We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Euro Youth Hotel and Krone
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Bad Gastein
Certificate of Excellence
Olomouc, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Back Again”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

so i have stayed at krone almost 8 times, the staff are really nice; breakfast is great; it was very quiet; and glad to return; Of course the main reason to go there are the mountains! Either skiing in winter or hiking in summer; also next door is famous therapy pool; and if you want to go cheap on food, there is a large grocery store on the other side.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donald r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    25
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
16
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

Great location, near everything you need- supermarket, hot springs, bus to other resorts and short walk to gondola. Stayed in the dorms, were very clean great staff and a great breakfast. No complaints and a bargain! I would recommend it to anyone I can not comment on the hotel rooms though

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grodno, Belarus
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The place is clean, but no fun at all.
I have heard from my friends that they had great parties there.
However, I only experienced quiet boring atmosphere. There were only older people at the bar bothering us. We were a group of 5 and all of us were completely disappointed, this was not what we expected from a hostel :(
Never going back to this hostel again!!! Don't come here if you want to have fun time with your friends!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

we're stayed here two nights and the place is just fine. yes, the rooms are dorm styled and our room could have you a spritz of Fabreeze but what made up for that was the cost and location. we could walk to the Stubenkogel lifts or catch the bus to BadHofgastein or other ski lifts. the location is also within 2 blocks of ski rental and lots of restaurants. it was winter and we didn't hear any trains and being Christmas Eve the place was not noisy at night. Breakfast was fine and drinks in restaurant were reasonably priced. the staff was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Easily one can get the impression to leave Austria when entering this establishment. A young team made up out of Eastern Europeans takes care of managing the place - the German language might not be enough. Bad Gastein is a traditional and very charmimg Austrian resort, this hotel/hostel has no charme at all. The breakfast room looks like 50 years ago without someone having taken care of it in the meantime. It does not have much of a hotel feel, rather a comfortable version of a youth hostel. It is a hostel in fact with dorm rooms being located in the basement.
The comfort of the room was poor, the heating did not work properly, the window did not fully close. The cleaning staff left the room door open - luckily there were two doors and the first one was shut, although not locked. we would not recommend this place and would for sure not return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustrianGlobalNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I was here four years ago on a spring break with 2 friends of mine & that was the best vacations! We met so many bagpackers, had great parties, & stuff members were so friendly & nice!
This time it was absolutely disappointing: only older people hanging around & the whole atmospere is just so boring!!!!! There are no bagpackers in this hostel at all - I was the only one. Actually, it is not even a hostel anymore, it turned into a low budget hotel.
People said they are not working with the Munich hostel anymore, which is sad. We were in Munich again as well - this is still the best place!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We thourgh that it was only a "young-people" place, but there was all ages!
And i was great for couples, groups and friend - holidays.

But not special good for children/families, at least in the skiseason!

But nice, clean and their small restaurant is fantastic and cheap!

It's possible to take a shower in the ground, after you have checked-out of the room - thats was really nice!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra-pigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bad Gastein hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus
1.3 mi away
CESTA GRAND - Aktivhotel & Spa
CESTA GRAND - Aktivhotel & Spa
#11 of 36 in Bad Gastein
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
#6 of 36 in Bad Gastein
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#7 of 36 in Bad Gastein
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elisabethpark
Hotel Elisabethpark
#9 of 36 in Bad Gastein
323 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Stubnerhof
Hotel Stubnerhof
#25 of 36 in Bad Gastein
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euro Youth Hotel and Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Youth Hotel and Krone

Property: Euro Youth Hotel and Krone
Address: Bahnhofplatz 8 | 5640 Bad Gastein, Bad Gastein 5640, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Gastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Bad Gastein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Euro Youth Hotel and Krone 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a Hotel The hospitable, welcoming setting of Euro Youth Hotel first opened its doors to guests in 1880 under the name of Hotel Krone. The present owner, the non-profit Edith Haberland-Wagner Foundation, has striven since 2002 to provide complete satisfaction for all its guests, and welcomes young people and adults from all over the world. Edith Haberland-Wagner was a passionately socially-minded woman who ensured that the causes of youth development and understanding between nations were firmly rooted in the many and wide-ranging statutes of her Foundation. These purposes, set forth in the Foundation's deed of formation, were the central principle behind the purchase, expansion and operation of the hotel - and continue to be so today. For this reason we are particularly proud to have been listed among "Europe's Famous Hostels" since 2006. The hotel has limited parking, but is extremely conveniently situated near the railway station, cable car and thermal baths, ensuring a comfortable journey and a pleasant stay for guests arriving with or without a car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Euro Youth Hotel and Krone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing