We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never return”
Review of Gastehaus Golker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gastehaus Golker
Ranked #35 of 44 Bad Gastein B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The most bad vacation experience ever.
The lady of the house was in the beginning very nice and service oriented - but in the end of the week, when we had to leave she began to annoy us a bit. The morning we had to leave our hotel room, she came knocking on the door 45 minutes before we had to check out, and said we had to leave because she had to clean up the room. We weren't even dressed at this time. Then she came another 2 times before the clock was 10 pm. knocking and saying that we have to leave now because she had to clean up the room.
When we came down with our suitcases and had to pay, we were waiting for our family who stayed at another hotel to come pick us up and pay for the stay. The lady of the house came out to us 15 times to ensure us that we had to pay - we said nicely that we will pay when our family will arrive because they were the ones with the credit card. The last time she came out she began to raise her voice and yell at us and ended up calling us thief's because she thought that we were leaving without paying. She grab one of our bags and took it with her inside. This made us really angry and we told her that this is not right! We took our bag outside again and when our family came she only accept cash. Great! Who has so much cash on them? So we had to drive into town to get some. She was so frustrated and mad and because of the descent people we were we drove back with the cash, and she was crying in the door - I think she realized how insane the whole episode was and that ruined our whole experience. Such an angry lady - we are never going to return to that place again, and for other younger people - keep away, she may not trust you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woman321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Great location for skiing, short walk to Ski lifts and central town.
The owner is super friendly.
Probably it is telling that most of the other guests were repeat visitors.
Its not a five start hotel, but the rooms are clean and whilst they vary in size, it is a family run hotel, so expect a bit of odd décor etc.
The rooms are cleaned daily and the breakfast is fine.
The internet is a bit hit and miss but its free and the owner is aiming to improve it.
Great value all in all for a 2 star family hotel.

Room Tip: Views over ski slops if you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulMoore246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

The owner, Jolanda, could not have been friendlier. The location is very central, especially when you take the short cut! The views are lovely. But... and I wish there wasn't one but while Jolanda was lovely the room wasn't as great. The quilt was just a couple of inches too short (and I am an average height) so it meant if I wanted my toes tucked in under the quilt it didn't reach over my shoulders and obviously visa versa. The towels were small, and not changed all week. I'm not somebody who expects cleans towels everyday, but one change mid week would have been nice. The breakfast was sufficient but without much choice.

The price was also average, so with a lot more choice out there for the same cost, after weighing it all up, I'm sorry to say that I don't think I'll be back. I'll give somewhere else a try next time. And as a recurring Bad Gastein visitor, I definitely will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank peatm0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Franziska B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Se till att få ett nyrenoverat rum
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eda64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bad Gastein hotels
0.3 mi away
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
#6 of 36 in Bad Gastein
266 reviews
1.3 mi away
CESTA GRAND Aktivhotel & Spa
CESTA GRAND Aktivhotel & Spa
#9 of 36 in Bad Gastein
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Salzburger Hof
Hotel Salzburger Hof
#2 of 36 in Bad Gastein
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Das Regina Hotel
Das Regina Hotel
#1 of 36 in Bad Gastein
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elisabethpark
Hotel Elisabethpark
#10 of 36 in Bad Gastein
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Miramonte
Hotel Miramonte
#5 of 36 in Bad Gastein
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastehaus Golker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Golker

Address: Gletschermuehlstrasse 2, Bad Gastein 5640, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Gastein
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bad Gastein
Price Range: £49 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gastehaus Golker 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gastehaus Golker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing