We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice comfortable hotel”
Review of Cleythil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cleythil Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maldegem
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“really nice comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

stayed here for 2 nights28-29/09/11 was on a business trip and stumbled on it with the help of tripadvisor..lovely hotel not to big not to small.hotel is set in the countryside between bruge and gent. rooms are very clean and comfortable in my room was a most wonderfull power shower.
beds very big and comfortable. staff was brill had a lovely breakfast on the 1st morning however i decided on a lye in on the second (as i dont get many of these at the moment) at 09.00 my room phone rang and i was asked if i was ok and still wanted breakfast becouse it finished at 09.00..not a problem sir i will save you some..i eventually got up and have a breakfast at 10.00 a full hour after breakfast had finished ..nice for a hotel owner to actually care about thier visitors ...would really recomend this hotel and will be staying again as its only a 40 min drive from dunkirk ferry.

Room Tip: relax and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fatbelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    43
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
22
43
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Beautiful contemporary hotel set in the Belgian countryside. It is family owned and the family and staff are very attentive to guests staying with them. Our room was large and very clean. Breakfast selection is more than adequate. We enjoyed morning and evening walks through the quiet countryside surrounding the property. You will need a car to reach this hotel because it is located in the countryside, not within Maldegem and public transportation other than a taxi is not nearby.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B_Maurice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

A newish Barn conversion not far from Maldegem on the N44. Top quality fittings and beds. Very helpful staff, lovely breakfast. You will need a car to stay here, it is almost between Bruges and Gent, but that adds to the appeal. The view over the fields from the room is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDTHETAXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Great hotel and great food in the restaurant. The room was superb and the service from the owners was first class.
Slight drawback was that they stopped serving food at 9pm which was a problem the first night as we arrived late.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardKingPJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooke, Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2008

I was doing some business locally and my client booked the hotel for me. I was not disappointed.
The hotel looks like it's brand-new set amongst farmland just off the A44 to the South of Maldegem. It's a beautiful contemporary design adapted skillfully from a redundant farmstead.
It's not a full-service hotel but there is a restaurant on-site scross the courtyard. [Closed Sun & Mon - but other v good ones locally].
The Breakfast Buffet is of the 'continental style' and served in a beautifully light and airy sunlit east-facing modern conservatory overlooking pastures with fine Belgian Cattle grazing close-by.
The hotel is run by a delightful husband-and-wife team who have got it 'just right'. Nice modern rooms with comfortable beds, good lighting, fantastic bathrooms and no-nonsense free high-speed internet with no catches. Just what I needed.
And best of all, no more expensive than the identikit hotel chains where you're just a number. I felt like a guest and you can't say more than that.

  • Liked — I felt like a guest
  • Disliked — Shame that the restaurant was closed on Mondays
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bunnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maldegem
2.0 mi away
Hotel Prelude
Hotel Prelude
#1 of 2 in Knesselare
45 reviews
5.8 mi away
Het Godshuis
Het Godshuis
#1 of 1 in Sint-Laureins
393 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel de Elderschans
Hotel de Elderschans
#1 of 2 in Aardenburg
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Capitole
Hotel Capitole
#2 of 2 in Aalter
54 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Orchidee
10.1 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleythil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleythil Hotel

Property: Cleythil Hotel
Address: Kleitkalseide 193, Maldegem 9990, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Maldegem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maldegem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cleythil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Cleythil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing