We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Hotel Dario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Dario
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2008

We stayed at Hotel Dario for 5 nights while we toured Granada and the surrounding area. It is conveniently located on the nicest street in town, the newly renovated C. La Calzada - a pedestrian thoroughfare with limited street traffic. The nicest sidewalk cafes and several tour agencies are on this street, and we had no street noise in our room.

The hotel is an oasis with two open courtyards surrounded by terracotta walkways with sitting areas and framed by white walls with fine wood accents. The first courtyard has a lush tropical garden with a central fountain; the back courtyard has lounge chairs, a small pool and jacuzzi with a waterfall on the back wall. There is a small excercise room with a stationary bike and treadmill. Our room was clean and comfortable with a nice bathroom, plenty of hot water and an efficient air conditioner. The bed was firm but comfortable. The wireless in-room internet access was wonderfully hi-speed. I imagine an exquisite boutique hotel in southern California might be like this, but I would never spend what that would cost in the United States.

The breakfast was perfectly fine and the coffee was very good. We had dinners at other places which were less expensive than the hotel restaurant, but it is not expensive by American standards, and we probably should have had at least one meal there. Oh, well.

The hotel staff was polite and helpful. They provided a breakfast to go when I told them we would be departing very early on our check-out morning.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pug-owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2008

We stumbled across the Dario while checking out there restaurant. It is beautiful with two inner court yards that have a large fountain and pool. The rooms away from the street are some of the best that we saw in all of Nicaragua. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the reception staff were superb. Anna, the manager now, went out of her way on several occasions to help us. She is very genuine and really works closely with her staff to bring the best to her guests.

We did encounter one sever noise issue with a wedding in the hotel. They did what they could to take care of us and made it up to us. They are working to remedy this issue in the future.

Again, this is an oasis in Granada. We stayed there longer than we had planned on, because it was such a treat. The breakfast that comes with the room was quite good. Ask for the options from the kitchen. The restaurant in the hotel is also good enough to eat in. There is free internet, hot water, satelite TV, great beds and you are in the center of Granada.

We stayed in La Gran Francia, Casa San Francisco and here at different times over a month. This was the nicest.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BTrue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2007

Hotel Dario in Granada is WONDERFUL! Mr. Luigi Roy the General Manager seems very worldly and was very helpful when we had questions. The restaurant staff, maintenance, etc. were all friendly, kind and very helpful. Hotel Dario is beautiful... the building is a historic building, but the rooms are very modern, clean, great amenities, has A/C, satellite tv, internet, etc, but still has wonderful charm. After a day walking in town, when it is hot, and you're tired, trust me it will be a great PLEASURE to return to a great hotel, such as Hotel Dario. The bathrooms are the best I've seen in Nicaragua! The rooms even have a bathTUB! The woodwork, the decor, everything is beautiful here. We ate dinner at the restaurant in Hotel Dario and it was delicious and the service was so good I felt guilty because the wait staff are very attentive to every need...not use to it in the USA. It is nice to have a safe, clean, beautiful hotel to go to, after a long day or after roughing it elsewhere. Treat yourself to a historic, beautiful, hotel... I loved Hotel Dario. The location in Granada is perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LJPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: voorkant met balkon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Para descansar pedir habitaciones internas, para ir de fiesta las que tienen balcón.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Sungnam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres les plus sympas sont à l'étage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bnbgParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#8 of 45 in Granada
674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
731 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dario

Address: Calle La Calzada | De la Catedral 1 1/2 cuadra al lago, Granada 505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Granada
#8 Family Hotel in Granada
#14 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £67 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dario 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL DARIO is UNIQUE FIVE STAR HOTEL IN GRANADA situated in the historical center of Granada, on the famous La Calzada Street, and only 100 meters away from the central park, Hotel Dario is an elegant neoclassic building from the 19th century. The hotel offers guests a tranquil and private environment, we are a gay friendly. The grounds include beautiful gardens, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, gym and business center. For dining on the premises, guests can choose from the El Tranvia Restaurant or from the Chocolate Coffee Shop. El Tranvia Restaurant is a small but charming dining room located within the main hall of Hotel Dario. The restaurant has been refurbished but remains true to the style of the colonial mansion. The specialties of the restaurant, where food is served with four to seven pieces of cutlery, include meats, seafood, international gourmet food and authentic Nicaraguan dishes. Beyond the elegant cuisine, guests can also expect a variety of wines (including local, Spanish and Chilean offerings), as well as professional and attentive service. The Chocolate Coffee Shop is the in-house cafe at Hotel Dario. Visitors to the shop can enjoy the best coffee in the city of Granada, as well as a variety of other exotic drinks containing coffee and chocolate. Fresh fruit juices, smoothies, milkshakes, cocktails, and a wide selection of the best national and international beverages are also offered at the Chocolate Coffee Shop, in addition to casual bites including sandwiches, snacks, salads, light meals, and fine deserts. All our rooms have A/C, International TV-cable, direct access tel., Private bathroom, safe deposit box and hair dryer. We also offer our "Tranvia" restaurant with International Gourmet Cuisine and our coffee shop "Chocolate" with fine pastries. The facilities include our swimming pool - jacuzzi, gym, internet + (WIFI), laundry & room service, concierge and 24hrs. Reception + security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Dario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dario Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing