We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Weismayr
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Miramonte(Bad Gastein)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Elisabethpark(Bad Gastein)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue(Bad Gastein)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boutiquehotel Lindenhof(Bad Gastein)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Euro Youth Hotel and Krone(Bad Gastein)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alpenblick(Bad Gastein)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
12
22
31
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
22
31
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoupswimming pooldessertsaunamountainslift
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This hotel was very poor in so many ways. The shower didn't work properly, there was no hot water after mid-morning, the half-board dinner menu was overdependent on pork and chicken dishes; both internally and externally, this hotel desperately needed substantial re-decoration. Uniquely, this hotel did not have its own lounge bar - the sublet corner cafe could not charge drinks to guests' rooms and it shut at 9.00pm. Above all, there was the feeling that the staff - especially reception - simply didn't care at all about their customers' well-being. All in all, a perfect example of the sharp distinction to be drawn between a cheap hotel and a 'value for money' one.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

The evening meal and the (Hungarian) restaurant service is very good. That's it.
The hotel is not maintained, especially the bath rooms, as to the cleaning you don't feel that you are in Austria, the hotel is heavily under-staffed, invisable management (if there is a management) and you don't feel that you are welcome.
The management there has totally forgotten who's providing the income, unless they plan to close down very soon.
Weismayr is not a good ambassador of BadGastein.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GrandCru48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

I went on a skiing holiday and stayed here last week. I found the service in the hotel to be excellent. I know many have complained about the food, however, as a vegetarian I was pleasantly surprised. Most places I have stayed at in Europe cater very little to vegetarians. I had a varied dinner every night (my partner & I took the half board package) and we both thoroughly enjoyed the meals provided. I had an issue with the temperature in our room being a touch chilly, I spoke with reception and they immediately provided an additional heater which made it perfect. The beds were lovely and comfortable - although it is hard to tell whether it was that or the exhaustion from the skiing every day which meant we slept so well. As others have noted, there was a lack of a shower curtain in the bathroom, but the bath was of a larger size which compensated, with plenty of hot water. Our room had a phone, refrigerator, hairdryer, security safe, soaps etc etc. The location is a touch away from the main ski lifts, but close to nightlife and the casino. The ski bus service located near the hotel is erratic but workable. The hotel itself is very old, but it is charming - I am one who quite likes faded grandeur. It has certainly been maintained. I found my biggest issues during my stay were actually concerning the other guests - especially those who would persist in barging in the side door overtaking everyone to try and put their ski gear in the ski room. The pool area is lovely, and the warm thermal water is wonderful to dip into after a day skiing. My partner certainly enjoyed the sauna facilities. What would improve the hotel would be a wi-fi internet service in the piano bar area. At the minute free internet is offered via a single laptop on the desk at reception. All in all I felt the hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lokifluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

I could recommend this hotel if you are on a budget and compare it with 2-star hotels and pensions. Not if you are looking for a good 4-star hotel.

Weismayr does not offer the service and facilities you should find in a 4-star hotel, and the information given on the travel agent's website was not entirely correct (Snowtrex). False marketing is not acceptable and somebody ought to sue them. Nevertheless, the most important things for a good ski-holiday were to our liking: a good night's sleep, a good bathroom and a good breakfast. And the price was ok.

Some bad points:
- Uneven standard
- Reception only open 7 am -11 pm.
- Bar never open
- Some guests are placed in a cold apartment building next door (150 m up a slippery slope)
- Our room had no telephone, no hairdryer, no cable-TV, no mini-bar, no coffee-maker, no soap (we got a hairdryer when we asked for it).
- Very old building with several eyesores (kind of charming?)
- No chairs on balcony
- The radiator in our room broke down the first night (woke up in the middle of the night freezing - the rest of the week our room was warm and nice)

Some good points:
- very large room with good beds (medium hard)
- large bathroom (no shower curtain though)
- central location close to the famous waterfall (you must take a bus to the ski-lift)
- good breakfast (by ski-resort standard in this price range)
- good coffee (Scandinavian style)
- dinner well prepared, but very boring (same dessert every night)
- professional and friendly staff in restaurant
- some pretty nice public areas: spa, dining-room, lounge

"A low class hotel in a high class wrapping"

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We stayed at the Weismayr after booking a last minute holiday. The hotel is old but that added to the charm. It was very warm and comfortable. The service was good and the food was excellent, plenty of variety and good portions. The room size was great which is unusual for European hotels. We may have been lucky as we also had a balcony. The dining room waiter was great and had everything running very smoothly. It was a shame that his co-worker was not as attentive.
We had a very nice week.
Bad Gastein would be even better if it had a better bus service as they are not frequent enough and are soon very full.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tattytedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews