We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What some of you have missed .” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Granada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Granada
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
managua
Level Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“What some of you have missed .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

while the majority of reviews of Hotel Granada are very positive, there are very few references to the way the whole complex is developing. It is not just an hotel with a huge pool and good restaurant, there are conference facilities to serve medium size meetings of all kinds. The main restaurant area again has details that one does not notice at first sight. The insulation carefully masked by a series of curtains supported by large bamboos, the quality of the wood floor, the imitation of classic bond in the brickwork, the window seats, the steinway designed baby grand. (the muzak was very well chosen for the golden oldies that are timeless. The food was very well presented and very tasty with simple dishes enhanced , not by sloshing some preparation onto it but adding nuances of fruit or fresh sauces to "kick it up a notch" The chardonnay we sampled at lunch was just that bit frutier than expected showing care in the purchasing.

We shall leave the accommodation to others to write about, this is a location which we think will soon bacome the focal point even though its at the end of the strip in tourist terms.

More to come.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chefgeraldManagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    88
    54
    16
    15
See reviews for
69
88
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maltagalpa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Hotel Granada pails in quality and value to many of the equally or even cheaper hotels in Granada. As a Peace Corps volunteer, I was offered a small discount, only to find that by reserving online they had charged my card for the entire stay without including the discount. The wait staff would mess up simple orders like bringing a plate of limes on our first day, after doing this I did not tip. The second day they refused to deliver the ice until we promised to give a tip. In addition, the cleaning staff did not come to our room one day. While the hotel has a nice pool, Hotel Con Corazon or Gran Francia have much better value, service and food. Even though we were guests in the hotel, the staff persistently questioned us at the pool if we were actually staying there. Finally the wait staff ended breakfast earlier than advertisted and instead of a buffet gave each of us a single crosoint. While the hotel as decent rooms with AC with the best pool in Granada, there are so many other hotels with a same cost or even lesser that offer superior services.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not near construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

This hotel is a few blocks away from the central plaza, nearer to the lake, right on the street known locally as "Restaurant Row" -- a good thing; convenient to many restaurants and bars. Breakfast was included with our room but that depends on the deal you have with your reservation. It was ok most days -- the usual buffet array. Sunday's offerings were better. We never ate in the restaurant for lunch or dinner and never saw anyone else eating there either. Our room was large and comfortable, the air conditioning worked well, and it was quiet. That's the trade-off in Granada: hotels are cheaper, closer to the plaza, but close to the plaza it can get pretty noisy. The price is high for Nicaragua so make sure to try to get some kind of discount if you can - they offer some standard ones. The pool at the Hotel Granada is, I've heard, the largest in town - it certainly is big enough to really swim in, though I didn't get a chance to, and has a bar poolside. There is a nice lobby and the wireless worked well. There is a computer in the lobby - heavily used - with a really awful keyboard - ok for basic email. The clientele are mostly middle-aged Europeans and Americans and wealthy central Americans.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HomeInMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This is a fabulous boutique hotel with five star installations. We were thrilled with the fact the hotel desk let us check in early and were ready with some good recommendations for places to eat.

However, the experience was spoiled when we returned. We expected to spend an afternoon relaxing by the pool, but we found a full-on fiesta with a band pumping music so loud you had to shout to hear travel companions. Hotel staff told us it was a once-a-week activity, but the disappointment we felt not to be able to enjoy an afternoon relaxing in the sun was shattering.

This was not a five-star experience: It was a sorry effort on the behalf of hotel management to try to make a few bucks on a Sunday afternoon by opening up to local families who brought children who overtly peed in the pool and a band with the PA system racked up so high the music sounded awful (even the hotel staff agreed). At least they could have warned us at check-in so we could plan our short vacations around the raucous.

A wonderful hotel, but far from the boutique experience we were looking for.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CostaRicaHottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahsahka, Idaho
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed here during the Granada part of our trip. It was nice, and convient. Included Breakfast was great! We will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idahoraghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I have to admit, I always had my doubts because the place doesnt say much from the outside, but wow.... Its huge, beautiful, classy and full of great people. The biggest pool in Granada, the most complete and most beautiful rooms ever. Restaurant is awesome with great prices. Regarding the distance, its 2 blocks from the main bar area, pretty close, but far enough to get some rest!

Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in February 2012. At first I was overwhelmed with the size and appearance of hotel. Very good location being just a few steps from Calzada street. Breakfast was excellent with plenty variety. Pool is gorgeous and hotel has lovely gardens. Our room was spacious. The only thing I did not like was how the hotel had many people begging outside of the front doors. Its almost as if they wait for you to come out. Hotel should do a better job of distancing them.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurodude13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mansion de Chocolate
Mansion de Chocolate
#17 of 43 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#1 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granada

Property: Hotel Granada
Address: Calle La Calzada, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Granada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 4 star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing