We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet and close to square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kekoldi Granada
Ranked #9 of 63 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“quiet and close to square”
Reviewed 29 January 2011

We arrived at the hotel after a very long day of messed up shuttles and border crossings..when we arrived at the Kekoldi the girl at the desk was very pleasant but told us our rooms were not the rooms we booked and that they were very small as they had a huge tour group and would place in our proper rooms the next day..we were not at all glad about it but hey we were tired and she was very nice ..the next day they moved both couples to their new rooms and they were wonderful large comfortable rooms...at 42 dollars a night with breakfast you could not find a better deal. The hotel is 3 blocks from the main square so walking is very easy and yet at night it is so peacful beacuse your three blocks away from the square..when we checked out there was a discount on our rooms due to the first night confusion..excellent service, breakfast was good and the rooms were spotless with good pillows and clean comfortable sheets and beds..I would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winewine101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    68
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
48
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2011

$20 per night is a great deal for this place. The bedrooms are nice with pretty mosaics on the wall. The bathroom is not only clean but it's NICE and has hot water (which apparently not every hotel in Nicaragua has.) There is a computer with internet for guests to use. The employees are SUPER helpful and friendly - i.e. they suggested places to visit and eat, they held our passports for us in a safe, they sold us waters and sodas even when we didn't have exactly enough change, they booked us our next hotel when we couldn't find a place with availability, they gave us a wake-up call exactly when we asked for.

Also, the breakfast buffet was delicious and free!

The hotel is about a 3 block walk from le parque centrale. Definitely a good location and a steal compared to Hotel Alhambra etc. Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarastins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

The front desk people are great! Very friendly and helpful. They try to speak English and will help you with your Spanish. They arranged tours, provided a map of Granada and were wonderful embassadors.
The rooms were spacious, comfortable and very clean. The bed was firm and comfortable and we were given a password to use the WiFi.
It was very convenient to everything you would want to see or visit in Granada and we felt very safe and secure.
This was a cross between and hotel and a hostel, as the courtyard in the back seemed a place for travellers to commune.
The food was adequate - to be expected for this type of accommodation.
I would stay here again - in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We thought the price and location were good for this property. All of the staff we came in contact with were very friendly and the rooms were very clean (I even saw them lift the beds to mop under).

We had a couple of issues that did not ruin the stay but caused small problems - on arrival the AC unit was turned on but the setting was incorrect - we took a snooze and woke to a still hot room. The staff then corrected it while we were out for a meal (the remote is bolted to the wall). Also, the hot water was not turned on in our room. We inquired about it with staff and it was corrected but then throughout the remainder of our stay, sometimes it would work and other times not.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wldtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Overall Hotel Kekoldi is a lovely place to stay. It's located on a quiet street about a 10 minutes walk from the centre of Granada. Our room was spacious and clean with a lovely, hot shower. The hotel is nicely decorated with beautiful interiors. Our tour group were given a free alcoholic drink on arrival at the small bar/eating area. The free breakfast was lovely with toast, cereal, gallo pinto (rice n beans), fruit and other items to order at a cost. The only downsides were that our room was right by reception so it was quite noisy especially when staff started playing music at 5.45am! And I was short changed when buying water at reception which I'm sure was intentional because it was an easy amount to return to me. I'm putting this down to one moody night staff member rather than a negative on the rest of the staff who in general seemed friendly.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Management and Staff

The staff is very friendly, willing to help with anything they can, even an afternoon cup of coffee was offered once on a rainy afternoon. What is not imediately in the webpage to read is that payment by creditcard is 10% more expensive than if you pay cash.

Location

The hotel is located very nearby the center of Granada. If you arrive by bus from Costa Rica, it's very easy to reach the hotel and from the hotel you can easily go exploring the city on foot. The hotel is in a quiet street which makes it be no problem that all rooms enter the open main hall of the hotel directly.

Bedrooms

The bedrooms are big and clean. We stayed in a 4 people room, with 2 queen sized beds. The bathroom is nice and clean, though the shower seems a bit weird in the beginning, because it doesn't have neither a curtain nor a door. The rooms are airconditioned and they have a TV, for people who are interested.

Food

The included breakfast is good. It's a simple buffet of typical food. It has Gallo Pinto, coffee, milk, every day another fruit drink, cereals, butter, jam, fresh fruits, fried plantain and bread. It's very well taken care of and if you need to leave early on your day of departure, it's possible to have a basic form of the usual breakfast even 2 hours before the normal breakfast time.

Services

The hotel has internet access in a computer wich you can use free of charge, it's possible to have a drink in the evening at the tables in the main hall of the hotel. The staff of the hotel has information about tours in the city.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidloncke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We stayed here four nights and were highly impressed by the helpfulness, kindness, and sense of responsibility among the staff members, particularly the front desk ladies. Really great people!
The rooms are nice; the hotel itself is pretty grand and rooms are on the sides of a big courtyard with a nice fountain. Very open and airy. The beds are good, air conditioner worked fine and the bathrooms are good sized. I just wish the windows were open-able, the room did get somewhat stuffy.
The hotel offers a daily breakfast buffet included in the room fee and you can order more things if you like. I enjoyed the food very much.
There's a computer to check internet and although the hotel was full, I never had to wait to use it.

I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
643 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 43 in Granada
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kekoldi Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kekoldi Granada

Property: Hotel Kekoldi Granada
Address: Calle El Consulado No. 315 | 350 meters west of Central Park, Granada 43000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kekoldi Granada 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kekoldi of Granada is a luminous,well ventilated and modern hotel, located in the heart of the oldest city of the American Continent, which provides its costumers with an atmosphere of a fusion between the traditional Grenadian elements with the art of our natives, resulting in an architecture with colonial shades and an esthetic design developed by the renowned nicaraguan artist Robert Barberena de la Rocha, who has unified the grenadian colonial elements with the art of indigenous people of Central America, which can be easily seen in the mosaics, scenary and other details present in the decoration of rooms and the rest areas of the hotel. Kekoldi will indulge you with the excepcional Nicaraguan hospitality & invite you to enjoy the delicious buffet style breakfast. Enjoy our Gorgeous Sunsets in our exotic garden or next to our outdoor pool, which is an ideal relaxation venue to take cover from our granada tropical weather. We make available to you, our sixteen rooms which include private bathrooms, hot water, queens beds, cable TV, Personal Safe, Air Conditioned,hair dryer, Wireless Internet Thru the entire Hotel Grounds & a capacity to Lodge up to fifty people in rooms that are single, doubles, triples & quadruple sharing queen beds, all of the rooms are design to provide you with cozy and restful atmosphere and adorn with harmonious decorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kekoldi Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing