We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”
Review of Mombacho Volcano

Mombacho Volcano
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$140.00*
and up
Mombacho Volcano Hike and Zipline adventure from Managua
Ranked #3 of 73 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This volcano hike was ok. The tunnel was super cool. We did not take the transport up the volcano. Advice....take the transport.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WestPhillyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    273
    86
    22
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
148 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“amazing views”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The hiking trails are beautiful and extremely well-maintained. Pretty easy terrain, but there is some elevation gain on the longer Puma trail. Thick rainforest, warm/steamy fumaroles, and views of Granada and Lake Nicaragua. Interpretive signs in the park are in Spanish, but there are plenty of tour guides available in Granada (like Tierra Tours Mombacho Express) who will give you a ride to the volcano and English guiding.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank am918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“No guide necessary!”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We spent about a half day at Mombacho while in Granada. We were able to take a bus from Granada to the entrance to the reserve for less than $0.50 USD each. After getting off the bus, there are a lot of moto-taxi drivers offering to take you to the entrance. They were relatively cheap, but the hike in wasn't too bad (less than a mile). Once at the entrance to the park, we paid the entrance fee of approx $15 USD per person, which included round trip transportation to the top. Once to the top of Mombacho, you are able to hire a tour guide, but we decided to go without. There was one longer hike that required a guide, but we didn't feel like we were missing anything by not doing that trek. The paths are easy to find and follow, and the views are amazing when you get a break in the clouds.

We saw a sloth, a lot of different birds and some really cool plants. There was a coffee plantation about halfway down the volcano on your way back to the entrance. We walked around a bit, but there didn't seem to be much to see.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank javakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous day hiking...”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We loved the Puma trail and seeing wildlife, fauna and flora. Plus the vapor holes, views of the Isletas, and catching views of about 30 white faces monkeys in the tree above on a trail!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KLS3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“hike and guide were great but park service was horrible”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We hiked the 4 km Puma trail which was most challenging even though we are in good shape. Basically 4 km up and down four craters. Some trails were very steep and slippery so while it did not take us 4 hours it did take almost 3 and we were moving very fast in the end due to pounding rain. Saw a sloth, white-faced monkeys, howler monkeys, toads, birds and tons of interesting plants and flowers. Our guide was fantastic and spoke excellent English.

Tranportation to and from the start of the trail was pathetic, unsafe and inexcusable considering the almost $40 entrance fees. We sat in the bed of little pick up truck to climb several miles up the mountain to get to the centre. Forget how miserably uncomfortable it was because the key is how unsafe. Plus the staff was super rude both at the ticket counter and guide center. These were the only rude people we encountered on our entire trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank laura t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mombacho Volcano also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Mombacho Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing