We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great zip line! The staff were the best part.”
Review of Mombacho Volcano

Mombacho Volcano
Book In Advance
More Info
US$120.00*
and up
Mombacho Volcano Hike and Zipline adventure from Managua
More Info
US$70.00*
and up
Mombacho Volcano Natural Reserve and Lake Nicaragua Tour from Managua
More Info
US$96.30*
and up
Mombacho Natural Reserve Tour from Granada
Ranked #3 of 74 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Indialantic, FL
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great zip line! The staff were the best part.”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The zip line adventure near the top of Mombacho volcano was a lot of fun. One of the best parts of it (no kidding!) were the staff. Funny, engaging, knowledgeable, and very concerned with safe operation of the zip line at all times. I am kind of afraid of heights (!) but promised by son I'd get through it with him. I was surprised at how safe I felt, and the slightly panicky adrenaline rush was actually pretty fun. A great way to challenge yourself, and lovely views. Flew right by a toucan at one point. Pretty cool!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank donnabaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    277
    86
    22
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surf City, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hiking on an active volcano is cool!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

After checking in, visitors are taken by jeep up to the visitor center and hikes. There's a coffee farm, a butterfly garden, and a small snack bar at the top, but the vistas are the reason to go. One hikes (a very gentle walk, but good shoes are needed) around the lip of the crater created by Mombacho's last eruption. We saw butterflies, monkeys, sloths, little frogs, and lots of birds. A couple of fairly rigorous hikes are available if one hires a guide--amazing views and several places where steam escapes from the still-active cauldron, far below the surface. This is a must-do when in Granada.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great hike with sloth and frog”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

After a steep drive up, lovely two-hour hike with guide, outstanding views of Lake Nicaragua, Granada, and Laguna de Apoyo.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mombacho Volcano and Environs - Easy in A Day with Stay at Mombacho Lodge”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We spent a wonderful day at Mombacho Volcano. We stayed at the lovely Mombacho Lodge at night and got off to an early start the next morning. Staying almost IN the park at the Mombacho Lodge made it super easy. You can get up to the Volcano very easily from Mombacho Lodge which saved us a lot of time. We took the Volcano / Cloud forest tour from Cafe Flores (about 2 hours long). We walked at a leisurely place, took in everything and took the longest loop possible. We had lunch post the hike and then did the zipline with Mombacho Tours - Again very fun and very well organized (and supported). Additionally, we took our own hikes that day and could have packed in very much more during the day but we chose not it. It is very easy to do the volcano and environs in a day especially if you stay at the Mombacho Lodge (which is awesome) and makes a great base to explore the volcano and the surrounding area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SK_SF9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice location, expensive”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The location is really nice. A modifica military jeep is bringing you up to the top of the crater where you can enjoy a 1.5km walk around one of the craters. The matter is that after paying 16$ per person for the entrance, you also have to pay if you want to make any other trek apart from the crater(17$pp).
We decided to walk down the Vulcan not to have to wait the jeep to take us down and despite the guide told us it would have take 40' in took more than the double. In any case a really nice location!

Helpful?
1 Thank Matteo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mombacho Volcano also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Mombacho Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing