We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, excellent staff”
Review of Hotel Granada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Granada
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This hotel is a few blocks away from the central plaza, nearer to the lake, right on the street known locally as "Restaurant Row" -- a good thing; convenient to many restaurants and bars. Breakfast was included with our room but that depends on the deal you have with your reservation. It was ok most days -- the usual buffet array. Sunday's offerings were better. We never ate in the restaurant for lunch or dinner and never saw anyone else eating there either. Our room was large and comfortable, the air conditioning worked well, and it was quiet. That's the trade-off in Granada: hotels are cheaper, closer to the plaza, but close to the plaza it can get pretty noisy. The price is high for Nicaragua so make sure to try to get some kind of discount if you can - they offer some standard ones. The pool at the Hotel Granada is, I've heard, the largest in town - it certainly is big enough to really swim in, though I didn't get a chance to, and has a bar poolside. There is a nice lobby and the wireless worked well. There is a computer in the lobby - heavily used - with a really awful keyboard - ok for basic email. The clientele are mostly middle-aged Europeans and Americans and wealthy central Americans.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HomeInMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

This is a fabulous boutique hotel with five star installations. We were thrilled with the fact the hotel desk let us check in early and were ready with some good recommendations for places to eat.

However, the experience was spoiled when we returned. We expected to spend an afternoon relaxing by the pool, but we found a full-on fiesta with a band pumping music so loud you had to shout to hear travel companions. Hotel staff told us it was a once-a-week activity, but the disappointment we felt not to be able to enjoy an afternoon relaxing in the sun was shattering.

This was not a five-star experience: It was a sorry effort on the behalf of hotel management to try to make a few bucks on a Sunday afternoon by opening up to local families who brought children who overtly peed in the pool and a band with the PA system racked up so high the music sounded awful (even the hotel staff agreed). At least they could have warned us at check-in so we could plan our short vacations around the raucous.

A wonderful hotel, but far from the boutique experience we were looking for.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed here during the Granada part of our trip. It was nice, and convient. Included Breakfast was great! We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idahoraghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I have to admit, I always had my doubts because the place doesnt say much from the outside, but wow.... Its huge, beautiful, classy and full of great people. The biggest pool in Granada, the most complete and most beautiful rooms ever. Restaurant is awesome with great prices. Regarding the distance, its 2 blocks from the main bar area, pretty close, but far enough to get some rest!

Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in February 2012. At first I was overwhelmed with the size and appearance of hotel. Very good location being just a few steps from Calzada street. Breakfast was excellent with plenty variety. Pool is gorgeous and hotel has lovely gardens. Our room was spacious. The only thing I did not like was how the hotel had many people begging outside of the front doors. Its almost as if they wait for you to come out. Hotel should do a better job of distancing them.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eurodude13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Having just returned home from a 30 day trip and adventure to Granada, Corn Island, San Juan del Sur, Leon and Montelimar Nicaragua, my wife and I had a wonderful experience of this country and its people. No matter what occurred we would not have wanted to miss any part of it.

Our flight from Toronto was booked by me on Air Canada to Miami and then onto Managua by TACA, the flight was smooth and got us in on time.

All of our accommodations, local land transfers and flight to Corn Islands between 5 locations were handled by a very professional local Managua/Granada travel outfit, MP Travel Agency.

Our first destination for 8 days was Hotel Granada in Granada, from this location we explored the city itself and went on two outings, the Mombacho Volcano, the Masaya Market, Masaya Volcano and Laguna de Apoyo.

The Hotel Granada was undergoing some expansion and renovations which did not affect our stay, and will definitely enhance the hotel. Our room was one of the newer units in the expanded wing on the second floor, very spacious, two queen size beds, sitting area, table area with chairs, plasma TV, telephone, great AC and large bathroom. Overall the hotel was very clean and well maintained. Breakfast was included and offered eggs, bread of all sorts, yogurt, coffee and tea, much more than just a basic continental breakfast.

Now to the wonderful, very large, pool and landscaped area, best in Granada and worth the stay, great to cool off in during the hottest part of the day, pool service for drinks and food available.

The Hotel is located halfway between the town square and the lake, right across the road from the Guadalupe Church on calle la Calzada with easy access to the many restaurants and cafes. However, we found that the chef at the Granada Hotel was excellent, the fish, chicken were adorned with tasty sauces not found in any other restaurants and we actually ate dinner here 3 times during our stay.

Of the 5 locations that we visited, Granada is our favourite and number “uno” on the list for Nicaragua, we shall return.

The other location, Corn Island and the Paraiso Resort, San Juan del Sur and the Inn on the Pacific, Leon and the Hotel Los Balcones, Montelimar and the Barcelo Hotel are covered under each of their own reviews.

Room Tip: If mobility not a problem, stay in new wing and large rooms on second floor, longer walk and stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retired_Traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Everything about our stay was fantastic!
The service we received from Winston and the rest of the staff was excellent. They made every effort to be helpful and ensure we were well taken care of, even when outside of the hotel.
The location is great. Close enough to the nightlife to walk wherever you want to go without the noise when you are trying to sleep.
The restaurant in the hotel was great. Not a huge selection, but what they have is very well prepared.
The pool and tiki-bar were awesome. Huge pool and plenty of staff on hand.
The rooms are on the smaller side but nicely decorated and with all the standard amenenities.
The hotel is huge considering the small number of rooms but the decor and feeling of the hotel fits the colonial feeling of the town of Granada.

Room Tip: The colonial king rooms are well worth the few extra dollars they cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#8 of 45 in Granada
675 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#17 of 45 in Granada
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,082 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#7 of 45 in Granada
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa del Consulado
Hotel Casa del Consulado
#25 of 45 in Granada
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granada

Address: Calle La Calzada, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £70 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Granada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 4 star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing