We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good base...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kekoldi de Granada
Ranked #9 of 66 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
335 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“A good base...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Spent 6 nights here in single room with aircon. Room a little small but functional and cleaned daily. No hot water. The double rooms looked much more spacious. Pool and breakfast included but a little limited. Wifi worked well and staff very helpful and pleasant. $45pm not cheap but maybe reflective of Granada. Currently advertising $25 pn for single rooms with fan...plus taxes. 4 block walk into park central but a safe and easy stroll. Computer also available. Secure building although some shifts tended to lock the front door with reception unmanned so sometimes a wait to get back in..but I guess no one else was wandering thru either. Power black out last day saw building without power for 10 hours (so no back up generator) although admittedly the whole town blacked out for the last 3 hours of that. A good option if you can get it at the right price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    66
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
47
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Hotel Kekoldi was only about 3 blocks away from the Tica Bus stop...but the taxi driver took us the long way so that was our first introduction to Granada. We arrived late and so we needed to take a cab rather than wander the streets with our packs. Our welcome started getting better as soon as we arrived at Hotel Kekoldi. The staff was welcoming and the place is immaculate. The rooms were ample size and the bathroom in our room was huge! There is a nice entry plus a place where you can exchange books...which I really appreciate. They also supplied a computer which we were happy to use. Breakfasts were very appetizing with lots of variety. This hotel is about 4 blocks from the Plaza Centrale in Granada and it was quiet and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsy_chacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Had a wonderfull time in Granada. Staff was helpful and they supplied us with a great friendly driver that would take us around for a comfortable fee! The breakfast buffet which is includes was amazing and aboundant! It was an awsome spread with lots of tropical fruits and also their native food. Yummmmy! Great value for your buck!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirna33126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent two nights at Kekoldi Granada. This German owned hotel is centrally located (5 minutes from Tica Bus as well as 5 minutes from Parque Central), easy to find, and served our needs very well: Hot shower with enough pressure, clean bathroom, comfy mattress, normal sized rooms, quiet, helpful staff, free and fast wifi. The breakfast buffet is basic, but serves for a good start into a day of walking and exploring. The nice inner courtyard is a great oasis for some down time and reading. We have seen quite a variety of accomodations in Central America and think Kekoldi is worth its price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebas0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
278 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Kekoldi is a nice medium priced hotel (I don't think its a budget place, budget place to me is for 20-25 USD a night). The reception gives you somewhat old times colonial feeling, even thought the rest is quite normal and modern. Rooms are clean and well equipped. There is a really pretty backyard garden with some “hamacas” chairs and tables to hang out. The wi-fi reaches almost all rooms except for the last two in the garden but there is also one computer you can use free of charge. Location is very good about 3 blocks from the main square, but on a street that is calm. The breakfast that they advertise and that is “included” in the price was not so impressive. It was actually just some basic stuff (coffee, cornflakes, bread, butter and jam) and if you wanted eggs, you had to pay extra. I thought that was a little strange. But generally speaking, it is a nice place and a good hotel that I would not have a problem to return to.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

It's a little hard to find option online when trying to book a hotel in Granada, this hotel was one we found, and we gave it a chance, the room was extremely small, there was just enough space for you to walk around the bed and that was it, there were bad smells coming from the bathroom sink and the water was not actually warm. It's has a good location and it seemed to be pretty safe though, breakfast is included and it was ok.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alenscr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerofKekoldis, Propietario at Hotel Kekoldi de Granada, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
I really don´t know what did upset you so much to write two negative reviews. When you reserved I sent you an email and told you that it was our last room with one Queen bed and you answered that it was ok. You stayed during Semana Santa and no decent hotel has any rooms available as we were booked out too. Right, the room is small, has A/C, TV, is right in the garden and has all the amenities like the other rooms. There are no funny smells, I checked and I can assure you that this is not true. If you found another hotel during your stay which offered you breakfast and swimming pool, please let me know which one and what their asking price was and I will gladly refund you the difference to the $47 you paid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Not that anything is really that expensive here but Hotel Kekoldi is a quiet refuge near the city center. I would agree with the observations of the fellow reviewers here. The facility and rooms are well maintained and clean. The breakfast is limited, but save your Cordobas and appetite for lunch and dinner. Free WiFi is solid with 1.16 down and 0.75 up (Mb/s).

The rooms are set back from the street so road noise is not a issue. The hotel only has 12 rooms of which I believe only 3 others were occupied during our 3 day stay here. If there was going to be a noise issue then it would be from fellow guests being inconsiderate coming or going as the tile floors and concrete walls would throw the noise into the rooms off the main central corridor. As it was I had the best night sleep here in quite awhile. The firm beds and clean sheets complemented the quiet tranquility of this oasis.

I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalTico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#14 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kekoldi de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kekoldi de Granada

Property: Hotel Kekoldi de Granada
Address: Calle El Consulado No. 315 | 350 meters west of Central Park, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kekoldi de Granada 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 3 blocks away from the Central Park. Beautiful architecture, a private garden and an all over design developed by well known Nicaraguan artist. Twelve beautiful rooms, all with private baths with hot water, A/C, Queen Size beds and Cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kekoldi de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing