We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but annoying change from last year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Salzburger Hof
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Bad Gastein
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here with half pension last year and decided to do the same this winter as well, Nice hotel close to the lifts and the ski bus for Sportgastein. But, one thing have changed since last year. At dinner we were now charged € 1.50 per pitcher of plain water !!! This was no cost last year
It is not the cost that is annoying, but the the fact that such a high quality hotel finds it neccessary to charge you for something which is freely available in your room. 20 Euros during a week is not that much, but I guess we just skip the wine and beers for dinner this time just to demomstrate or point of view on this new cost.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George9122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salzburgerhof5640, Manager at Hotel Salzburger Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Mr Georg 912,
First of all, we want to thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Yes, it is right that we have had to make this change.
The reason for this increase is because we incur a cost for providing this service. The waiter must take time to provide this service throughout the evening and the pitchers then have to be washed. There are also guests who only consume ice water but take up the service of the waiter.
We are very sorry that you have found this measure a negative. Most of our guests understand the need for this change. We have chosen this path so we do not have to generally increase the room rates.
Unfortunately labour costs and procurement costs increase annually, but as you certainly found on your last stay, we remain committed to providing service and cuisine to a high level.
We hope that we do not lose you as a regular guest and would be very happy if we could welcome you again next year.

Kind regards

Olaf von der Wetter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

It's a great place to get away from city life, to a peaceful place with great sight seeing, walk by the canal. Spending time to unwind and dine out to lots of great local restaurants and bars. But do t recommend a long stay long weekend is enough. Best time of the year is spring or autumn

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Atif_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salzburgerhof5640, Manager at Hotel Salzburger Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Herr Atif_11: Herzlichen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben unser Hotel zu berwerten. Es freut mich sehr zu hören, das Sie sich bei uns im Haus wohlgefühlt haben.
Ich werden Ihre lobenden Worte für unsere Restaurants gerne an meine Kolleginnen und Kollegen weiterleiten.
Es würde mich sehr freuen, wenn wir Sie im Frühjahr oder Herbst 2014 wieder als Gast in unserem Hause begrüssen dürften.
Bis dahin, wünsche ich Ihnen alles Gutet und verbleibe
mit freundlichen Grüssen
Olaf von der Wettern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Good location,this hotel is including definitely all what you can want at alps. Very nice sauna and pool departments even for Finns : ) Breakfast was excellent with very good service. The hotel was recently renovated very well and the only thing I was missing a little bit better air conditioning/ventilation for rooms. But our room was not the best one available. I would return and stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vesa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salzburgerhof5640, Manager at Hotel Salzburger Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Mrs. Vesa M: thank you very much for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in our Hotel.
You are right, we have no air-conditioning plant in the rooms but the most time in the summer the temperatures are not high enough to install the air-conditioning plant. If it is really to hot in the rooms, we can organize a ventilator for our guests.

We hope, we see you next season again and wish you between all the best.

Kind regards
Olaf von der Wettern – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed at Salzburger Hof with half-board in July 2013. Excellent service and great food. Very good breakfast with a lot of choices and the five-course dinners throughout the week was also very good.
Swimming pool and the big sauna was also very nice.
The only problem to report was the thick duve which wasn't very practical during the warm summer nights. I guess I could have asked for a thinner one, but I never did. :)

Room Tip: Pick one with a balcony. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToreBryne_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salzburgerhof5640, Manager at Hotel Salzburger Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Mr. Bryne: Thank you so much for taking your time and sharing your experience. After your proposal about a light duvet, we spoke about this intern and if you will come next time, you can be certain that you will become a light duvet.
We are glad that you nevertheless enjoyed your stay and will forward your complement to our service and kitchen team.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Olaf von der Wettern - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

After one unpleasant night in another local hotel, we were lucky enough to move to the Salzburger Hof's sister property: Villa Orania. We were extremely pleased with this very quiet and small villa. Our room was quite clean and we had all the comforts of home including a small kitchen. Bathroom was excellent...heated floors are great.

We had complete use of the Hotel Salzburger Hof. The staff was very very good. Breakfast was one of the best I have had in an Alpine ski village. W had one dinner there and it was great...though aimed at the predominantly Scandinavian customers. Bar area is really good. Overall....I would return and stay at the hotel, but we'd likely opt for the Villa again as it was very cozy and private.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salzburgerhof5640, Manager at Hotel Salzburger Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Mr. Raymond: Thank you so much for your kind review! We are proud that our guest can choose in which Hotel they want to go, respectively they can choose whitch category they want to book. We have our Salzburger Hof, Hotel Post, Hotel Gisela, Ski Lodge Reineke or like you wrote our luxurious Villa Orania.
We will transmit your nice words about our Personal and looking forward to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Olaf von der Wettern - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

A luxurious hotel with all what you can want I think. Very central in Bad Gastein it has all the look and feel of a very nice hotel. I think there were five restaurant but as we had half board we only ate at one of them. The quality was very high all the way through. Super breakfasts and very, very good dinners. At breakfast you were able to choose between fish, meat or a vegetarian dish for the main course at the dinner. We got the half board included so it was thereby very price worthy. If you were to pay for it and like to vary your restaurants you would perhaps consider not taking the half board but it was really good and even children will probably find it very good. There were also a separate menu for smaller children. Two (!) relaxing/bathing areas wih very high quality. A little bit busy traffic when you have balcony on the front side of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lelleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Booked one-week packages through STS, from Stockholm Sweden.You can read more about the hotel on their website, or on the hotels own website.
The beds are excellent, the water drinkable, and the half board (breakfast and dinner) are extensive and lavish. All the hotel staff was very helpful and service minded, our cleaning lady was a charm.

The hotel was fully booked during our stay, but it never felt crowded. They have two different spas with pool and saunas. I was alone in one of the spas for one hour in the afternoon, witch felt very nice after a days hiking in the Alps. You have to realise that Bad Gastein is built on a hillside, so you have to struggle up hill and down dale wherever you go. But the hotel is situated near the “Banhof”, bus station and cable care. I can really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HerrSvensson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bad Gastein hotels
0.3 mi away
Das Regina Hotel
Das Regina Hotel
#1 of 36 in Bad Gastein
215 reviews
1.1 mi away
CESTA GRAND Aktivhotel & Spa
CESTA GRAND Aktivhotel & Spa
#9 of 36 in Bad Gastein
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
#6 of 36 in Bad Gastein
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miramonte
Hotel Miramonte
#5 of 36 in Bad Gastein
196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#7 of 36 in Bad Gastein
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elisabethpark
Hotel Elisabethpark
#10 of 36 in Bad Gastein
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salzburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salzburger Hof

Address: Grillparzerstrasse 1, Bad Gastein 5640, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Gastein
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Bad Gastein
Price Range: £173 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Salzburger Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Salzburger Hof was built between 1889 and 1907. Now, you are welcomed into a hotel with charming traditions and modern comforts. The central location in Bad Gastein with glorious panoramic views, in the immediate vicinity of the ski lift and the thermal spa, as well as the tasteful furnishings and the stylish ambiance create the perfect conditions for a relaxing and unforgettable holiday in the Gastein valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Salzburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing