We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best places I have stayed!”
Review of Hotel Maximilian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Maximilian
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Reutte
Certificate of Excellence
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best places I have stayed!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I stayed Christmas eve. It was one of the best experiences! The Koch family who runs the hotel is the sweetest lady we have come in contact with. We had the most AMAZING Christmas eve dinner--probably the best meal I have had in my life. You feel like you are with family. Its absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarieLeigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    42
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
81
79
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel has a B&B feel to it but with the fine amenities that you'd expect from a very high quality hotel; especially for Europe! Our room looked out upon the beautiful mountains that surround this valley town. The owner(s) are always about and are more than welcoming during your stay. They greet you at the door, walk through their restaurant, greet you with the typical Southern Germany/Austrian greeting (Grüs Got) daily, and offer a wealth of knowledge about surrounding activities. We stayed here with friends that had previously stayed here a year prior. To give you an example of the owners love of their ownership, they remembered our friends and asked about the friends they were with at that time, BY NAME! There is a delightful sitting room/bar area off they main door which you can order a few beers and still smoke indoors (a breath of liberty for this American!). The hotel has an elevator so it is handicap accessible. The restaurant on site feels like a professional restaurant separate from a hotel all together! I chose a venison stew with potato dumplings and cranberry sauce on top - to die for! The desert was not needed, but a delicious finish to an amazing dinner. The restaurant also serves breakfast (in traditional European style of cereals, breads, yogurts, lunch meats, and light vegetables) daily which is very delicious. There is also a sauna which features a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, showers, and relaxing sitting room. I am sure you can schedule massages with the ownership because they had rooms for this, but we did not indulge in this. We did spend a good hour in the sauna and steam room for free - it was a needed moment of relaxation after a day full of skiing. The room was very accommodating with an en suite bathroom and full stand up shower. I only say this because this is typically not the norm in Europe as far as my travels have proven - not that Hotel Maximilian advertises anything different. The large bed is also in typical European fashion of two twin-sized beds within a (most likely) king-sized frame and a two heavy comforters as a sheet and blanket in one. Unlike most European style beds, this one was very comfortable! Our room had a balcony that overlooked the mountains on which we could sit and relax and enjoy a smoke or two with a beer in hand. The hotel has a children's game room with pool table, ping pong table and darts. There are at least two pianos that I saw that guests are welcomed to and encouraged to sit at and play to entertain their friends - new and old alike. I truly cannot recommend this place enough and could go on much more about this place. There is truly no other place I have stayed throughout Europe that has offered so much for so little. From the congenial owners to the free thermal-bad, to an amazing restaurant to quaint and cozy beds. All surrounded by one of the most breath taking and beautiful places to visit and stay in the world, the Austrian Alps. Do yourself a favor and stay here when you are in town. It isn't more than 30 minutes from anything you'd ever want to see and do in this part of the world and it just feels like when you stay here, you're home.

-Cheers! Happy travels.

Room Tip: Request the room that you like. We stayed with fiends and asked for rooms directly next to each othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My family of 5 got two side by side rooms. The hosts were uber-welcoming, and there was a playground and game room for the kids. There is basically nothing within walking distance, so plan on driving. The restaurant was straightforward Austrian food, good but not exciting.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kvaakp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This was our fourth stay at the Hotel Maximilian. It truly cannot be missed. It is always a highlight of our European adventures! Gabi and the Koch family welcome you with open arms and treat you like part of their family.

Please see my other glowing reviews of this fine establishment for more details.

There were not many photos of inside this hotel, so I have included them here. There are many welcoming rooms in the lobby area with activities and places to lounge around.

Looking forward to our next trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or view of the Ehrenberg ruins
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMForever28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights--our room was big with a pretty view, the staff was helpful, and the restaurant was absolutely fantastic. We ate here for dinner both nights and they were the best meals of our trip. The location was perfect for a "vacation" feel, out in the country (we had a car--I do not think this would be a good option using public transportation). Our stay also included an activities card, which we used to ride the gondola to hike, and to visit the excellent (indoor/outdoor) public pool. This is a gem and should not be missed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights and had a lovely room with a balcony from which we could enjoy a late day glass of wine and watch the cows crossing the road on their way home. The beds were large and comfortable and the room was quiet. We ate dinner in the restaurant and had a lovely meal and would recommend eating there. The owners were very helpful with directions and had time to chat with us about Austria.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandBNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We (3 adults) stayed here for 2 nights and loved it! The owners of the hotel are so friendly and quick to offer their suggestions. The room was very clean and spacious - only downside was the bathroom. We were on the top floor and the bathroom had a slanted ceiling which made showering upright a bit of a challenge. However - they did offer to move us and we declined since we were only there for such a short time. We ate dinner in the hotel both nights and were very happy - big portions, and delicious! We hope to return to the region again and would definitely stay there!!

Room Tip: Ask about the shower - you may need to avoid the top floor, near the front (where the roof slants).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLV526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reutte hotels
1.2 mi away
Naturhotel LechLife
Naturhotel LechLife
#1 of 3 in Wangle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Goldene Rose
Hotel Goldene Rose
#5 of 12 in Reutte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gutshof zum Schluxen
Gutshof zum Schluxen
#3 of 12 in Reutte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Tannenhof
Hotel Tannenhof
#7 of 12 in Reutte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Das Beck
Hotel Das Beck
#4 of 12 in Reutte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel-Gasthof zum Schwanen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maximilian

Property: Hotel Maximilian
Address: Ehenbichl, Reutte 6600, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Reutte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Reutte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maximilian 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Maximilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maximilian Hotel Reutte
Hotel Maximilian Austria/Reutte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing