We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial magnificance and volcanic splender in the heart of Grenada's party district...”
Review of Hotel Dario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dario
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Corpus Christi
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Colonial magnificance and volcanic splender in the heart of Grenada's party district...”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

This hotel experience is classic - elegant, spacious rooms with private balconies overlooking Mombacho volcano. Set on a charming street off Grenada's main square - the city was alive all hours throughout our holiday visit. The hotel could use more English speaking staff, however, the gracious young man who assisted us with airport transfer at the last minute in the wee hours of Christmas Eve overcame language barriers to meet our every need.

Room Tip: request a balcony room unless you want to sleep - the party never stops!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drtracijordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    112
    28
    10
    10
See reviews for
86
138
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

The rooms are located around two courtyards-one with a beautiful garden and the other a small pool. The restaurant is very good- we had traditional Nicaraguan breakfasts (included) every morning. It was a bit noisy since people are celebrating Christmas. Everyone is super friendly and proud of their wonderful country.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANSFIELD
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

The hotel was in a good part of time and near the park in the center of town. The staff was great and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANET V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

The location of this lovely colonial hotel could not be better if you wish to be in the centre of town and where the action is. It faces the pedestrian mall where there are many restaurants, bars, ambulant musicians and others selling their handicraft, etc. Therefore, it can be noisy. We had a room on the other side of the hotel facing the street at the back, but there also there was noise of traffic and motorbikes. I had to wear earplugs and put the pillow over my head and even so...Also tried the air conditioned noise, which masks the traffic noise.
Perhaps the rooms in the interior of the hotel and without windows would be quieter. I checked from guest who stayed in one of those and they said that it was quiet and they were not bothered by the foot traffic of hotel guests.
The rooms are spacious, but we had problems with the hot water. The same happened in Costa Rica, so this must be common in Central America.
The breakfast was not the greatest. There was only two choices: american breakfast or nicaraguan breakfast. I would have preferred the nicaraguan, however, it contains pork and since I do not eat pork, I had to opt for the weak american breakfast. However, one night we had dinner at the hotel and it was great!
The atmosphere is really nice, with a nice decoration and quiet inner court yard with a small swimming pool.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capisce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights. Very spacious room and right on the Calzada. My room was overlooking the Calzada but it didn't hear much noise from the street.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cavv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I have stayed twice for two nights each time. The hotel is noisy if you want to be on the street front because it is directly across/above from the Irish Pub and lots of night time action but I asked for street front both times anyway. I find it fun. The rest of the hotel is quiet. The restaurant is excellent but the coffee shop is terrible. Terrible service and stale espresso. The restaurant is awesome! The staff both times have been really great! One guy working the front desk day shift not so friendly but the women at the desk are great and the security guard is very helpful. Late one arrival night he took me to the internet room, turned on the computer, got me water, turned on the A/C and checked to make sure I was able to get online. (They have wireless as well.) The swimming pool is small but clean and nice little garden surrounding it with a waterfall into the pool. All in all it is a nice place and my second choice in Granada, but Hotel Plaza Colon is my number one place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junglenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I did not stay there, but ate at the hotel and enjoyed coffee at 6 AM several times...The Calzada can be very hectic, with too many street vendors, it was a pleasure that this establishment has two excellent dining opportunities; one formal...the other with coffee and light food .. The service was attentive in a beautiful setting

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#4 of 43 in Granada
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 43 in Granada
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dario

Property: Hotel Dario
Address: Calle La Calzada | De la Catedral 1 1/2 cuadra al lago, Granada 505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Granada
#10 Family Hotel in Granada
#14 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dario 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL DARIO is UNIQUE FIVE STAR HOTEL IN GRANADA situated in the historical center of Granada, on the famous La Calzada Street, and only 100 meters away from the central park, Hotel Dario is an elegant neoclassic building from the 19th century. The hotel offers guests a tranquil and private environment, we are a gay friendly. The grounds include beautiful gardens, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, gym and business center. For dining on the premises, guests can choose from the El Tranvia Restaurant or from the Chocolate Coffee Shop. El Tranvia Restaurant is a small but charming dining room located within the main hall of Hotel Dario. The restaurant has been refurbished but remains true to the style of the colonial mansion. The specialties of the restaurant, where food is served with four to seven pieces of cutlery, include meats, seafood, international gourmet food and authentic Nicaraguan dishes. Beyond the elegant cuisine, guests can also expect a variety of wines (including local, Spanish and Chilean offerings), as well as professional and attentive service. The Chocolate Coffee Shop is the in-house cafe at Hotel Dario. Visitors to the shop can enjoy the best coffee in the city of Granada, as well as a variety of other exotic drinks containing coffee and chocolate. Fresh fruit juices, smoothies, milkshakes, cocktails, and a wide selection of the best national and international beverages are also offered at the Chocolate Coffee Shop, in addition to casual bites including sandwiches, snacks, salads, light meals, and fine deserts. All our rooms have A/C, International TV-cable, direct access tel., Private bathroom, safe deposit box and hair dryer. We also offer our "Tranvia" restaurant with International Gourmet Cuisine and our coffee shop "Chocolate" with fine pastries. The facilities include our swimming pool - jacuzzi, gym, internet + (WIFI), laundry & room service, concierge and 24hrs. Reception + security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Dario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dario Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing