado No. 315 | 350 meters west of Central Park, Granada 43000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: £41 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kekoldi Granada 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kekoldi of Granada is a luminous,well ventilated and modern hotel, located in the heart of the oldest city of the American Continent, which provides its costumers with an atmosphere of a fusion between the traditional Grenadian elements with the art of our natives, resulting in an architecture with colonial shades and an esthetic design developed by the renowned nicaraguan artist Robert Barberena de la Rocha, who has unified the grenadian colonial elements with the art of indigenous people of Central America, which can be easily seen in the mosaics, scenary and other details present in the decoration of rooms and the rest areas of the hotel. Kekoldi will indulge you with the excepcional Nicaraguan hospitality & invite you to enjoy the delicious buffet style breakfast. Enjoy our Gorgeous Sunsets in our exotic garden or next to our outdoor pool, which is an ideal relaxation venue to take cover from our granada tropical weather. We make available to you, our sixteen rooms which include private bathrooms, hot water, queens beds, cable TV, Personal Safe, Air Conditioned,hair dryer, Wireless Internet Thru the entire Hotel Grounds & a capacity to Lodge up to fifty people in rooms that are single, doubles, triples & quadruple sharing queen beds, all of the rooms are design to provide you with cozy and restful atmosphere and adorn with harmonious decorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kekoldi Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing