We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good resort hotel with nice spa area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Elisabethpark
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Bad Gastein
Certificate of Excellence
Enniskeane, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good resort hotel with nice spa area”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Elisabethpark is situated in the historic centre of Bad Gastein close to the impressive waterfall & grand hotels from its time as a popular spa for Europe's aristocracy. Unfortunately the centre has fallen into disrepair & while the architecture & setting are impressive it's a little shabby nowadays.
Also this means that the ski lifts are a steep hike uphill, however we were told the hotel provides a shuttle service in the winter for that reason.
We stayed in June however & it was fabulous for that. The breakfast was plentiful & tasty, the room spotlessly clean & the spa area while small nice & relaxing.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the valley, especially from the upper floors spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    97
    32
    11
    19
See reviews for
92
112
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

After a few years visiting different ski resorts in Austria we were drawn back to Bad Gastein this year and the Hotel Elisabethpark. We have stayed at other slightly cheaper hotels in Bad Gastein but the Hotel Elisabethpark is definitely our favourite. After 10 visits we have never been disappointed - the service, cleanliness and food are second to none. The pool and spa facilities are very welcome after a day skiing. The only down side is the location, unfortunately the area at the bottom of the valley has still not been developed but having said that it is quiet at night. Walking to the ski lift is a chore because of the hill but the hotel shuttle bus is excellent. We will definitely return next year!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Even tough the shuttle bus and large rooms are nice it does not rule out the fact that the "service" we received from the owner was horrible. Firstly, the lobby smells like smoke because of a bar right next to it. If you are going to have a smoking bar you should definitely not put it right next to the lobby. The lobby is your first impression of a hotel and should be impecable. The hotel also feels like it has seen better days, it is pretty run down and feels like a throw back to the 70s (but not in a good way). After our check in hell broke lose and that is when the whole stay got ruined. The locks to the rooms are traditional metal keys. In my parents room somebody had pulled hard on a locked door and broke the whole lock. The door did not even shut all the way and was impossible to lock. We brought this to the front desks attention and after a long wait some maintenance guys came up. They soon realized that it was beyond an easy fix. My dad then went downstairs to change the room. The hotel owner then approached him and demanded him to pay 250 EUR since the lock was broke. My dad explained to him that it was broken when we got there. The owner then said that they had checked the room 3 hours before our arrrival and since it was fine then it was obviously our fault. We could not believe that he was actually trying to blame it on us and on top of it charge ous money for it. The right approach from somebody with at least minor customer service skills would have been to appologize and upgrade my parents to a better room. Instead we spent our first hour at the hotel arguing with him. The lock on our room was also a little busted but not as bad as the one in my parents room. I showed this to the owner and I think he then maybe realized that it was not our fault. It obviously would not make sense to try to break into your own room especially when you have a key in your hand. As a side note this obviously also shows the condition that the hotel is in. If you can break into a hotel room by just pulling hard enough on the door it does not feel very safe. The owner still argued with us explaining that he was a business man and somebody had to pay for it. After a lot of discussions and us explaining that unhappy guests could be a lot more expensive for him he finally kind of came to his sensed. I told him I thought he should appologize to my dad, which he did. But the new room they got was actually a lot smaller than the first one. As a way of compensating us he tried to offer us free gluhwein in the lobby. The funny thing was that it was offered to all guests so we just laughed at him and told him ridiculous that idea of a compensation was. The next day he gave my parents a bottle of red wine which could have been a fair compensation if it would have been a minor issue. But we feelt like he treated us really bad and after his treatment I just wanted to turn around and walk away right on the spot because I feelt so abused. The last day he gave my dad a business card with a ridiculous pin in it. Apperently it was the weapon of Bad Gastein and he made it sound like a big deal. When in fact it was a cheap promotional item that they probably handed out left and right at a silly convention center in the shadier parts of Salzburg.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Okey hotel with large and clean rooms. Good beds and baths. The swimming area and spa is good. Could have had more things to do for kids and active parents like pingpong or other activities. Internet did not work as there was a maximum limit of guests to use the internet. Finally when we got logged on the internet it was soooo slow..
The price of the stay was disappointing as it was almost double of what booking/ hotels.com told us in advance. The hotel charged extra for kids more than 8 years and 12 years etc… The whole of Bad Gastein is worn out and not as cosy as we hoped for. Althoug skiing in Sportgastein was really good. The food in the hotel was OK, but not any better. We hoped for Austrian gemutlichkeit but ended up with feeling of Moscow. The russian owner tried his best to make guest comfortable, but I have been to Austrian familyhotels earlier who gives better and more genuine service than this...

Room Tip: Rooms to the back with less noise than in front… unless you get a room over the kitchen area..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svein L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, VA, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My wife and I stayed a week here in Feb 2014. The rooms are nice and spacious. The common areas are comfortable. The staff is helpful and friendly. The hotel shuttle to the Stuberkogelbahn ski lift is pretty convenient. Halfboard dinner is buffet every night and somewhat bland and monotonous.

Room Tip: Try getting a room in front, where you should have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just returned from a week here with Crystal. The hotel is located at the bottom of the resort and the climb up the hill to the main ski area was so steep it is not for anyone with mobility issues. The hotel does run a shuttle bus each evening and morning which is efficient and free, takes you to the hill and brings you back at night. The hotel is not modern but is clean the rooms are spacious and the beds comfy. All the staff are friendly and helpful and they decorated my table and gave me cake on my birthday.The hotel corridors have no carpets and the stone floors echo every noise and as the room doors open outwards when closing them the bang is like being in a cell! . Some guests were in large groups, were so noisy it was at times deafening. The food at breakfast is fine with a good selection, but the evening meals are a bit like school dinners. Big heated burners with stew and veg or fish option. We did eat out a couple of times for variety and a bit of steak.The sauna area gets very busy around 5pm, and some days there were no chairs round the pool. There is no hot tub, but 3 saunas and a steam room. if you wish to get a fresh robe during your stay you are charged 5 euros which is a bit steep. The manager serves punch between 4 and 5 and cares about his guests. We did have one problem with kids throwing food from the balconies when we all came back at night but you could get this anywhere. Not a lot going on at night, and I said earlier quite a trek to get to any other apres ski activity, although there is a billiards room ( small charge). Wifi was an issue as it does not reach the rooms so most guests took to the stair wells to search the internet. Pizza café adjacent and they provided a lovely cake for my birthday.The area around the hotel is a little run down with a lot of closed buildings but the waterfall just next door which is impressive.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook a small park but are smaller than the rooms at the front. If you at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arizona71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A very nice hotel in a very good location. Not modern but other hotels in the region are not modern either. It is nice and clean with lots of authentic old prints & paintings and antique chests etc. to match the theme. Rooms are spacious and comfortable though not luxurious. I had a single room on the 5th floor, a corner room with windows on two side and a grand view from both. Breakfast was simple but good and plentiful. Nice pool with spa water and quite sauna etc. never crowded in the evenings, but would be nice if it was open longer in the evenings (closes at 8 pm). In short it has everything you need for a good stay.
The location was just right too. In town, just down the road from Mozart Place and the casino but quite without the bustle of a town centre. It is a little far from the sky slopes but they have free shuttle buses (2 or 3 working at a time) transferring to and from the train station and the sky lift in the morning and in the afternoon.
Above all the staff are all very friendly and accommodating, in my opinion one of the most important aspects required for a pleasant hotel stay.
I got a very good deal, a special offer via Hotel Booker.com but I suppose it would be considered value for money if I had paid more too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mevakor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bad Gastein hotels
1.0 mi away
CESTA GRAND - Aktivhotel & Spa
CESTA GRAND - Aktivhotel & Spa
#10 of 36 in Bad Gastein
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburger Hof
Hotel Salzburger Hof
#1 of 36 in Bad Gastein
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
#7 of 36 in Bad Gastein
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miramonte
Hotel Miramonte
#4 of 36 in Bad Gastein
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
De l'Europe Gastein
De l'Europe Gastein
#17 of 36 in Bad Gastein
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elisabethpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elisabethpark

Property: Hotel Elisabethpark
Address: Kaiser Franz Josef-Strasse 5, Bad Gastein 5640, Austria (Formerly Arcotel)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Gastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bad Gastein
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bad Gastein
#6 Family Hotel in Bad Gastein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elisabethpark 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elisabethpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elisabethpark Hotel Bad Gastein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing