We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best that Granada has to offer...”
Review of Hotel Dario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dario
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Don't need to go far to experience what colonial Nicaragua has to offer...Hotel Dario met and exceeded my expectations...located in the heart of the city on famous Calzada street...my balcony view of Mombacho volcano was breathtaking...We'll be back for sure...!

Room Tip: extremely affordable and the food absolutely delicious and at a great price..coffee for five for a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaMa1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

We have been located at Hotel Dario in Granada, a charming an special place to enjoy your vacations. Its restaurant has a very tasty food that you won't stop eating!!.. Ask for traditional food!!
We felt very confortable with all the staf , they were very knid and respectful. We recommend it for sure!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaibego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I was very much impressed by the city of Granada,the beauty of the lake and the site of this amazing house converted into a hotel.It has a welcoming effect the moment you step into the delightful inner garden with beautiful high wooden ceilings and floors.I stayed in room 103 and was very much impressed by the quality of the room and the spectacular view of the volcano and the rooftops.I was warned that it could be a bit "noisy" since it faces the busy pedestrian "high street"of la Calzada and they offered that if I had a sensible sleep I could be moved into the quieter rooms on the interior part of the hotel.I took a chance since I liked the room so much, and was delighted to have stayed there in spite of the mild "inconvenience".I am very greatful to the person who recommended me the hotel,and I am really looking forward to visit Granada and Hotel Dario in the near future since my stay was much too short this time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chico43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The Hotel Dario is located in an old mansion on Granada's pedestrian mall. The street is one of the centers of Granada's cultural life, bringing together street vendors, artisans, restaurants, bars and shops. The hotel, whose balconies overlook the street as well as the Mombacho volcano in the distance, was the home of one of the city's most prominent families and has since been converted into one of Granada's most charming hotel properties. An inviting fountain courtyard is the heart of the hotel, leading to its restaurant, cafe, and swimming pool. Rooms in the main buiilding -- the original part of the house -- offer wood floors, extremely high ceilings and beautiful balconies. Past the courtyard is the swimming pool, surrounded by rooms with a slightly more modern feel. Food in the restaurant is excellent and well-priced, though there are many restaurants to choose from in the immediate vicinity as well. Several tour operators along the street offer tours to the volcano, island lakes and around the city. Service at the Hotel Dario is courteous and friendly. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are larger, though they face the pedestrian mall which can be a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santiago305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Hotel Dario has the perfect location. The staff were all very nice and helpful. The rooms were very nice and clean as well. We really enjoyed our time at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimcimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

the best place for conference, very quiet, I had the opportunity to see the place and recommend it, very good service.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessika092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Excellent location in front of la Calzada, the hotel is a beautiful old colonial house, nice, and cozy. The staff is super friendly and kind, they were always helpful and with a smile on their faces. The hotel has a cafeteria and a restaurant, the food is good and plenty I recommend the smoothies! You can have a drink right there or in one of the terraces inside the hotel sorrounding the central open patio, they also have a small pool and jacuzzi...On friday night they have a band playing music alive, they called "noche tipica". The rooms are clean, safe and nice..all colonial style. Affordable prices for a great hotel in Granada. Planning to come back soon for pleasure. Thank you so much Vanessa Marenco and her crew, they made our trip there perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdwinER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.3 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 45 in Granada
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dario

Address: Calle La Calzada | De la Catedral 1 1/2 cuadra al lago, Granada 505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Granada
#10 Family Hotel in Granada
#14 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £78 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dario 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL DARIO is UNIQUE FIVE STAR HOTEL IN GRANADA situated in the historical center of Granada, on the famous La Calzada Street, and only 100 meters away from the central park, Hotel Dario is an elegant neoclassic building from the 19th century. The hotel offers guests a tranquil and private environment, we are a gay friendly. The grounds include beautiful gardens, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, gym and business center. For dining on the premises, guests can choose from the El Tranvia Restaurant or from the Chocolate Coffee Shop. El Tranvia Restaurant is a small but charming dining room located within the main hall of Hotel Dario. The restaurant has been refurbished but remains true to the style of the colonial mansion. The specialties of the restaurant, where food is served with four to seven pieces of cutlery, include meats, seafood, international gourmet food and authentic Nicaraguan dishes. Beyond the elegant cuisine, guests can also expect a variety of wines (including local, Spanish and Chilean offerings), as well as professional and attentive service. The Chocolate Coffee Shop is the in-house cafe at Hotel Dario. Visitors to the shop can enjoy the best coffee in the city of Granada, as well as a variety of other exotic drinks containing coffee and chocolate. Fresh fruit juices, smoothies, milkshakes, cocktails, and a wide selection of the best national and international beverages are also offered at the Chocolate Coffee Shop, in addition to casual bites including sandwiches, snacks, salads, light meals, and fine deserts. All our rooms have A/C, International TV-cable, direct access tel., Private bathroom, safe deposit box and hair dryer. We also offer our "Tranvia" restaurant with International Gourmet Cuisine and our coffee shop "Chocolate" with fine pastries. The facilities include our swimming pool - jacuzzi, gym, internet + (WIFI), laundry & room service, concierge and 24hrs. Reception + security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Dario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dario Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing