We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alpenblick
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue(Bad Gastein)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haus Hirt(Bad Gastein)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Miramonte(Bad Gastein)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Mozart(Bad Gastein)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rader(Bad Gastein)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Stubnerhof(Bad Gastein)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
113
50
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
50
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomtable tennisoutdoor poolski busski areaexcellent facilitiesrelaxation roomsalad barflip flopscrystal ski packagewelcoming hotellovely hostssmall liftheated boot rackshot mealaustrian hospitalityblack runs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Alpenblick Hotel in Bad Gastein and we are a family with 2 adults / 2 children (aged 8 & 6).

Our stay was in room 315 which was a perfect family room. The views from the balcony across the valley were amazing and there is a tv in the bedroom and the living area.

The facilities here are excellent. An outdoor pool which overlooks the valley and a temperature of about 30-32 degrees. Our children loved the games area downstairs which had a pool table / table football and ping pong. There is also a sauna and steam room.

There is a free wifi room downstairs for those wanting to stay in touch.

We were a little worried as this was our first 'half board' experience; but the food was fantastic. Each night you are given a menu giving the choice of 3 options for starter / main / dessert. There is also a lovely salad bar on offer too.

Breakfast is a buffet style with cereals, different breads, salads, fruits, cheese, hams, eggs, yoghurts and the list goes on.

The hotel itself is at the top of the town and a Free ski bus picks up outside at 44 minutes past the hour and returns from the ski area at 2 minutes to the hour. These buses are always on time. For those not wanting to walk or bus it, the taxi costs between 9-10 euros from the ski area back to the Alpenblick.

We loved our stay here and would definitely recommend to our friends and family.

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank Pikelhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

OK, firstly. I don't don't go in for Fruit-looppery, but Bad Gastein is , as the name suggest, a spa town, so Fruit-loopery is everywhere, even in the hotel. If that's your thing, then great - enjoy!!

The hotel is a bit out of the main town, on the hill-side and the views from the front are spectacular, looking straight down the valley. We had a room at the back, with a view of the hill-side and the forest: a lone deer would venture out most evenings to graze in the meadow. It was one of the smaller rooms, but was clean and comfortable, and suited us just fine.

We stayed Half-board: the food was good and Austrian. We enjoyed all the meals. There was sufficient with room enough for some Struddel at the Himmelwand!! As we were on a walking holiday, the hotel provided (at an extra cost) Packed Lunches which were good and filling.

The hotel is situated conveniently close to the Graukogel Chair Lift - useful for getting into the mountains. The Cable Car up the Stubnerkogel is on the other side of the town, near the train station, but this is only 15-20 minutes away.

The staff are all wonderful. We were made to feel very welcome. All-in-all, it was a most enjoyable holiday. Many thanks to Elizabeth, Claudia and the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yafful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at this great place in July of 2013, and loved every minute of it! First of all, we really enjoyed the town of Bad Gastein as well as the entire Gastein valley with its enormous amounts of available activities - hiking, golfing, bathhouses, excursions into nearby national parks, etc. This place in particular was very reasonably priced (for a hotel with a great view and 2 meals a day included), so we ended up picking it. This is a small, family-owned place, so don't expect the "5-star" in-your-face, american-style mega-hotel service. BUT - we really liked how friendly everyone working at the place was, and how they went out of their way to take care of our every need, while keeping it low-key. It almost feels like staying at your grandma's place in the country side. The location, the great view over the valley, swimming pool outside, and the lovely garden can't be beat. The food is good - especially the availability of the salad bar with fresh produce at every dinner. Breakfast also had a good variety and selection, including fresh fruit and herbal teas. They will also pack a lunch for you for a small charge if you like. The owners - Claudia and Elisabeth are a pleasure, and help set the relaxing, laid-back atmosphere at the place. Highly recommend for anyone looking for a good off-season place to vacation in the summer time. We will definitely come back, and would like to try this out in the winter time as well!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a valley view - you won't regret it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one week.They only had a room for 3 persons available, but it was no problem for them that we were 4 - and not for us either. We really appeciated the flexibility! It was such a cosy atmosphere and everything was clean and nice. The staff was fantastic. And we enjoyed every meal in the restaurant!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunhild_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Upon being greeted by the wonderful Elizabeth and Claudia, our first impression of this hotel after an early start and long journey was that we had arrived at a retirement home.The entrance is something out of a 1950's film together with a telephone booth to make those long distance calls home with a dodgy connection, we miss so much these days!

The 'waiting room' whilst we waited to have our rooms made up is an eclectic mix of Austrian Empire meets Miss Marple.The bar area is tiny, although there is a television room where drinks can be taken. So far, the nightmare destination, we are doomed!

However all was not lost as we were escorted to our room. Our room, 316, has been refurbished and was lovely. The bathroom had a 'James Bond' twin shower along with the usual features. The bedroom itself was spacious with views over the Graukogel, including a small balcony. The room had a remote modern television, including CNN, although a Ski information site would have been useful.One small drawback is that there is not a safe in the room which we would have liked. However, there is a safe downstairs at reception which can be used on request.Our friends all had similar tales to tell.

The Hotels position is away from the main StubnerKogel ski area and as such you need, to take the ski bus which departs from the hotel itself, directly to the Bahnhoff where the lift system starts.Skis can be carried to and fro or left at the ski depot at the lift station at a cost of approximately, twenty Euros for the week. The hotel has a ski locker with heated boot racks outside and also a boot cabinent in the hotel itself.

The downside for evenings is that due to the remoteness of the hotel and the surrounding topography it is a good twenty minutes walk into the town on the semi flat, and a demanding climb back if you wish to descend to the town centre to see the river etc.There is very little in the way of local entertainment unless you are prepared to walk the distance or catch a taxi.

Nevertheless the friendliness of Elizabeth, Claudia and Karl the barman are a tremendous asset to this establishment. Nothing is too much trouble, and no question is left unanswered.However, be warned, Bad Gastein is a shadow of it's former Empire glory and indeed most of the centre has been abandoned in anticipation of future development. The abandoned, but still furnished hotels are spooky and our lovely hosts are acutely upset and rightly so, about what has happened to their town.

Back to the good, The meals are lovely, with a good breakfast buffet and an excellent evening salad buffet with a good choice of three course dinners to choose from.

Karl at the bar is very friendly and I got the impression that a lot of his customers are regular returning residents, and this is always a good sign.The drinks are very well priced for a hotel and you will not have any problems with language.

The hotel has a magnificent postion looking down the Gastein valley and indeed has a heated outdoor swimming pool from which you can admire it. Well recommended, although I forsaked the outdoor plunge pool. There is also a sauna, steam room and various 'Kur' rooms which are available should you so wish although the sauna is a nude area as standard. There are also various games rooms including pool, darts etc, and a rest room with wonderful views.

The hotel is being refurbished from the top down and upon completion will be a worthy tribute to the hard working and friendly staff.

Well recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews