We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Gemutlichkeit" at Chalet Tanneburg!”

Chalet-Hotel Tannenburg
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bad Gastein
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet-Hotel Tannenburg
Ranked #4 of 44 Bad Gastein B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“"Gemutlichkeit" at Chalet Tanneburg!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

Just back from a great week at the Chalet Tannenburg in Bad Gastein c/o Ski Miquel. The Tannenburg ticks all the right boxes for those who want a friendly welcome in the mountains with access to several ski areas. It is suited to those who like to explore and are intermediate/good skiers, in order to get most from the Gastein valley range.

The chalet rooms proved clean, comfortable beds and with good, hot showers . The food is well presented and excellent quality. There was plenty of choice for breakfast, afternoon tea with cakes and in the evening there are canapes in tha bar, followed by an excellent four course dinner with wine. The in house bar was good value and there is a comfortable lounge with fire, to retire to with drink in the evening and review the day's antics!. The chalet is right in the centre and 7 mins to ski storage located by the lift - so no lugging equipment necessary.

Bad Gastein is not your typical Austiran "chocolate box" in looks - a functional, working valley town than a quaint ski resort. However there are enough shops, bars and thermal spa facilities than we needed. The town hangs on the side of the valley, so you have to walk up and down inclines from the Chalet but it is all good to build your fitness levels!

Up in the mountains is where you want to be and there is plenty to occupy with a range of interlinked pistes and runs through trees. Some excellent mountain huts and reasonable prices for lunches and drinks.

The chalet gets the combination right for skiiers and the team worked hard to make sure we all had a great time - Carol & Jack were excellent Ski Guides during the week. Nick, Sophie & Sharon kept the Chalet operations and bar running smoothly, whilst Geoff the Chef kept preparing deilicious meals all week. Well done!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    14
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

I've travelled with Ski Miquel many times over the last 10 years. They offer excellent value for money, and are a company that genuinely care about their guests. This is demonstrated by the number of guests who have travelled with them before coming back each year.

Bad Gastein was a new destination for our group, and despite some great group trips in the past, this one was the best (so far). The chalet location is close enough to the lifts and bars to be convenient, but nicely out of the way to be quiet at night. The week we stayed the road outside was fine to walk in ski boots. The heated boot room was great, but many of our party used the lockers at the base station to save walking the short walk upto the lifts in ski boots. Recommended if an icy week I would think.

The hotel has been refurbished for this year, and was very comfortable and clean. The staff work very well as a team and were very welcoming. Carol and Jack provide an excellent guiding service, Nick, Sharon and Sophie kept us well fed and cared for, and Jeff's food was plentiful and of a high standard all week. We never went hungry!

Given previous comments read, I am pleased to report that the cheese board is ample in both variety and quantity. The bar also sells a decent Port to go with it.

Talking of the bar - the bar prices are by far the cheapest in town. The Bar and Lounge area are big enough to cope with the size of the chalet, and the Lounge even has a real log fire that was lit every evening.

Bad Gastein as a resort offers plenty of variety. Sport and Dorf Gastein are both within a 20min bus ride (included in lift ticket) and both worth a visit. Bad and Hof Gastein are lift linked and provide plenty of variety and good mountain restaurants - all with nice toilets! Aeroplainplatz off D1/D2 well worth a visit.

About 5mins walk from the chalet is the FerienSpa. This has 5 warm pools and a cooler Swimming Pool, and upstairs a traditional Sauna/Steam Room/Solariam area. Our party all took a week membership here which provided a great way to wind down and relax before dinner every night - this we would all recommend.

To sum up, great chalet, great staff, good food, good company - fantastic week.

Thanks again to all the team at Chalet Tannenburg.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woolgarpjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
163 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

The chalet was very comfortable and homely. It has been newly refurbished this season with lots of personal touchs. Our room was a good size and the bed was really comfy. The only downside was that the bathroom door didnt close properly and the walls were rather thin to allow noise from the bathroom to be heard in the bedroom. The lounge is warm and cosy with a log fire in the evening. The bar area is small but nice. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and interacted with the guests. The food was really good and the cheese was generous.
The chalet is in a good location, a short walk uphill to the gondola but ski storage is available for free when hiring equipment from the shop by the gondola. The chalet is also convenient for local bars in the evening and the thermal spa (worth a visit).
The chalet could be improved by getting wi-fi as there is limited internet access in the area.
This is the third time we have travelled with Ski Miquel and once again we were impressed.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K18UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

The newly refurbished chalet is very comfortable and clean, with a cosy log burner in the lounge, bar with great atmosphere and good prices, and excellent food - plenty of it, good variety and well cooked and presented. The staff were superb, and went out of their way to make sure that we had everything we needed. We particularly appreciated the reserved tables on the mountain, far more civilised than the usual lunchtime scramble for a seat! The thermal baths are worth a visit, and there are some interesting walks in and around the town - although be prepared for the steep hills.

We would definitely recommend this chalet, and Ski Miquel, to others, and we will definitely go with them again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seriousbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

Just arrived back from a week at the Tannenburg and would like to say it is one of the best ski holidays we have ever had.
All the rooms have been totally refurbished-beds, furniture, carpets, new bathrooms etc. The hotel was warm and cosy with a log fire in the lounge and warm central heating in the bedrooms. The staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble, they took excellent care of us and we felt very welcome. The chef produced very good meals every evening and there was certainly no shortage of cheese! There was free wine with the meal and very reasonably priced drinks at the bar.
The ski guiding was brilliant and the staff were very kind and caring. We had reserved tables every day for lunch on the mountain too which was a bonus on busy days.
We would highly recommend this hotel and its current team of staff. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillymoo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

I have good things to say..

I went on holiday to have a fun time, snowboard,ski, relax, and not take life too seriously! And this is exactly what happened! :D

The slopes are great, fair few paths though - snowboarders take heed!! Sport Gastein was by far my favourite! The guiding is great as you get to ski EVERYWHERE!

The staff were sensational!! and never get enough credit! They were all very friendly and willing to spend their free time with us guests. The girls obviously don't have the nicest job of cleaning and serving, and i think they did a great job. I would go again solely for the salmon dish, that was pretty special. Yeah, granted, a bit stinjy on canapes and cheese but thats a company policy so cant blame the messengers with their little cheese knife eh! But, if small amounts of cheese really do upset you and make you prefer to spend your time in afghanistan (sickos) then this isnt the place for you. But, for everyone else who doesn't cry about cheese, it is great value for money. I think some people have unrealistic expectations of these kinds of places and the staff. It's a company who employs young people who are probably on their gap year or have just graduated and who are getting paid pence to work for you. and frankly these are the best kind of people because they are social and fun and willing to get the job done, so that you all have a great time together. Its up to you whether you make the most of it.

in conclusion.
Skiing and social side and staff - amazing
small portion of cheese - pretty devastated. not.

HEGGYS BAR - if you dont go here, whatever age you may be, you have missed out!

Definate recommendation!
Its the people that make the place, and the staff and the other guests definately made my holiday :)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidfromiceage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

Having returned a week ago from taking a large group to Chalet Tannenburg in Bad Gastein, we have had time to digest our holiday properly. All in all, we had a great time with some fantastic skiing. The chalet itself is cosy and comfortable, pretty much as we expected it to be for the money we paid, although some areas were in need of a bit of TLC. The bar and lounge areas have a good ambience and tend to make you want to stay in during the evening rather than venture out elsewhere. We did have some problems with a particular member of staff which slightly soured the holiday but upon our return we talked these through with the owners of the company and they 0dealt with the matter admirably and very quickly. The other members of staff were generally helpful, of good nature and fun to be with. Problems encountered with scrimping on some food rations were, we think, mainly caused by the problem staff member and are, we gather, not generally company policy. We also gather that the chalet is about to undergo a major refurb so anyone staying there next season should reap the benefit. Whatever, don't expect 5* services at 3* prices. We would definitely return to the Tannenburg at a future date. Here's to Lauterbrunnen next year.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidayluvver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Gastein
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garni Obermair
Hotel Garni Obermair
#27 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kristiana
Kristiana
#17 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#19 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Salzburger Hof
Hotel Salzburger Hof
#1 of 36 in Bad Gastein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Landenhof
Hotel Landenhof
#6 of 91 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
CESTA GRAND - Aktivhotel & Spa
CESTA GRAND - Aktivhotel & Spa
#10 of 36 in Bad Gastein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet-Hotel Tannenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet-Hotel Tannenburg

Property: Chalet-Hotel Tannenburg
Address: Bad Gastein, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Gastein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bad Gastein
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing